We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cooking class with Chef Emanuel Cervantes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great cooking class with Chef Emanuel Cervantes”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The cooking class with Chef Emanuel Cervantes is a "must-do" for anyone interested in local cuisine. We toured a local market, buying provisions and sampling tamales, atole, cheese, and prickly pear. We stopped at a tortilleria for fresh masa. Then we returned to the beautiful kitchen at Sazon cooking school and made tortillas, sopes con frijoles y chorizo, salsa ranchera, guacamole, rajas con crema, quesadillas con huitlacoche, quesadillas con flor de calabaza, and nopales. After making all of these delicious local specialities, we sat down to a great feast. If you like to cook or eat, this class is a great experience!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shell39709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    81
    29
    24
    8
See reviews for
99
319
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt the warmth of the staff and the ambience of the hotel. Our room (487) was beautiful with a private patio large enough to accomodate a large group. ALL THE STAFF at the hotel were exceptional, the gardens and pool area were magnificent. Only a 5 minute walk to the square with many wonderful bars and restaurants en route.
The food and service at the hotel was excellent - truly 5*. Our friend and butler Gustavo. R was a joy to be around. Thank you Gustavo.R.
Chef Emanuel of the Casa de Sierra Nevada Hotel and the Sazon cooking school was tremendous, we had so much fun and we learned so many tricks to Mexican Cuisine. Well worth the time to partake in the cooking classes.
Thank you so much - you made our holiday.

Room Tip: Try room 487 - large room with a king size bed. Very bright and it has a large private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Chef Emanuel knows how to teach a fun class, while making the most exquisite Mexican inspired dishes! The artisan mashed potatoes, the chiles rellenos and the beef with a reduction of jamaica flower were mouthwatering.

If you happen to stay at Sierra Nevada or not, be sure to not miss this unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoshVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were in a Humphrey Bogart movie! The truly authentic vibe was intriguing. The staff welcome and assistance was excellent. The food, both via room service and at their wonderful courtyard restaurant was timely and excellent. Now, don't go expecting a brand new hotel because that's not what San Miguel is all about. It's a throwback in time and a delightful one. This is the real deal. And, know this, if you have a challenge or a concern, the staff will address it quickly; that could include the manager himself attending to it. We were very impressed with their desire to make our experience memorable and one we'd share with you.

One cool surprise was returning after dinner out and finding the usually closed street access doors to our common courtyard, wide open, with candlelight. As we left our taxi ($3-4 just about everywhere you go), we heard Tango music. Then, we walked in to find 20+ people dancing the tango, the bar packed and again, a throwback in time. We came to discover Friday night is Tango lesson night there.
We're planning to return for a few weeks to learn the Tango and polish our Spanish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was great...... my first trip to Mexico and it will be one to be remembered.... room was big, and clean, spacious bathroom, but most of all the staff at the hotel were such gracious and helpful people.... San Miguel is a very safe place to be in Mexico .... went to a wedding there and it was so nice..... the whole weekend was just very very nice.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooterArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were so glad we chose the Casa de Sierra Nevada. We were looking for something very special and we found it. An amazing and attentive staff, safe, very safe neighborhood and beautifully decorated hotel. We hope to return soon. Loved the gardens and pool. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was our first time in San Miguel - but it won't be our last time! We booked the Casa de Sierra Nevada through a Groupon deal - 6 of us for our friend's birthday and anniversary. You never quite know what you'll get when you take these deals - but it was the deal of a lifetime for us. Located 2 blocks from the center of the city this "Hotel" is not your usual setup. It is comprised of mutliple "houses" on several streets and each area is beautiful and unique. Our rooms were adjacent to the restaurant Andanza in the hotel (another review I'll be writing!) and each of them were as unique as we are. Spacious rooms, well appointed, all the amenities you'd like, and the service from day one was absolutely perfect. Anything we needed or wanted was immediately taken care of - from ice, food, drinks (that they had to go to a tiendita for), maintenance on the ceiling fan, maid service; all of it was prompt and extremely friendly. Most of the staff speak excellent English (which didn't matter since I'm still working on my Spanish). They parked our van for us since we didn't need it the whole time we were there - except for our trip to the Canada de las Virgenes and our return trip to Leon. The maid service was twice daily and they learned our routines and adjusted - very hard to find even in top end hotels! We got to know our maids and waiters personally which made it an even more memorable experience. We didn't use the pool at all, but the area was like a Roman garden and there were views over the entire city from the top level. About the only problem we had was on 2 different morning we were awoken to loud explosions - sounded like the city was being shelled! Turns out this is how the churches welcome certain Saints, but at 6am in morning:)

Our package include a day at the Sazon cooking school and a trip to the local market. Since all of us were amateur or professional chefs this was an added bonus!

So much more to say - but want to keep it reasonable. Absolutely my highest recommendation for this hotel and especially the staff - and I WILL go back!

Room Tip: Our rooms were near the kitchen, but no extra noise and very easy for breakfast. The other building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#6 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Property: Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada is a mixture of 16th to 18th century Spanish colonial buildings, located one and one-half blocks from the cathedral and main city square of San Miguel de Allende. Its 37 rooms and suites are spread amongst six colonial mansions.Each casona, or mansion, which features five to seven guest rooms or suites, is unique. Many feature outdoor courtyards with fountains, small gardens and al fresco corridors. Guests do not have the feeling of being in a hotel at all. Rather, they are integrated into the town itself, making for a true cultural immersion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing