We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch find”
Review of La Posadita

La Posadita
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch find”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Centrally located across from the Parroquia this unassuming restaurant remains popular with the ex-pat and local crowd alike. Easy to miss, take stairs to charming rooftop for enchilladas or their lip smacking pozoli (stew).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MattZinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    142
    57
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hiden treasure”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hard to find, but once you get there you'll be glad you did. make sure you sit close to the balcony edge for great views.

Food was classic Mexican specialties. I had the chicken with mole. Fantastic. My wife had the pork, she really liked that too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank brlarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely evening ...”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had dinner here with some friends on their last night in San Miguel. The roof deck is lovely on a nice night with a fantastic view of the Parroquia. And the green posole was delicious!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelleandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The goods were very good, but the not-so-goods were...”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I'll admit that I went here because of its ranking on Trip Advisor. It seems strange to write this, but none of the Mexican food in San Miguel de Allende is that consistently good. I suppose it tries to cater to its large ex-pat population and forgets about being true to itself. First off, the place is perfect for scenic dining - the rooftop at dusk is beautiful; the service is quick at the outset, but slows down to a crawl throughout the meal which makes having a something nice to look out at a nice way to pass the time. I started out with pozole verde; it was a nice change to eat a version of pozole that wasn't the standard red in this part of Mexico. It was delicious - I should have ordered a large bowl and made it my meal. This version uses chicken, not pork, as its protein which works just fine. A condiment tray is brought out with your order so that you can put the toppings on to your liking: diced serrano; red onion, avocado, lime, crushed oregano, chicharrón, and tortillas - just delicious. I ordered a small bowl as an appetizer and had the cochinita pibil for my entree. This course wasn't as successful. Now I would never expect a restaurant to keep a suckling pig roasted in the ground on hand for an occasional order, but this version had none of the acid to offset the heat of the pork. Four orange slices as garnish suggested there was citrus somewhere present, but all I could taste was the heat from the chile. I also think the usual presentation of it being served on a banana leaf would have helped not only for presentation's sake, but to help keep the sauce from running all over the place. The annatto used in the marinade turns everything orange and you don't want that on your clothes! I only had sparkling water as this was election weekend and no alcohol is allowed to be sold until Monday morning. I decided to finish with cafe de olla, Mexican coffee with cinnamon, instead of desert, and like my appetizer, it was delicious. Again, service was very, very slow after my initial seating so I asked for my check when the coffee was put down. All in all, I'd love to repeat the beginning and ending of my meal and skip the middle. Cost of my meal was $20.00; I can find no complaints there. I might go back, if just for the pozole.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank washwestcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
2 reviews
“Best Guacamole and Margaritas”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We ate here three evenings on a ten day visit. Best guacamole and margaritas I've ever had anywhere. Service is outstanding and everything on the menu is delicious. Beautiful rooftop views of the cathedral and countryside.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincenza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posadita also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to La Posadita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing