We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
362 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We spent our 24 wedding anniversary at the hotel.
It is located in a beautiful small colonial town of San Miguel de Allende and well worth the visit. When we arrived I had reserved a Junior Suite but wanting to have a great experience we changed to a Colonial Suite and it was well worth the added expense with a view to die for!!
Breakfasts are amazing and at night you have great soft music in the bar. We actually befriended a wonderful couple of guitar players from Sacramento and they were kind enough to help me serenade my wife, unforgettable for sure.
We had a most amazing weekend of romance!!!!!!

Room Tip: any one of the colonial suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear aphillips61,
Thanks for choosing Casa de Sierra Nevada! It was a real pleasure having you in the hotel. We are so glad to hear your wedding anniversary was a real memorable moment. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    82
    27
    24
    7
See reviews for
97
318
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our during our honeymoon. We travelled across Mexico for 5 weeks and spent 4 days at Sierra Nevada in San Miguel. The hotel was breath taking, our room was gorgeous and actually brought tears to my eyes when I first walked in. The food at the restaurants was amazing and the 80 minute massages were brilliant - we had two each in 4 days!!

The highlight though had to be the market tour and cooking class. The hotel normally had these 1 day per week, however, arranged for a special class for us as we weren't there on the designated day. The chef took us down to the local market, bought traditional mexican snacks fresh from the market (just as the locals do) and then we brought our ingredients back to the kitchen to cook up a mexican storm!!! The cooking class was great, it was hands on and in true mexican style, included tequila shots!!

Thank you Sierra Nevada for creating such a highlight on our honeymoon.

Alison & James - Sydney Australia

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_Alison75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Alison & James,
We are delighted to hear you and your husband really enjoyed your stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada during your honeymoon! Our priority is to ensure your stay is memorable, and is a real pleasure to know that it was. We are so happy to know you loved the Laja Spa treatments and Sazón cooking class! We look forward to welcome you again soon!

Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We spent 4 days in CSN--from March 31-April 3rd, 2011. My sister-in-law and I went to San Miguel to celebrate my 50th birthday. We arrived in Leon and were picked up by the hotel's transport service in a large Suburdan SUV around 5 AM in the morning. We arrived in SMA around 7:30AM. We were greeted at a small office and swiftly taken to our suite at the Casa Limon section of the hotel. We loved the location of our room. It was located just steps down from the beautiful pool area and the rooftop look out. Our room appeared newly renovated and nicely appointed and had a nice little private patio and fireplace just outside our door. The first night we were there, the air-condition was not working well. It was making funny sounds. The next day we took a tour to Guanajuato, arranged by Marisol at the concierge. Our tour guide was Jesus. He was very knowledgeable with a quiet way about him. I think we talked more than he did. He had a way of injecting little tidbits of info just here and there. We happen to mention our problem with our air-conditioning. The next night, our air-condition worked perfectly. We were pleasantly surprised.
We were going to book the Rosewood instead of CSN but we are so glad that we chose CSN because of it's location and it's authentic San Miguel flavor. Rosewood is just another massive hotel. Don't get me wrong. It looks very nice but if you want to capture the feel of San Miguel, you gotta stay in the heart of it all. It's just a quick walk to the Parroquia and Jardin. Lots of shops and restaurants all around. I liked how you can't tell it's a hotel. It's just part of a block of many homes and shops.
I asked someone at the hotel (prior to my arrival) if they had a fitness center. They said yes. There was a picture at the website. When I got there they directed me to a privately owned gym, not owned by the hotel. It was located up and down a couple of streets. It was a little dumpy gym with one treadmill. Not what I was expecting. I went back to the front desk and they said the nicer one is a taxi ride away. On the day of my departure I mentioned this to Marisol. She said they are working on getting their own private gym--hopefully soon.
We only ate at one restaurant for breakfast. It was nice enough. We were perplex by the service charge on the bill. We did not know if it was the tip or what? We asked the waiter and he said, "No, it's not the tip. It's suppose to be for the plants and the decoration." Huh? Wat eva...
The service was very good. They worked hard to make the guests happy. We did have an incident with a banana... I asked for a banana, whole, not peeled and they didn't get it right until the third try. All we could do was laugh. Hey, it's a different country. Can't get too anal about stuff..
One thing we learned about the tours through the hotel: The prices are not set in stone. Prices can change depending on who you talk to. Make sure you are clear about the price quotes. You might want to get it in writing. It can get unsettling. You have to have the stamina for bargaining. Otherwise, it was great to have Jesus by our side. The guy knows his churches. (get it? Ha, ha..)
Lastly, since we were only two women traveling in Mexico, many friends and family voiced their concern about our safety. We are glad to report that we felt very safe in SMA. We ate late at night and walked home at 11pm at night. I wouldn't do this in Santa Ana, Ca, which is a town over from where I live. We did not take taxis at night. The hotel shuttled us to the Rosewood one night on their little golf cart. We felt comfortable with that. What is scary? You have to look both ways to cross the street. You could get killed!
Would I stay at the CSN again? Absolutely. It was a great place to call home in San Miguel de Allende.

Room Tip: Tell them you're celebrating a mile stone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBATustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear SBA Tustin,

Thank you very much for your complimentary comments. It was a real pleasure hosting you and your sister in law at Casa de Sierra Nevada. We appreciate your kind feedback that will be properly followed to improve our guest’s experience. We will be delighted to welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards,

The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a visit to San Miguel De Allende. We were lucky enough to stay at the Casa De Sierra Nevada hotel during our first visit. We have stayed at luxury resorts around the world and rate this property as one of our favorites.

The hotel property is a member of the Orient Express properties and we have stayed at two their properties in Carcassonne, France and South Africa; But Casa De Sierra Nevada has set a new standard in outstanding service for this group.

First of all, the food was outstanding as we ate at both of their restaurants: And during our first night, we were treated to dinner in their private wine cellar; and the best part of the meal was when food manager, Daniel Cabrera brought out the chef, Felipe Gorosica to our table to greet us! Many thanks to Daniel Cabrera whom we met throughout our trip and helped us answer questions about the hotel and the town.

I would encourage anyone that enjoys great food to participate in their "cooking school" which the hotel features. Cooking with Chef Goroscia is a real treat and brings home the real essence of Mexican cooking.

And the Laja Spa was very relaxing retreat after walking through the town; As the staff did an excellent job with the spa treatments and treating us as VIP's.

If you enjoy special experiences and unsurpassed customer service: Put Casa De Sierra Nevada on your "must-do" list. You won't regret a moment.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear spaqueen,
Thank you for your complimentary comments! We are thrilled to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay. It was a real pleasure having you with us! The Chef and all the F&B Team is very glad to hear about your beautiful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

San Miguel de Allende is just what you would want a typical Mexican town to look and feel like. Casa de Sierra Nevada is all you could hope a hotel would offer. From the moment you arrive, throughout your entire stay everyone works very hard to ensure you have all that you need and that your time there is spent doing what makes you relaxed and happy. Karina went above and beyond to ensure we got where we needed to go! Jesus, one of their drivers took us on tours to both Dolores Hidalgo and Leon and knew just the right places to shop and gave us excellent history lessons along the way. And the staff at the Parque; Anacleto, Ricardo and Israel took care of absolutely everything else. Hotel has a perfect location with beautiful grounds, the Spa is exquisite and both restaurants are excellent. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richmond2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear Richmond,
Thank you for choosing Casa de Sierra Nevada! We will pass your kind comments to our staff to keep them motivated. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and experience. We look forward to welcome you back and ensure another exciting journey!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Congratulations to all the staff, this hotel is one of the best and more romantic places on earth, Gustavo Rodriguez, thank you for all your kind work. The same to Rocio Tellez and Fernanda in the SPA, you all are fantastic guys!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemoTellez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear MemoTellez,
Greetings from San Miguel de Allende! We are delighted to hear you really had a real romantic experience at Casa de Sierra Nevada! We will be more than happy to welcome you again in the not to distant future in your home away home…
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We went to San Miguel on a girls trip with 19 ladies from Dallas. The Hotel is centrally located and quite beautiful rooms. Each room is different with authentic furnishings from Mexico and wonderful service. From Gustave( our butler) who brought us piping hot coffee each morning to the beautiful breakfast in the main hotel. THe courtyard with fireplace for early morning dining and late afternoon cocktails could not have been a prettier setting. The city is very safe and the people extremely helpful and willing to please you . I will travel here again with my husband. IT is a great setting for a romantic long weekend. So much to do in the city with great restaurants.!! Sierra Nevada is a great fine in a city that offers many cultural opportunities!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_TXDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Dallas_TXDebbie,
Thank you for your complimentary comments. It was a real pleasure hosting you and your friends at Casa de Sierra Nevada! We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff. We will be delighted to welcome you and your husband in the not too distant future and guarantee you a marvelous experience!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Property: Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada is a mixture of 16th to 18th century Spanish colonial buildings, located one and one-half blocks from the cathedral and main city square of San Miguel de Allende. Its 37 rooms and suites are spread amongst six colonial mansions.Each casona, or mansion, which features five to seven guest rooms or suites, is unique. Many feature outdoor courtyards with fountains, small gardens and al fresco corridors. Guests do not have the feeling of being in a hotel at all. Rather, they are integrated into the town itself, making for a true cultural immersion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing