We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Casa de la Noche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa de la Noche
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I went to San Miguel for the 1st week of April with 4 other women ...we stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment with a kitchen and living room at Casa de la Noche. The rooms were lovely, clean large and filled with Mexican folkart. it is a 7 minute walk to the jardin. The owner Barbara had great suggestions for restaurants, bars, special events and arranged for a driver to take us to Dolores. The staff was so sweet and the breakfast was delicious. I can't think of any area where they fell short of wonderful. I would go back in a second. And we found Casa de la Noche on Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms in the main building - we liked being close to the front. Since it started as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaLee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    57
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
72
182
90
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Although this is a beautiful, very well-kept property, it clearly has more of an American industrial feeling than the "Mexican charm" they claim to have in their website. Service was very good and the facility was beautiful, but given how much it was, I was VERY disappointed at the lack of attention for details. Example: dirty, cheap shower curtains, shower heads that were old and clogged, doors that don't really lock at all... But my biggest shock was when at breakfast, I noticed the staff serving the "orange juice" from a Tetra-Pak and heating up refried beans from a can. This is Mexico, where cheap ingredients and excellent cooks abound, yet Casa de la Noche chose to source their breakfast items at Costco.

If you want a true Mexican experience, you're better off staying at some other property for a lower or similar price.

Room Tip: Way too much light in the Kiss me Again room. No way to shut the skylight and avoid the sunlight on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MxJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadamTurca, Owner at Casa de la Noche, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for noticing the beauty of our property, its cleanliness and the attention from the staff!
To help you understand other aspects of our situation at Casa de la Noche, please let us address your concerns.

The room you had was the newest of all rooms in the the building with all new plumbing and decor. San Miguel suffers from extremely hard water and very quickly makes all surfaces chalky appearing where exposed to water. Each of our rooms is individually decorated and the Kiss Me Again room has the same decorator shower curtain as the one I use in my own home here in San Miguel. Though expensive and clean, the hard water has taken its toll and we will replace it because of your remarks. In fact we will change from vinal to fabric because of this unanticipated hardwater problem.
Also, while as an artist, I love light and was sure to have light in all newly built rooms, I will have dark covers made for rooms with skylights available for guest wishing a darker room for sleeping longer than the sun does… Our antique door to the room you occupied has had attention as you suggested

Regarding the food preparation, we have an excellent trained Mexican cook who only shops locally and prepares homemade dishes as she does in her own kitchen. We serve fresh squeezed orange juice when her menu calls for it ,or 100% juice alternatives of Mango or Peach or Grape juice on other occasions.

Please visit again to see how your experience has helped us to meke an even better Casa de la Noche!
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Arriving on a Sunday we stayed two nights in La Vista suite after the engaging owner upgraded us from the Mariposa room due to a temporary malfunctioning door lock. While the compact but comfortable garden-facing Mariposa room would have been fine, the spacious penthouse La Vista, complete with private patio and additional upper deck, was a real treat. The entire B & B was spacious, visually pleasing, charming, functional and well thought out. There were varied areas, including two breakfast settings, indoors and out to relax and socialize. The breakfasts were more than sufficient. The location was central and convenient. There was ample notice that the front desk would not be staffed at all hours which allowed us to make our inquiries and arrangements when there was staffing. We wished we had stayed longer at Casa de la Noche.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestEndBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Casa de La Noche was home for 6 nights for myself and 4 girlfriends. We stayed in First Kiss and Kiss Me Again so we had a complete suite with kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms, and 2 bathrooms -- perfecto!! The staff was great and the owner, Barbara, was outstanding with many suggestions and reservations at special museums and tours. The beautiful breakfast every morning was outstanding -- the room is a garden room, perfectly furnished and set with Mexican dishes and pottery. Every day you are treated to fresh fruit, yogurt and a different entree such as french toast, oatmeal, eggs Mexicana. Its fun to meet other guests and fuel up for your day walking the streets of San Miguel. The location of La Casa is fabulous with easy walking to the square and all of town. And we always felt safe in our neighborhood. Casa de la Noche is a great place to stay for groups, couples and especially those who love Mexico!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had the pleasure of finding this gem on our last trip to San Miguel. How lucky were we!! Our room were great! The grounds are stunning & the service.... Impeccable! Fresh, delicious breakfast every morning and very friendly kind staff. We will definitely be returning on our next stay and recommend this place to all who visit!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpaul86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My mother and I had an excellent experience and stay at Casa de la Noche in San Miguel de Allende. The staff and the owner were very accommodating, helpful, kind, and professional. Our room was clean and comfortable and it had so much character and uniqueness. The breakfast was always a delightful treat and set us up for a great start to our day. After everyone of our long-adventures days, we looked forward to returning to our room and relaxing with a nice hot shower and hot tea before bed. The view of the court yard and waiting room was inviting and I spent a couple of hours in the evening looking through coffee table books and reading information about San Miguel and other neighboring towns. I would recommend Casa de la Noche to anyone that was planning to visit San Miguel that would like a peaceful and lovely place to stay with safe surrounding and kind-accommodating staff. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were initially in one of the smaller bedroom/restroom and shower rooms (very lovely and quaint) b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxannaP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I had the good fortune to stay at Barbara's Casa de la Noche for my first one week visit to beautiful San Miguel de Allende. Everything about my stay was wonderful. Casa de la Noche is charming, very clean, and comfortable. The location is very accessible for a short and safe walk to the main part of town. Barbara was the perfect host providing great suggestions for sites to see, places to dine and shop, and generally ensuring a very positive lodging and travel experience in San Miguel de Allende. The staff is wonderful and the Mexican breakfasts served in the beautiful outdoor courtyard provide an enjoyable and relaxing way to start the day. One week was hardly enough at Casa de la Noche and in San Miguel de Allende. I'm already looking forward to my return visit to this unique location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#25 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.1 mi away
Imperio de Angeles
Imperio de Angeles
#19 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Noche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Noche

Property: Casa de la Noche
Address: Calle Organos 19 | Centro Historico, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de la Noche 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de la Noche is an historically significant "Hotel Boutique", located 4 level blocks from the Jardin on a tranquil side street. Fourteen impeccably clean and beautifully decorated rooms & suites with kitchenettes are named for the "working girls" who used to live here. Each room has its own personality. Ample common areas feature fountains, patios, fine art, purified water throughout and TV, shared kitchen for light cooking, an art/project room, wireless Internet and in-floor heating in the common areas. We have just opened a new Event and Conference Center and are ready to host Destination Weddings, corporate conferences and family reunions, as well as workshops and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa de la Noche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing