We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bakery!”
Review of Panio

Panio
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Boulangerie, Patisserie, Viennoiserie Panio is the homage to one of the oldest trades that have existed; the baker's. Here the classics of the bakery and pastry of French and Italian origin are reinterpreted and is where the legacy of three generations is reinvented with a workshop - bakery exposed and open to the public, a restaurant of modern design and a culinary proposal to eat on site or take home.
Restaurant details
Description: Boulangerie, Patisserie, Viennoiserie Panio is the homage to one of the oldest trades that have existed; the baker's. Here the classics of the bakery and pastry of French and Italian origin are reinterpreted and is where the legacy of three generations is reinvented with a workshop - bakery exposed and open to the public, a restaurant of modern design and a culinary proposal to eat on site or take home.
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

I stayed with family and friends at a rented house nearby. We stocked up on pastries several times during our visit. Everything we bought (which was very nearly one of everything) was excellent!

In my experience, some pastries in Mexico look just like American ones, but taste a little different. Donuts for example. That’s not saying they aren’t good, but if you aren’t used to having pastries in mexico, get a couple of different things and sample.

The best things we bought there were the fruit-custard tarts, and the cakes and pastries that are in the glass case. Brownies were also very good and rich, in the open (not glass case) area.

One of us had a birthday on the visit, and we bought an incredible chocolate mousse style cake! Very, very good!!! Their fancier items are also packaged up very nicely for taking with you.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Kukkajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 117 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2019 via mobile

Nice bakery for fresh bread (we didn’t try it but it looked amazing) and pastries. They had a really good vegetarian empanada. The Apple empanada was flavorful but a bit pastry heavy on the edges. There are some cute accessories for sale , we bought a maple wood cake stand.
Similar to other Mexican bakeries you take the silver tray and load up what you want , then to the cash to pay.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Zahra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018

Some of the employees are not very 'motivated,' the seating is somewhat uncomfortable and cramped, but the offerings themselves are, for the most part, fantastic, and fairly reasonably priced, and I highly recommend this place for that reason.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018

So you need your baked goods mid-afternoon fix, what do you do? Go to Panio, it won’t dissapoint, good dough consistency, adequate flavor, crisp crusts, creamy fillings, beautiful desserts, high quality and fresh tasting ingredients, thus the price.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Normacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018

We usually skip pastries in Mexico because frankly, most are not very good. However, Panio is another story! Beautiful high quality pastries! The lemon tartes, the baguettes, sugared donuts and omg, the cinnamon rolls! We also tried the take out lasagne and quiches and they were delicious. They always put in a few extra free goodies! Really nice people, who were helpful in deciding what to order. We visited here a couple of times and were always very happy with what we got.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Poodlehell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panio also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Panio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing