We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Tierra Negra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Loved the place! Not cheap, but worth it. Only a few rooms, rooms #6 was huge, and terrace is great!
It's in a central location, walking distance to plaza.
Since place is small- u can just walk to reception for anything.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marimaricela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 141 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We found the hotel via tripadvisor and it was wonderful. Two blocks from all the action. A rooftop terrace with a breathtaking view. But all of this was totally put to the side and trumped by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, especially Gabriela. Everything we needed or wanted she had in a heartbeat. Outdoor massage with relaxing tunes, done! Mani/pedi for the wife in the morning, done! Also, we visited during semana santa (spring break) and were planning on heading to Guanajuato and found there were no vacancies due to the high travel week. Gabriela went above and beyond and found us alternative accommodations at a wonderful boutique hotel. She had two telephones working on each shoulder calling dozens of places until she found one. It was super difficult because it is spring break week and 6pm on THE DAY we need reservations. That's what I call service. I can't remember someone going above and beyond the call of duty for me end my family like Gabriela did in a very very long time. Real service, felt good!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank pchensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

everything about our stay at Casa Tierra Negra was enjoyable, but Carmen made our whole experience over the top. She is an amazing hostess: attentive, caring, hospitible, and downright awesome! Prices are very reasonable and the service is tremendous. I would recommend to anyone coming to visit beautiful San Miguel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffers D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent 5 days of no worry. Carmen and her staff exceeded our every request. the Hotel was quaint with a great location. Rooms were large and amenable to our needs. nice rooftop to relax have a drink or rest or conversation.
Great experience

Room Tip: any room works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This boutique hotel is on a busy & noisy street. The garage door is left open for long periods of time giving it a feeling of poor privacy. We were in need of toiletries and called the reception several times, no one answered the phone. The wifi service was down for hours but again no one answered the phone to assist. On a positive note, the room was clean, and the terrace is pretty cool, you don't get the nice views but it is nicely decorated and the building is well maintained.
A lady, whom I believe to be the owner, worked on our check out, she didn't even asked how our stay was. I wished Casa Los Olivos, Casa Misha or Casa Guadalupe had rooms available for the night we needed them.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivonne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierranegra, Manager at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Hello Mrs. Ivonne
Thank you for your comment, we will take care of what happen in your stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to solve the problems and to have you again with us.
We really appreciated, Thanks
Maria Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I went with my fiance and we had a great weekend.
We stayed just for a day and the whole building is in very good shape. The terrace has a maginificent view to the cathedral and it is great for drink a glass of wine during sunset.

The room we stayed in (Nogal) was very cozy, clean and the bath products were awesome! Also, the service was very attentive and they gave us good tips about the surroundings.
One bad thing about the hotel is that it's in a main street and it is very noisy. Our room headed to the street and we couldn't sleep very well due to the nightlife noise and buses.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daros30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The management was so helpful and friendly, I certainly didn't feel I was away from family and friends. The room was very clean and everything was comfortable. I really needed this relaxing excursion. I have a very demanding job and travel a lot; this was a place worth coming back to. The location is close to everything. My stay was too short but a trip I will long remember.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedrick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#10 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Tierra Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Tierra Negra

Address: Zacateros #81. Centro | Entre Ancha de San Antonio y Pila Seca, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $150 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tierra Negra Hotel is located in the heart of San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, México, only 3 blocks from the main Plaza. The Hotel features 7 suites with Cable TV, wireless Internet, coffee maker, tea and coffee, purified water, minibar, fireplace, fan, safe, hair dryer, fine linens; a Roof Terrace with an outstanding Parroquia view, elevator, daily maid service and 24hrs front desk service. Reservations from 1 night. Major credit cards are accepted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing