We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
32
34
20
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
32
34
20
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing location stay there again plaza cathedral centro terrace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Being cautious about hotels in the Centro Historico because of older buildings,and installations..I was in shock on how well maintained and beautiful this hotel- boutique was. They are renovating the whole place. Our room was just beautiful, clean, spacious and comfortable. The terrace is just awesome with a full view of the Plaza and the main church.
The staff were friendly.. helpful.. and quick to our requests. Gracias Oziel por tu hospitalidad y gran sonrisa.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Titapo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente G, Gerente at Hotel del Portal San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

thank you for choosing hotel del portal we are delighted to hear you had a great time!
come back soon!

best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

The whole setup in the room was awkward at best. It is small. No chair. Had twin beds with heavy bulky platform that have sharp corners at shin height.
Did you want hot water with your shower? Not here.
Not enough plugs for devices.
In order to have privacy, curtains must be drawn, and you only have illumination from an overhead fan light and a bedside lamp.
One good thing. Excellent wifi in the rooms.
We are very nice people, and the staff was very gracious, as is usually our experience when you try to be nice and give them an opportunity to help.
Hard to overcome serious flaws in the setup. We know rustic, old, romantic. This was just awkward. Looking for future alternatives when going to SMA.

Room tip: I am not sure, but we can tell you room 105 is right by the reception, in what was a courtyard, and the room faces the ex-courtyard.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank docntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente G, Gerente at Hotel del Portal San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Hi thank you for your comments!
as you may have noticed the hotel is going trough a major remodeling process, where new lighting, usb equipped plugs for devices and whole new and fresh design is being introduced to the hotel, we are sorry for the inconvenience but next time you visit San Miguel check out the hotel and we are sure you will love it!

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018

I was looking forward to a nice stay at SMdA but IF YOU DON'T like noise, STAY AWAY.
First of all, you are staying at the noisiest part of the city, surrounded with LOUD bar and 12 hrs of BOOM BOOM music from 3pm till 3am....so no matter which room, you hear this noise all night. Also, the water pump keeps going on and off all day long.
Also, somehow the staff could be more helpful and nicer: none spoke English, they kept you hanging till 3pm to get your room, EVEN WHEN MOST ROOMS ARE READY, they said check-in is at 3pm and rooms are not ready: FALSE.
the same for checkout, they ask you to leave before noon.
Bathroom water pressure was also a problem.
I had 3 night of sleepless noise and craziness and will not stay here again.Also very high price for what you get! Oh Ya, 12 channels of worthless TV in Spanish ONLY.

Room tip: NONE, some interior with NO outside windows, top level has glass but no windows and very noisy thru the walls.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelwithAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente G, Gerente at Hotel del Portal San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

dear guest some facts we would like to clear out...
The tv on the rooms have 50+ channels and at least 50% of them are in English.
Check in is at 3 pm like most hotels all round the globe, however when available we allow our guests to check in earlier in your case the hotel was full and that was not an option,
san miguel is week known to be a place of festivities, music mariachis and fireworks, so all around centro is very noisy.
we are going trough a very extensive remodeling of the hotel.
we are sorry for the inconvinience


best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

Hotel is severely overpriced. No maintenance, dirty walls, loud bar-discotheque noise ALL night, dusty lobby, cheap carpeting, cheap looking everything. Even the wi-fi to the rooms was so bad. For the price they charge we saw much better looking hotels. Also the steps leading to the 2nd floor are constantly taken by street vendors or their kids. And believe it or not they start the breakfast service at 9 am a block and half away and they do not open at 9 on the dot. They make you wait outside. They do not even provide hot water for basic tea or coffee. No manager on the spot and the receptionists are not very accomodating (not good customer service like we are used to in U.S.

Room tip: There are NO QUIET rooms in the hotel as the receptionist clearly stated when we asked to be moved to a "quiet", room
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakae c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018

Cute, small hotel located directly at the main square. We also booked breakfast and were super happy with it! Even though you have to walk a few minutes to reach the breakfast location, it is worth it because the food there is amazing and you get to sit in a charming courtyard. Apart from the location, the beautiful view you have from the small rooftop terrace is unique as no other hotel or restaurant has this view on the cathedral and the main square.
The only negative point for us was that there were no windows in our room. Even though we did have air conditioning, which helped a lot, the air got really stuffy sometimes. Especially after having a shower, the air exhaust was not really a help in reducing the humidity in the room.
I'm sorry to reduce one point as also the owner of the hotel was super friendly and helpfull. We still had a great stay in San Miguel de Allende!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy_E_807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews