We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Jewel of Snowdonia”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amymay4
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Years Weekend”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The good points-
This cottage sleeps 5 people
It has a hot tub
There is a log burner
Lots of cooking facilities in the kitchen
2 bathrooms
Parking for 1 car
It is in a very quiet area
Lovely marina town 5 minutes drive away
Owner came to show us how to work the hottub
A Christmas tree was left for us which made the cottage cute and festive
The upside down living was quirky and worked quite well, didn't make you feel like you were in someone's house.
There was a bottle left for us to enjoy from the owner.

Not so good points (hence only 3 stars)
The hottub is not accessible from the cottage, you have to leave the front door and walk down the side of the building and into the back garden... in your towel..
The cottage itself had a lot of minor quibbles, for example the sofa arms are broken and are folded in on themselves where someone must have previously broken them.
There was wood for the log burner but nothing to light it with, we had to go put to buy matches etc. And the wood was wet so wouldn't light so had to buy this also.
The beds are really uncomfortable and springy, none of us slept very well.
The hot tub outhouse is not finished and looking at old reviews has been this 2ay for some time. We therefore didn't feel comfortable using it.
The lights above the shower in the main bathroom didn't work.
The cottage on arrival has a food smell which may be in the carpets/furnishings.
The website said parking for 2 cars, but with 1 estate car we couldn't fit anything else on the driveway so had to park in front of the cottage alongside a car that was stopping next door (this wasn't a problem but Sykes website should probably be updated)

One final point was that we were requested in the information pack to clean sheet the beds and empty all of the bins into recycling and normal.

We have stopped in many cottages and have never had this been expected of you, we tend to clear bins etc. Out of courtesy but feel that removing bedding etc. Was a grumbly chore on departure day.

Overall the stay was enjoyable but there was too many downsides to warrant staying there again. We are not very picky people at all and usually minor quibbles are overlooked but I feel like they have stuck with us this time as there were too many.

Do not let my review put you off, it is a lovely cottage but I hope the owners take the feedback constructively to make your stay more enjoyable.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egonronay...
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Jewel of Snowdonia”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had wonderful stay in this amazing 'upside down' (sleep downstairs/dine up) converted vestry. It had all mod-cons + comforts of home, with some fantastic views either side (mountains or straits). The upstairs was especially remarkable with a modern feel but still retaining an original wall + amazing wooden beams (which i'm informed by owner Andy were painstakingly restored) Perfectly located with lots to do if weather ok, but wrap up if not & get out exploring & you won't be disappointed. There are a few supermarkets about 15 mins drive away, we used Tesco. A nice pub in the local village with good food & ale, right by the Straits. The owner Andy called by to ensure our stay was good & he offered good advice on places to visit. Overall we had such a relaxing break at the property, with added bonus of the hot tub meaning we would definitely come back here again. Would mention that when we when we stayed there the utility/shower/changing room by hot tub was not fully finished but this did not detract from our stay in any way. Thanks for a fantastic stay Andy.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raynzena
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Open lounge/kitchen area very well equipped and the downstairs bedrooms all light and bright and well furnished. The tiny village of Seion is quiet and peaceful. The Festry is superbly placed to visit so many places in Snowdonia you will never be stumped for somewhere to go. The hot tub round the back is a delight to ease aching limbs from a days walking. The conversion of the Vestry as a whole has been very well done and is a delight to stay in with all its exposed beams, Thank you so for the opportunity to stay here. :)

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SDQ1974
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tastefully renovated property in a quiet location.”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is a stunning property in a quiet location near Bangor and Caenarfon. As a group of friends who wanted a relaxing weekend away it suited us perfectly. The recent conversion work has been completed to a high standard resulting in a comfortable cottage with a somewhat luxurious edge. The upside down accommodation is somewhat quirky but works well! On arrival we were greeted by Lorraine who gave us a quick guided tour of the property and facilities and made us feel welcome. A bottle of wine was In the kitchen which was a nice little touch. She explained that some previous guests had broken a glass in the hot tub so it was out of action on our first night. It was no problem for us and we more than made up for it the following night! The hot tub is fantastic and well worth paying a little bit extra for. The log burner was blazing also which was great and a good supply of wood to get us started. The lounge area is very comfortable and cosy, we spent a lot of time there relaxing on the comfy sofas in front of the roaring fire. The tv is probably a fraction on the small size, but who goes away on a break to watch telly anyway?
The kitchen is large and well equipped, with all the essentials supplied. No need to bring washing up liquid etc, it's all there, including some tea and coffee. We cooked two nights, no problems.
The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, very relaxing spaces with large windows letting in plenty of light. The only small critical comment I can make is that the mattresses are very soft, perhaps at some point the owners might invest in better quality ones as I think it would be money well spent. We all agreed on this, but of course some people like a soft mattress and it didn't detract from our enjoyment of the property.
The 2 bathrooms are very modern and spacious and were spotlessly clean.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hen Festri, a quite stunning property which I would not hesitate to stay in again and will recommend to friends and family.

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing