We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth spending an afternoon -or more.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fabrica La Aurora

Fabrica La Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Groton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth spending an afternoon -or more.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Shopping, art appreciation and fine food - it is all here. We have visited several times and have never been disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susannegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    369
    84
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is fantastic! Not only could I have spent an entire day wandering through galleries and studios fascinated by the broad spectrum of work, I could have sent a fortune too! I found a gorgeous painting by American born artist Merry Calderoni. During my visit she had pieces hanging in the Rosewood hotel in San Miguel, which before finding her work in her gallery I had already become fascinated with! Lucky me... not only did I find her gallery, I fell in live with a painting, met Merry and bought the painting. Truly a day to remember!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbsherrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful, expensive art and home deco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

A 15 minute walk from the main drag, you'll see a lot of stores selling stuff along the way. Once you get here, it's beautiful, airy, bright place filled with pretty and unique art and home deco.
Know that - many of these pieces are relatively very expensive and many are too big to transport around unless you drove here. I don't know if the vendors ship/transport stuff back to your home.
So if youre not actively looking to buy art-sy pieces and you're very time crunched, you could skip it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Art Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent an afternoon wandering through this spacious, lovely collection of galleries and stopped for coffee at the outdoor cafe. So much to see, fine quality art and furnishings in a lovely reclaimed setting. We walked here from the Jardin, via the food and craft market and beyond. Taxis drop people here frequently so we caught a taxi back. A must-see for art lovers visiting SMA.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“contemporary art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This converted textile factory houses a large assortment of contemporary art galleries. There are 2 cafes inside as well. Makes for a lovely afternoon. It's an easy flat 20 minute walk from the Jardin or take a cab.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rgrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabrica La Aurora also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Fabrica La Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing