We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food lot's of fun too”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tio Lucas

Tio Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food lot's of fun too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The decoration and atmosphere of the Bar & Restaurant are great.There is a big collection of Catrinas and the lovely Michoacan ceramic pineapples. We had the most delicious salmon carpacho, and wonderful strawberry crepes for dessert with our capuchinos. We kept coming back. Everybody are so warm and welcoming, the two Maxes are great hosts.
We had a lovely time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ME94925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    196
    82
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“DELICOUS & WARM SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I went with my family to have dinner, Don Max the owner gave us great recomendations, the Cesar Salad prepared infront of you at your table was superb and the Bife de Chorizo was delicious. Don't Miss it Grate Service

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank agutierrezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service is ghastly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had dinner there recently and the service did not match the elegance and price point of this restaurant. Waited 10 minutes for a menu, another 10 minutes to order and after another 20 minute wait, found out that our order was not placed. During that wait, two other tables left because of the wait. Once the food arrived, it was not was we ordered.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Like a party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was told to go here for a steak but what was unexpected was the fabulous decor and lively scene. On display is the owner's award winning Mexican ceramics collection. Also lovely tin lights and a unique ceramic chandelier in the bar. Chairs with the restaurant's initials, a silver and white zig zag ceiling, a tree in the main dining room with hanging lighted stars. Gold and red star pinatas for the holidays. A perfect setting in this already enchanting town. The owner warmly greets guests and watches over the dining room like a hawk. A piano player was there and later mariachis . Many desserts are made dramatically table side like bananas foster. The feeling was like a party. The crowd was mainly Mexicans on vacation. It felt very authentic. The food was good. I would recommend sticking to the simpler dishes like the steak. Avoid the watercress salad unless you get a very specific description and like what you hear.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank portiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delivers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place to have lunch. The food is plenty and very good. Extra points for the decor and ambience, the location is very close to the main square.

Helpful?
1 Thank velazquinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tio Lucas also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Tio Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing