We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place in san miguel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Portal San Miguel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“great place in san miguel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a great time at hotel del portal the location is simply the best in san miguel you cant be closer to all the action! all restaurants, atraccions sightseeing, and the famous church are just steps away, the hotel is really nicely decorated rooms are very nice clean and well equipped staff is great i really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Hotel del Portal San Miguel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
we are very happy to know you had a great experience in our hotel!
we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    14
    10
    16
See reviews for
15
44
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is a boutique hotel with small rooms and good service. The location is unbeatable it has to be the best location right in the central plaza.

The downsides: the hotel is small so no restaurant or room service . No in-hotel parking so it takes time to get in or out (they know you will not use your car much to move around in san miguel so they have only guy that runs a few blocks to park and fetch your car safely)

The good: again the hotel is small so great personal service. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Cant beat it.

It is a bit pricey on certain dates, but that is mostly because demand for its location. It is clean and the service is good as well. So if you pay an expensive rate, don't expect to be in an all comfort 5 star hotel.

Remember this is a small hotel with all its perks and downsides. It is an old building that has been remodeled, but still with no elevator etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfanmty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celaya, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Last time I was in San Miguel de Allende I stayed at Hotel del Portal and it was a great experience. The service was perfect, the have really comfortable rooms and beds. But the location is one of the best things about the hotel, it is in the heart of San Miguel. The front rooms are a bit noisy when the chapel bell rings, but have a really nice view.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best view and the back room are the less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel was ver good located, it has beautiful view and is very centric, service qas perfect and room reqlly big, sorry about my english but i really recomend the hotel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmib9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Location is excelent, but room and hotel facilities weren't very good.

Just in front of the principal park, which is very very good.

Wish it had air conditioner, that is something I missed.

The room was clean but the whole building felt tight in space. It was somehow strange to me who am used to regular hotels... with lobby, A/C, spacious room, etc.

Service from staff was just ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosueOsuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I took a trip to San Miguel de Allende and though this Hotel will be a nice place to stay. The first (and last) night at the Hotel was awful. The rooms lack of ventilation, and the one we stayed in had this strong sewage smell; and there was no way to get ride of it since there was no windows or other sources to ventilate the room. Next morning we decided to ask for a different room, but the insisted we should stay in the same room (and they said they will charge us more if we were about to be moved), and that they will fix the sewage smell issue by blocking the bathroom drain!! We said no, and decided to move out of the Hotel.
At that point, the Hotel personal said that they already charged our credit card for all the nights we were going to stay!! According to their "logic", there was no way for them to credit our card again. So, if we were decided to leave, we should give them another card number (National, because they did not want to deal with the International one), and they will reimburse us in five business days. After 20 days, we are still waiting and we had to spend money in international phone calls to get our money back (hoping they will act in a Honest way).
This people from the Hotel do not have any right to charge in full to a client to his arrival (they should always leave an open voucher) , and the tale that they could not credit right away is fullish.
The room was smelly, lack of ventilation, there were nails coming out of the floor, and it was not that clean at all. It is a shame that they advertise it as a nice Hotel. Do not believe the pictures they post in Internet. It is not worth your money.

Room Tip: Pick another Hotel, avoid this one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Miguel de Allende hotels

Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our 1st visit to San Miguel and friends booked us into this hotel. It has a small doorway with steep stairs up to the 2nd floor lobby. We were given large room next to the reception which had a small shared balcony overlooking the town square. The cathedral is only about 200' away. This is OK during the day but they start ringing the bells early so it's not a good place to stay unless you are an early bird. The rates do not include any meals but there is an adjacent restaurant on the ground floor which had a good breakfast, expresso and people watching. There is no AC so we left the balcony doors open for air and it rained while we were out for dinner with quite a bit of water getting on the floor. There is no parking but they provide off-site parking at another hotel about 3 blocks away. They also don't have WiFi but there is a Starbucks right across the street lin a historic building with an inside courtyard. The positive of this hotel is it's central location. Some might consider this place quaint while others would definitely feel it's oddly laid out for a hotel. I presume this is because it was converted from a home. This place definitely can't be rated anything but 3 stars. I got up early the 3 days we stayed here and walked around nearby taking photos before the streets got busy. The plus of staying here being next to the town square for people watching if you like this kind of activity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina1107, Manager at Hotel del Portal San Miguel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Please be advised that all hotel rooms have now AC and we have a sound proof system in our windows so noise will not be a problem anymore!

The hotel management is working very hard to satisfy our client needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#26 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
#44 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#8 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#53 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#12 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casalinda Hotel Boutique
Casalinda Hotel Boutique
#61 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Portal San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Portal San Miguel

Property: Hotel del Portal San Miguel
Address: Portal Allende 8 | Centro Historico, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 67 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Portal San Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is designed for the traveler who wants to be close to all of the energy and excitement of downtown San Miguel de Allende. An excellent option to stay literally steps away from the heart of this city. Hotel del Portal, a former mansion transformed into a first-class hotel, is situated in the very heart of the historic center of San Miguel de Allende. With a magical atmosphere blending colonial, Asian, and Mexican influences, this small refined property is directly under the arches that face the main city square. It is next to the Parish of San Miguel Archangel, one of the most popular attractions in San Miguel de Allende and the main architectural symbol of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Portal San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing