We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I am the most particular person on the planet! We stayed here in July 2012. This B and B was recommended by my husband's boss. Let me tell you this B an B was one of the best places I have ever stayed in.

The hotel is impeccably cleaned and very fragrant. Antonieta and her staff work very hard to make sure they keep their property to an extremely high standard of clean.
Antonieta and Francisco are extremely warm and friendly. Every morning there was an authentic Mexican breakfast prepared for us which was just amazing. I liked the fact that they did not pander to a tourist pallet and stuck to real Mexican menu.

Antonieta went out of our way to spend time with us each morning. She always asked about our daily plans and offered her advice and assistance to make sure we had the best day. She was real and genuine. When she heard that I had searched the shops for hours looking for a water jug similar to the one that they use in our room and couldn't find it, she offered me one of her at a really low cost. That was so nice of her. I have had since had some many compliments about the water jug.

The view from the top of the B and B are amazing by day and by night.

Like the other guests that have written reviews, I would warn you that you must wear comfortable walking shoes. The cobbled streets do wear on your feet. We chose to walk into town and then take a cab back each night. The cab was only $3 US dollars each way, that is cheaper than bus fare so we really didn't mind at all!

I was really happy that our first trip to Mexico was one of the best trips I have ever had and I have been to many different countries. I highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
245
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

This gorgeous B&B, nestled on the hillside overlooking the city is a real gem. The owners and hosts are incredibly accessible, knowledgable and warm. Their taste level is through the roof!

If there is a downside, it would be the walking. This is not in a location that people who have trouble walking should stay at. On the other hand, those without walking issues will find the views from the rooftop patios breathtaking and the distance from city center noises just right.

If you stay here, eat everything offered. OMG, what delicious food we had! The homemade granola was so good I begged for a doggy bag. And, I'm not a granola type.

Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Antigua Capilla Bed & Breakfast. It pleases us to know that you loved your time here.

For those wondering where we are, we’re about a 10 minute leisurely walk to the town square.
A great alternative to walking are the very inexpensive, safe and plentiful taxis. Flag one down anywhere in San Miguel or call them to pick you up at the B&B, and you’ll be taken to your destination in no time.

See you again on your next trip!

Antonieta and Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

As soon as we walked up the stairs to Antigua Capilla, we knew that we were in for a treat. The place is a real gem and so are the owners, Antonieta and Francisco. A charming and hospitable couple.The rooms are luxurious and tastefully furnished and everything is spotlessly clean - the attention to detail is outstanding. Breakfast is a real feast and nobody leaves the table hungry. The property itself is beautiful - the fountain in the courtyard and the large rooftop with panoramic views of San Miguel de Allende are stunning. The walk to the centre of town is short (10 minutes) but requires a good pair of walking shoes. The town has many art galleries, gift shops and very good restaurants. We highly recommend a visit to Antigua Capilla and San Miguel de Allende. An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

From the moment we started to book the hotel I knew staying here it was going to be good, as soon as my husband and I arrived we were astonished at how beautiful and how warm our welcome was. It feels as if your coming home and they were waiting for you with open arms. Upon our arrival we were shown to our room (which was upgraded, just because our hostess wanted to make us feel more comfortable). The room was BEAUTIFUL, very spacious clean and with a special touch that made it feel inviting and unique. The room has every detail that would expect from a 5 star hotel room. Antigua Capilla's property is more and more beautiful as you explore its grounds. The staff is extremely friendly and make it a point to make your stay with them special. The walk to downtown San Miguel is a very short walk with much to see on the way. Breakfast every morning was delicious and the attention to detail even in breakfast is incredible. The amount of things I could say about Antigua Capilla could go on and on, bottom line if you want a relaxing, beautiful, and friendly place to stay do it here.

Room Tip: "All rooms are beautiful"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were so happy we chose the Antigua B&B for our recent trip to San Miguel. The rooms are beautiful, the couple who run it are friendly and attentive and the view from the rooftop is amazing. The rooms are sparkling clean [as is the rest of the property] and the breakfast was fantastic.
We intentionally stayed away from the sanitized "resorts" that look like every other and keep you away from the beautiful country you are visiting and are so glad we did. We enjoyed the walk down San Miguel's famous hills into town each day and wouldn't want to have stayed anywhere else.

We can't wait for our next visit to the Antigua Capilla B&B!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 22CityGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were in San Miguel de Allende on business and the owners of this B&B made us feel so welcome and comfortable. Everyone is so accommodating helping with every detail to make your stay memorable! Everything is brand new and immaculate with quality bed linens, mattress and all the hot water you need in a well appointed bath. The breakfast is beautifully prepared and served in a dining room full of sunlight. We work all over Mexico and it is rare to find a destination like this. Unfortunately, we did not get to enjoy the massive library of movies they have assembled for their clientele because we were working but we did appreciate the vonage line and the use of the computer and printer. Thank you for a most pleasant stay Antonieta, Francisco and Sheny! We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarolinaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

While this B&B was beautifully built with the perfect tile, fixtures, decor which was just amazing to stay around. I do feel like there are some missing pieces from these reviews.

I just want to mention that there was no A/C in the rooms. Our room was an interior room and so it was hard to get any airflow. Also, we could hear EVERY sound in our room.... maybe because it was an interior room and the acoustics were like a cave but our nights of trying to sleep were awful. We left SMDA not rested and feeling like we needed another vacation. This is saying a lot because my husband usually sleeps like a bear and he was miserable. So if you ask me, while the aesthetics are great.. it matters more to me about getting good sleep while choosing a hotel.

It is also not the most glamorous walk to the B&B.. you have to walk down a narrow alley and also navigate around dog poop all over.

The best day we had was hanging out at the pool at the Rosewood. Such a relief to be around a clean property, open and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJM2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#7 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast

Property: Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
Address: Callejon de Chepito 16 Int 1, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast in San Miguel de Allende offers you world class hospitality, comfort and elegance. Offering fantastic city center outdoor terrace views, our conveniently located B&B is a short downhill walk to the historic town square. Antigua Capilla B&B offers delicious breakfasts and uniquely furnished rooms decorated with Mexican art and handicrafts which feature: Fireplace, Private bathroom, King bed, Flat screen cable TV, Radio with iPod docking station, Wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing