We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has everything - service, location, comfort and charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent a weekend at Casa de Sierra Nevada while attending a wedding in San Miguel. I have to mention the service first, because it truly is five-star - everything from check-in to the breakfast service. Speaking of the breakfast, I don't thing I have ever had such a delicious breakfast included in my room rate. The location is unbeatable at two blocks from main plaza and we were able to walk everywhere. The room was quite comfortable and we even had a large private terrace on the roof. The bathrooms were well stocked with towels, robes, slippers, and amenities, and the room was very clean. I will definitely return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Gerente at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Heidi M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada. We are glad to know that you enjoyed breakfast, the location of the hotel, and that you found your room comfortable and clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back at a future date!

Warm Regards,

Pedro Guerrero
General Manager
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 620 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

We loved Casa Sierra Nevada. The service in particular was exceptional. Our room had a very good size, was very clean and confortable; every detail was looked after. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel and all meals were very good and the service great. The location unbeatable, two blocks from the main plaza (El Jardín) and surrounded by great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bobbyripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend in San Miguel de Allende with one night at Casa Sierra Nevada. We had three junior suites in their Casa Limon area as there were six in our party.
The three rooms were spacious, beautifully appointed, with all the amenities necessary for a very extraordinary stay. Lots of towels, big bathroom, lots of light, air conditioning, and lovely teraces with jacuzzis!
The staff was very helpful and kind and we thoroughly enjoyed a very nice meal in their restaurant and drinks with Jose Luis in the Blue Bar.
Check in and check out was quick and the rate paid for the junior suites was very adequate for the services rendered. We wil definitely return in the future!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Back to the past and live in a colonial house from the 18th century , expensive but well worth it. great location Great staff.
The swimming pool area is genuinely beautiful, we stayed on a week day and were upgraded to a larger suite with balcony over looking the local basilica , a great place if you like rustic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was our first time at an Orient Express managed hotel.
Unfortunately our experience was not according to a luxury brand chain hotel, neither for the priced paid. None of those little details that make a difference in other brands like St Regis or Fairmont were demonstrated at this property.
The hotel is divided into various houses separated around three blocks; close to the main square; the rooms are well maintained and the breakfast service and the food in the morning are more than acceptable. Bad experience the day we had to request room service, the food was served cold.
I have to thank Monse at reception desk for her patience and kindness at the check in process. After a long trip, we arrived kind of late, she was nice and explained all the details of the hotel and services.
The nightmare arrived in our check out process. Our check-out was arranged at 16:00 hrs, but it´s not necessary to receive a phone call at 16:05 hrs remembering that we were late on checking- out. Then at, 16:08 hrs a gentleman entered the room to check the mini bar and review the consumptions and the once again, we were advice that we were late on the check out process. At 16:12 hrs, housekeeping entered the room to star cleaning. Yes, we were late but at least instead of insisting in checking-out, some help with the luggage was appreciated. None of those three people even offered help with the bags.
Then the process was even worst with Nellie at the front desk. She was rude when we told her that the bill was wrong because we never requested for laundry service and that our reservation included a USD$500.00 credit gift. When she corrected bill the bill, she said that the credit was in Mexican Pesos and was only for food, not even for beverages. Next, we had to discuss that none of those details were on our reservation, and the credit was for everything. We had to wait until she contacted via telephone the general manager and understand the process of our reservation. It was not our fault to receive an wrong bill with extra charges and that Nellie had to correct it three times.
And not to mention that our car was returned from the hotel parking lot as dirty as after a safari in the Sahara desert.
Once again, those little details from a luxury hotel chain are the ones that keeps you returning back. Next time in San Miguel, for the prices paid and our expectation of service?, for sure we´ll try The Rosewood or Matilda.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gdl_traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This town and this hotel are muy bueno!
Ask for Ricardo to set up your details and restaurant reservations. He's perfecto!
Juan Luis in the bar might be the most attentive and charming bartender in North America or beyond. I will miss him. We ate in the bar more than once because of him and made it a point each night to come to him for a night cap.
This place charges more but it's worth it.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at Casa de Sierra Nevada last weekend and enjoyed it thoroughly. There are several different houses - we stayed at the Hospicio location. We didn't get to see the inside of the different rooms at our location but ours was on the first floor courtyard and very large. We had no garden but the rooms on the second floor have small gardens and patios. Same with the rooms across the street overlooking the pool but those are more expensive. If we go back, I would want to stay in one with a patio, assuming the rooms are as large. Rooms are updated and very comfortable with great beds!
The spa was small but we had great massages!!
What really makes this hotel is the staff. They were exceptional. Because it is small, everyone knows your name and greets you by name whenever they see you. I can't say enough about the kindness, friendliness and helpfulness of everyone. They gave us tips of what to see, where to go, and where to eat. The concierge was wonderful. It was my husband's birthday and they provided us with cake one night, cake with a candle the next morning and cheese, fruit and crackers another evening.
The breakfast was wonderful and the staff remembered what kind of juice we wanted, how we liked our coffee and tea, and how we liked our eggs from day to day!
Can't say enough good things about the staff.
The locatoin of the hotel is great - centrally located a few blocks from the main square.

Room Tip: though i don't know the size of the rooms, see if they have one with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funrazher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#17 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Otel
L'Otel
#20 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#3 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $255 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in the Mexican heartlands, Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada evokes the charm of a bygone era. San Miguel is an adventure for the senses. Yet at the very center of this vibrant city lies a safe haven that’s at once connected to the locale and is its own private sanctuary. Swing open our ancient, wooden front doors and the fiesta outside gives way to a siesta-like calm. Water fountains and blooming flowerpots dot the cluster of heritage mansions that make up the hotel. A large pool, fringed with lush foliage and plants, provides the perfect place to cool off. 17th- and 18th-century buildings reveal inner courtyards, terraces and gardens. Here, history is woven into every stucco wall, tiled bath and curved ceiling, all balanced with modern luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing