We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, gracious hosts, friendly staff, yummy breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first trip to San Miguel. The hosts and staff at Antigua Capilla helped to make our trip memorable. Antonieta and Francisco take care of all the details so their guests can relax. Wine, beer, soft drinks and snacks are available; this is terrific because you will want to take some wine up to the roof top terrace to watch the stunning sunsets. Our room was decorated beautifully with a Mexican tin headboard, boveda ceiling and catrinas figures. Breakfasts were delicious with plenty of juice and coffee, fresh fruits, homemade granola and a variety of egg dishes and salsas. Antonieta and Francisco were very helpful in suggesting sights, restaurants and day trips, also making transportation arrangements. Antigua Capilla was like a little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 371 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Beautiful House

The Antigua Capilla house was built to establish a B&B and hence much care and attention went into the design and fittings of the property. Our room (Mata Ortiz, #1) is huge and very quiet. The bathroom is massive. We slept on a top quality mattress with very fine cotton bedding. Everything is immaculately clean and tidy. The panoramic view of San Miguel from the rooftop terrace is spectacular. We appreciated the extras such as complimentary Internet phone calls to North America, Apple TV with lots of contemporary movies and of course WiFi. Breakfast consisted of a different hot item daily made with Mexican flare and served were generous fresh fruit salads. My husband and I appreciate having a hearty, relaxed breakfast that fortifies us before heading out for a daily adventure.

San Miguel de Allende.
A couple of people we know suggested that we would love the culture of the city and hence the reason for the trip there. We went after having spent a week in fabulous Mexico City. Although we tried to read everything about SMA much of the material does not convey the on the ground reality. Firstly this is not a place for anyone with mobility issues. The Antigua Capilla is located above the city centre and it is a walk down in the morning and given that the city is a UNESCO World Heritage Site the streets are cobbled and sidewalks narrow, uneven or non-existent. On the way down it is possible to walk through the long, covered craft market, it is open every day. A $3.00 taxi ride up at night was an easy way to get back to the B&B. Cabs are constantly moving and there was never a time that we had to wait for one.

There are no restaurants close to the B&B so bear that in mind when planning. Food overall in the SMA was disappointing and we can only suggest 2 restaurants, La Parada (Peruvian) and The Restaurant, reservations are strongly advised. Everything else cost more than those 2 venues and the quality was too COSTCO, i.e. reheated goo. Across the street from the Parochia at the Jardin and just a few steps from the Tourist Information Office is a very good handmade ice cream shop.

Our favourite place turned out to be the library on Relox a few blocks away from the Jardin. It has a nice courtyard, lots of English magazines, a café, clean washrooms a tiny but wonderful small theatre and do go in to see the fantastic murals in the research reading room. Chess fans can join a game on most afternoons. On the walk back up from the library there is a bakery with tasty items and a good place for a small snack.

The quality of craft work available for sale varies from inexpensive reproductions to original work. Taking the time to walk the streets is the best way to find treasures.
cab

Antonieta & Francisco are wonderful hosts. They are eager to ensure that guests have everything they need and will also help with day excursion planning and arranging private transfers from Mexico City and the airports. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIndaWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a superior B&B. It's hard to decide what made it so special: The rooftop terrace for an encompassing view of San Miguel? The owner who treats you as a dear friend who answers every need? The magnificently appointed decor where each piece is hand chosen by owner Antonietta in her travels through Mexico? The way the architecture works for guests in this newly built marvel? The scrumptious breakfasts? The thoughtful way every need is anticipated--wine glasses for rooftop reflection, great movies in their personal on-demand library, candles to illuminate the bathtub? Maybe it was those sheets that were reminiscent of butter? Or how about the reading materials outlining sights, restaurants, options available on the bedside table? And when we said we wanted to visit Dolores Hidalgo on the way to Guanajuato, a wonderful driver and commodious van appear on time with so many tales to tell to expand our experience. Whatever, it was fantastico. Thank you Antonieta. You are a superb hostess with a hotel to match.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrdbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Upon arrival at Antigua Capilla we were personally greeted by the owner, Antonieta, who welcomed us and immediately made us feel at home. We loved our room which was decorated with Huichol art as well as the colonial architecture of the property. The roof top terrace provides spectacular views of SMA and was a great place to relax and watch the hummingbirds. Antonieta's personal touch and eye for decor detail creates a warm and inviting ambience throughout her B & B. Mexican arts and crafts are displayed beautifully throughout. Cleanliness of the room was top notch and ground maintenance was immaculate. Quality of linens superior, comfort of the bed outstanding, and fluffy towels contributed to the comfort of our stay. Every breakfast was delicious! Antonieta soon became our friend and knowledgeable advisor for restaurants, tours and entertainment.
Our only regret was our second week in SMA was not spent at Antigua Capilla!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The place is cozy and confortable. Location is good, breakfast and service is good and the terrace viene of the city is gorgeous. Just need more water pressure in the shower. We has a great time in San Miguel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonieta-francisco, Owner at Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank very much for your valuable feedback. We are happy to read that your overall experience was a positive one. We took notice of your comment regarding the shower, and looked into it. After replacing the shower head and tweaking a few things with our system, we are happy to report that the water pressure in your room and in all of our rooms is excellent.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Antonieta and Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently spent a week at Antiqua Capilla B&B and had a wonderful experience. Absolutely beautiful architecture, garden and courtyard with an amazing roof top and views of San Miguel. The artwork and themes in the rooms are stunning and I agree with another review that the beds are the best I have ever slept in. Location is great and an easy walk into town. A climb up to return, but worth it for the views!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcstiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The owners of this beautiful Bed & Breakfast provide the best value in town. Property is cleaner than any hotel in the area and the rooms are generous in size and amenities. The owners cheerful service is beyond what we could have expected. This is the first time I have left any feedback for any property but these guys deserve the praise. The wife and I spent every morning and closed every night sitting on the roof looking over San Miguel. Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#17 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast

Address: Callejon de Chepito 16 Int 1, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $191 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast in San Miguel de Allende offers you world class hospitality, comfort and elegance. Offering fantastic city center outdoor terrace views, our conveniently located B&B is a short downhill walk to the historic town square. Antigua Capilla B&B offers delicious breakfasts and uniquely furnished rooms decorated with Mexican art and handicrafts which feature: Fireplace, Private bathroom, King bed, Flat screen cable TV, Radio with iPod docking station, Wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing