We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2009

I just returned from the Casa Sierra Nevada in San Miguel de Allende. There were two couples travelling. One insisted on staying in one of the "cute B & B's" and we stayed at the CS Nevada. Nothing in the entire town, hotel or B & B, compares to how wonderful the CSN is. They other couple was very disappointed once they saw our "full-service" luxury hotel.

Great location, small little buildings with luxury rooms in a beautifully restored historical setting and a great pool. Our room had the best view in the city (room 445)....a bit expensive but worth every nickel.

The restaurants were among the best in town, the rooms were definitely the best and the service was great from check in to check out, with all restaurant and maid service included.

I am in the Travel Industry and visited a number of other places in town.....my final answer.....when in SM de Allende....there is no other choice but the Casa de Sierra Nevada.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awinrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Management at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2009

Dear “Awinrm,”
Greetings from Casa de Sierra Nevada! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure and pass on your kind comments to our staff. There is no better motivation than that of a job well done!

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 620 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2009

Casa de Sierra Nevada is a beautiful, historic, truly special place to stay. The service was excellent - from the front desk staff to the housekeepers to the wait staff - every single employee was helpful, polite, friendly and professional. My husband forgot the charger for his I-Phone and they managed to find one for him to borrow for the course of our stay. The entire property is kept immaculately clean. The room was gorgeous and we loved having the complimentary coffee service brought to our room in the mornings. The location is great - just a few blocks to the Jardin & the center of town - easy walking distance to everything. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhondawco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Management at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2009

Dear Rhonda,
Thank you for choosing Casa de Sierra Nevada! We are delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Casa de Sierra Nevada in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

WOW. This hotel is so amazing. First-class everything. We stayed in one of their new suites with our own private plunge pool. We didn't want to leave! If you want luxury, this is the place to go. And VERY romantic.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLKParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Management at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2009

Dear JLK,
Greetings from Casa de Sierra Nevada! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your suite in Casa Palma.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

My husband and I recently returned from our second trip to Casa de Sierra Nevada. The elegance of this beautiful hotel reminds us of Reid's Hotel (now known as Reid's Palace) on the island of Madeira. Its service is superb - more like tender loving care.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimipoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Management at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2009

Dear "Mimipoppy"
We are thrilled you and your husband enjoyed your second visit to Casa de Sierra Nevada! We will be sure and share your complimentary comments with the staff as there is no better motivation than that of a job well done!

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back for the third time in the near future!
Warm Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We have only GREAT things to say about CSN-- the management is clearly working very hard at bringing wonderful service to their guests.

My husband and I travel frequently-- the two things we expect from a luxury hotel-- good mattresses and good service. I don't think we are as finickey on the service as we are on the mattress as not sleeping well can alter a travel experience significantly. Bad servide is just a nuisance.
.
On both counts, CSN gets gold stars. We slept better than we do in our own bed--, the mattress was wonderful. ( our room was also very pretty and quiet-- another important detail for good sleep.) and the staff was incredibly attentive. My husband had a problem with the internet -- the front desk reception woman (who was delightful) went out of her way to have it fixed for us immediately. I know how slow things can be with technology in America, so I was really impressed by this, given that I assume she had to go out of her way to convince the local techies to do a quick turn around.

The only (and this is not a complaint about the hotel) problem I see for hotels in San Miguel will be continuing traffic on the streets (pollution). It would be in their interest to see if there is a way to limit the number of cars coming into the center (congestion charge a la London style).

We give a special thank you to the Hotel Manager who made a special effort to meet with us regarding our stay. I always believe that in business ones customers are the greatest source for learning-- and it is clear that this Hotel is listening to its customers.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldmastersartboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Management at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

Thank you for your recent stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada and for your complimentary comments regarding our staff. There is no better motivation for our team than that of a job well done.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

It would be hard to complain of my experience: everything went well, and could not be better. Great location, and good service. Being a food buff, meant that the cooking school was stimulating for me and enhanced a great stay. All this backed up by delicious food!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank terryj456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Management at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2009

Dear Terry J,
Greetings from Casa de Sierra Nevada! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we are pleased you enjoyed Sazón and the delicious food!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We have just returned from a visit to San Miguel de Allende. Casa de Sierra Nevada was excellent choice in a beautiful city. The staff was professional and courteous.

We participated in a cooking class at Sazon, the hotel's cooking school. The cooking class was a market tour, where you visited the local market to obtain the items you would prepare. This tour was the highlight of our trip. The chef, Paco Cardenas, was fantastic...visiting the local market with him was great. Then, he prepared the best food of our entire vacation. So, if you have a chance, we would definitely recommend a class with Paco at Sazon.

We took a day trip to Guanajuato and loved that city as well.

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank Luxury1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Management at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2009

Dear Luxury 1 Georgia,
Thank you for choosing Casa de Sierra Nevada. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the Market Tour Cooking Class at Sazón.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#17 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Otel
L'Otel
#19 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#3 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $256 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in the Mexican heartlands, Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada evokes the charm of a bygone era. San Miguel is an adventure for the senses. Yet at the very center of this vibrant city lies a safe haven that’s at once connected to the locale and is its own private sanctuary. Swing open our ancient, wooden front doors and the fiesta outside gives way to a siesta-like calm. Water fountains and blooming flowerpots dot the cluster of heritage mansions that make up the hotel. A large pool, fringed with lush foliage and plants, provides the perfect place to cool off. 17th- and 18th-century buildings reveal inner courtyards, terraces and gardens. Here, history is woven into every stucco wall, tiled bath and curved ceiling, all balanced with modern luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing