We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What charm and flavour”
Review of Bugambilia

Bugambilia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bucerias
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What charm and flavour”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by locals and we were delighted beyond expectations. One meal was as delicious as the next and we all shared tastes to everyone's raves. A lovely older lady brought us bread and we assumed that she was one of the owners of the restaurant. Upon some conversation with her we found out that she has been working there for 61 years. We bought her a rose as we left to thank her for making our experience so memorable. Food and staff rated a 5!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    42
    26
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Staff made the Restaurant!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

After sipping sangria on a roof top patio friends that know San Miguel very well they suggest we try Bugambilia restaurant for our evening meal. We were met at the entrance of the restaurant by Deigo and promptly taken to a great table for our group of five. The menu was great - a wide range of choices and then we met the lady that made our evening so enjoyable - Candelaria ! she and Deigo provided service above an beyond and truly made our last night in San Miguel very memorable. If you are in San Miguel de Allende make sure you visit Candelaria and the staff at Bugambilia for a great meal. Further Candelaria has been with the restaurant for over 40 years ! meeting her made our visit even more enjoyable! and the food was wonderful, fresh and very favourable. well done Deigo & Candelaria! it was excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cadence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Serene and sophisticated”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had lunch in the lovely courtyard, which was a wonderful retreat from the crowds. The food is very good: we had the arrachera (very tender) and one of their "famous" chiles (stuffed with beans and goat cheese). All in all, very nice experience, yet not stuffy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moltoparticolare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, nice place.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Well, this place is not the best, but is OK. The food is deeelicious, wich is maybe the most important thing... The service is kind of bad,, theyre slow and not so kind. The place is nice, but the atmosphere is not the best, they dont have music, its the way out of a hotel, so you see many people passing by just in the middle of the restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alecatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
247 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Always perfect Chiles en Nogada”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

When it is the season for Granadas (Pomegranates) to be ripe in Mexico, it is time to enjoy Chiles en Nogada. When you think of Chiles en Nogada in San Miguel de Allende, you should think of Restaurante Bugambilla. No longer on Hidalgo 42, Bugambilla is located on Calle Mesones near the intersection with Calle Hernandez Macias, right across the street from Teatro Peralta. Bugambilia has offered traditional Mexican dishes here in San Miguel for many years. This is not a trendy restaurant. The wait staff have been here for at least the last 9 years, and I recognized many of them. The wonderful woman who provides items for your table has worked at Bugambilia for about 30 years. Think tradition. Think original Mexican dishes. Think enjoying some nice margaritas, some nice conversation, and wonderfully original preparations.

Do not miss enjoying a meal at Bugambilia. The new location is an open courtyard and a very nice setting. The food is excellent as is the service. This restaurant will be here for another 30 years.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bugambilia also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Bugambilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing