We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great dinner in SMA!”
Review of The Restaurant

The Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: THE RESTAURANT, housed in one of San Miguel’s most elegantly colonial settings at Sollano 16, opened in February 2008 featuring Chef Donnie Masterton’s world class cuisine. It is located just steps away from the main square of San Miguel de Allende, the prettiest and most restored/written-about Colonial city in all of Mexico. Offering a full bar, it serves lunch and dinner five days a week in a sun-dappled eighteen century Moroccan courtyard, as well as in their elegant dining salon.Serving global comfort good, THE RESTAURANT’s menu reflects the changing seasons with a focus on the simplicity of fine ingredients. The Chef collaborates with local organic growers, dairy farmers and ranchers to procure the freshest, highest quality and responsibly raised product available. Catering to today’s more experienced, adventurous and health conscious diners, The Restaurant will emphasize quality in food and customer service…as well as a more involved relationship with respect to our food and the land it comes from.
Redmond
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great dinner in SMA!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Reservations recommended; this restaurant is very popular. We had several good meals in SMA but this was quite possibly our very best - good service, delicious food and drinks, very good value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    246
    122
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosarito, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, Great Service, Not Cheap”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a delightful dinner here (the best so far in San Miguel) with professional service. Short ribs that melt in your mouth, house-made ravioli, etc. The price for dinner is high for Mexico, but well worth it for a special night out. We will return for lunch and see what that different menu has to offer (and see if the prices are lower).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“pensive and Over-Hyped”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

If you are looking for an overpriced meal, pseudo-gourmet, this would be the place to go in San Miguel. fortunately, there are many more restaurants with lower priced, better tasting food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best pot stickers in San Miguel”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My sister and I went for lunch. She was visiting and this was her first time eating at this restaurant. I love their potstickers and margaritas..My sister enjoyed her lunch and vowed to return again. The service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muffin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always a treat.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I always like going to The Restaurant. I have never been disappointed and it is a pleasure to go with friends there when they are visiting. Our dinners last Saturday night were all delicious. Great service also. The only negative is the music selection. It does not fit the decor, but that is the only criticism I have.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing