We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old world charm and ambiance.”
Review of La Casa de Elvia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa de Elvia
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at La Casa de Elvia for a week in February 2008. We wanted a locally-owned, authentic Mexican experience. Elvia was so accommodating and gracious, explained the local history and attractions, humored us as we tried to speak very poor Spanish, and directed us to the places we wanted to see and things to do in the beautiful city and surrounding area. The Casa is not the Ritz (nor is it priced as such!) -- it's a very old family estate that retains many old architectural elements and is quiet and peaceful. Yes, it's crumbling in a couple of corners, but it's draped in beautiful flowers, has hand-painted tiles and private balconies and patios, is an easy walk to everything in the city, and has a quaint rooftop spa/massage area. If you want a chain hotel you can find one, but La Casa de Elvia gives you the experience and flavor of San Miguel and its wonderful people. When we return, we will stay at La Casa!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanOct01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed at Casa de Elvia for 4 nights in Aug 09. As it was quiet we were shown a selection of rooms and allowed to choose. The owner Elvia and her staff were very polite and helpful. There is a very peaceful 'family feel' to the place.The room was spacious, clean and with authentic mexican decoration. There is also a series of patios and a roof terrace to sunbathe or relax. It's a simple 8-10 min walk to the town plaza. Breakfast served in a pretty courtyard is included. The rates were very reasonable so if you are looking for somewhere on a budget but with that San Miguel colonial character I think you would find it hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I went specting a good deal but i found an awful place, very dirty, insects all over the place, the towels dirty, coold water, bad service i used the towel and a leave it on the floor and sorprise the same dirty towel still in my bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank aphofis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Date: April 12, 2009
I went to San Miguel de Allende on Holly Weekend and it was great. I stayed for the first time at Casa de Elvia and I really recommend this Hotel, the owner Sra. Elvia is excelent host, the room I stayed is really nice. It is also a bed and breakfast, and the breakfast is delecious, all the personal working there is nice.
I have seen that in here does not have any review about this place and I wanted to post something about this BB. It is just excelent. Also the price is really good, I pay the normal rate even if it was on Holly Weekend, because almost all the hotel, rise their prices because is a Holiday, and she had the same price, the location is walking distance to the jardin. It is such a beautiful pplace to stay and relax. Also childrens are welcome, because some of the hotels I did some research they did not accept children. And go to San Miguel de Allende to visit!!! it is a great place to go. It is Magical!!

2  Thank MaYuMiSonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank l0lig0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamarisGVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel inn Mexico
Hostel inn Mexico
#44 of 79 in San Miguel de Allende
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
974 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Alcatraz
Hostel Alcatraz
#10 of 79 in San Miguel de Allende
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
#1 of 1 in El Santuario
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Taboada
Hotel Hacienda Taboada
#31 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Elvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Elvia

Address: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing