We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Miguel's Nonpareil Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“San Miguel's Nonpareil Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Sierra Nevada is simply one of the best hotels in the country. It has grown over the years and now has several genuine colonial buildings spread over the heart of this charming city. Its spacious, elegant rooms and suites have all the luxuries Orient Express is known for. This is the right place to stay and enjoy San Miguel. Conveniently located, you can discover the city at your doorstep and make a quick return to your cozy room to enjoy its amenities. Their attentive and well trained staff will make your stay very pleasant and exceed your expectations.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite, they have rooftop pools with fabulous views of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mechudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    72
    21
    21
    4
See reviews for
83
278
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is the best hotel in San Miguel de Allende. Suites are spectacular, service second to none. Mayordomo Gustavo a charming person, no request is too much to the staff. Suites have a small pool on top, with incredible views of the church.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

it was a great experience, the food was really good, the place has a great decoration and still all the style of San Miguel, definitely will come back, We had the opportunity to meet a great guy who's name is Gustavo Rodriguez always with a smile and the best attitude.
The hotel is very well situated,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

THE place to stay in San Miguel de Allende. My companion were in San Miguel for a wedding, but couldn't book into the Rosewood. Lucky us! Case de Sierra Nevada was far more intimate, and far more "flavorful" than the other top hotels that we saw. The hotel was very well situated, walkable to everything. The room was gorgeous; we had a private dipping pool, and the pool outside our building was serene and beautiful. Every time we encountered an employee of the hotel the greeted up with a smile and called us by name! I really can't say enough good things about the hotel. Perfect! My companion and I are a gay couple, and we were treated without a hint of prejudice. I have stayed at a sister hotel, La Residencia in Deia, Mallorca, and both hotels are equally as nice.

Room Tip: We had room 295 -- very private! There are probably larger room, but this room was perfect for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tribecadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A beatiful hotel, good staff service .... But the bed was horrible ... With a depression in the middle .... The internet service, bad .... No breakfast included .... I wouldn't return ... A pity !!!
There is no blackout curtains ...... I stood at hospicio

Room Tip: Should ask for a room where no people staff walks above it .... A lot of noise ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dassana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
279 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We once again went to the Casa de Sierra Nevada in San Miguel de Allende. Some friends actually asked us why we were going there with so many new offerings. The answer is still timeless colonial luxury with great service and better food.
The service was excellent, people always attentive and making sure our stay was perfect. The food in the restaurant was excellent, try the slow braised ribs wonderful!
As for the setting, still great. It is true they still are missing a gym but you can go to the Rosewood's which was fantastic and still maintain small colonial luxury.
Of course, at the prices you do have alternatives, however there is no better room in all of San Miguel than suite 445! Just look at the photos attached. A roof top dipping pool with a view to the town and the cathedral, no one offers this but Casa de Sierra Nevada!

Room Tip: Suite 445, the roof top dipping pool and view are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A beautiful hotel, with great service. The best concierge money can buy is Ricardo, nothing is too small or too difficult, he can pull a rabbit out of a hat! Saint Miguel D'Allende is a wonderful first stop in Mexico and Jesus was a wonderful guide for the surrounding towns that are a must see.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 61 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#10 of 61 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#3 of 61 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#6 of 61 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#8 of 61 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#7 of 61 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Property: Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Address: Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada is a mixture of 16th to 18th century Spanish colonial buildings, located one and one-half blocks from the cathedral and main city square of San Miguel de Allende. Its 37 rooms and suites are spread amongst six colonial mansions.Each casona, or mansion, which features five to seven guest rooms or suites, is unique. Many feature outdoor courtyards with fountains, small gardens and al fresco corridors. Guests do not have the feeling of being in a hotel at all. Rather, they are integrated into the town itself, making for a true cultural immersion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing