We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, Fireplace, Friendly Staff, Fine Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food, Fireplace, Friendly Staff, Fine Location”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have stayed in four Orient Express hotels now, and I don't know how long this one has been owned by them. The rooms probably need a little more updating; the bedding was great and the bathroom worked, but the shower had weak water pressure and some corners of the property were a teeny bit tired. But overall, this is a fine Orient Express property and we had a great two days right in the heart of SMA but not on a crowded square. We walked everywhere, had great support from the staff who walked us to several private homes when we couldn't find them, and the food was very good. Would feel lucky to have the opportunity to stay here again. By the way, ask for Room 352, one of two behind the main dining area in a private ground floor patio. That is, unless you are asking for the Presidential Suite with its rooftop terrace overlooking the City!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    81
    27
    24
    7
See reviews for
96
316
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I can not say enough good things about this hotel. It was amazing. Everything about it- not one single complaint. The food, the service, the room, the views, everything. We stayed in building 44- they have several buildings around town- we went in the one down by the park but did not see any of the others but I would imagine they were just as pretty. We were very centrally located which was nice. Our room had a deck with a view of the city which was unbelievable. I highly recommend this hotel- we went and visited several other hotels in the area which were highly ranked - all were nice but none had the authentic feel of Mexico like Casa de Sierra Nevada. We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kackylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Each time we visit San Miguel, we always stop at the Blue Bar located in the Sierra Nevada Hotel. We love the atmosphere, decor and the comfortable couch seating. But the main reason we come is because of the friendliness, yet professionalism, of Jose Luis!!! He is efficient, friendly, and a superb mixologist! My husband, who especially liked a certain type of peanut snack that Jose always served us (complimentary) asked Jose about them. Jose explained that they were Japanese peanuts and told us where we could find them in the city. Unfortunately, despite great effort, we were unable to find them. Jose surprised us by taking the time to purchase the peanuts for us on his "off" time!!! This is just one example of how Jose goes above and beyond! Whenever you want to relax with a refreshing soft drink, glass of wine or cocktail, in an inviting atmosphere, stop by the Blue Bar and ask for Jose!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there over Christmas and loved it.
+service was outstanding. Had an incident at the hotel and hotel manager was extremely professional, resourceful and understanding
+place is really beautiful and location perfect. Rooms are big, the junior suite was huge and really cute with our own jacuzzi. Really liked it

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Varinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Seven days and a delightful experience. Extraordinary staff and excellent restaurant. We had a great suite which was very spacious and comfortable. Probably need to choose rooms carefully, as the hotel is spread out among a few buildings on a busy, narrow, street.
This hotel compares, on a small scale, with some of the Oberoi hotels we've stayed at in India.

Room Tip: Probably don't want to be on the street. Beware of the church bells in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermonttraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Four nights in January gave us a restful location for city explorations, walks and dining at great places within walking distance. (wear solid walking shoes, streets are cobblestone)
Staff is so helpful and just delightful people. Pool is beautiful, breakfast is first class, we ate dinners out.

Room Tip: Main house rooms are quiet as a tomb and still close to dining room and concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dundons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millburn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

still a great hotel with good friendly helpful staff and fine food and drinks. room are bit dark but roof top patio gives super view of La parrochia. spa was closed most of the trip. the location near the jardin and the cathedral and good restaurants was terrific.

Room Tip: rooms on second floor of limon are great - large - and convient
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bak43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#16 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#8 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Property: Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada is a mixture of 16th to 18th century Spanish colonial buildings, located one and one-half blocks from the cathedral and main city square of San Miguel de Allende. Its 37 rooms and suites are spread amongst six colonial mansions.Each casona, or mansion, which features five to seven guest rooms or suites, is unique. Many feature outdoor courtyards with fountains, small gardens and al fresco corridors. Guests do not have the feeling of being in a hotel at all. Rather, they are integrated into the town itself, making for a true cultural immersion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing