We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tyn Rhos Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Certificate of Excellence
Fleetwood
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Senta”
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Decided to try this hotel on the basis of other reports, and we only wanted a quick break at the end of New Year. (2 nights 'deal') On the whole it was just fine, the room was clean and we were upgraded. Nice and warm, and also lots of hot water, which had been a problem with some previous guests. Only issue was a stain on the carpet (covered by a small carpet). I think this could have been removed easily rather than cover it up. That said the staff were friendly and the hotel welcoming. We had no complaints about the food which was of a very high standard, good choice and served promptly in the attractive dining room. Coffee could be stronger, but its up to you to ask if you like it like mud, the same as I !. Overall very pleasant, and we would be happy to stay again. Great location as well.

Dr Malc

  • Liked — Great location, great food
  • Disliked — Nothing of significance
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SentaFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    80
    18
    7
    22
See reviews for
45
280
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

We booked this hotel as part of our honeymoon. It is in a beautiful setting, in the middle of nowhere, with the amazing Snowdonia park on the doorstep.
The hotel is very well decorated in an ornate and particular style and, to this end, gives you the impression you are in someone's front room when you are dining. The hotel has minimal staff, who fluctuated from helpful to downright rude and uninterested.
The 5-course meal was just that, no alternatives, and no reductions for courses not taken. There was no hot water, but, after asking, the immersion heater was switched on and we were instructed to wait "a good half hour", by which time, all was well.
All in all, we would recommend this place for a much older couple (the other 2 couples were retired and much better suited to the place). The gardens were lovely but the greasy breakfasts unfortunately left a lot to be desired.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank antoinetteforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Stayed here for one night and wish it could have been longer. Loved the lounge and the conservatory, both perfect for relaxing with a drink served by the very efficient & friendly staff. Booked a superior room and it was excellent, spacious, lovely furnishings (especially the curtains!), big comfortable bed, good views. As previous reviewers have noted the bathroom was not up to the high standard of the rest of the room but still OK. Didn't have dinner but breakfast was good.
One comment to the owners, hope you don't mind: the front entrance to the property doesn't really give you an impression of how good the rest of it it is, and having a transit van parked right outside the entrance for the whole weekend doesn't help.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterman2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We were lucky to have two nights at this lovely country house. The food was just divine and the location and setting were delightful. Our room was spacious with a beautiful view of the property. While we never met the owners the staff we did interact with were all very helpful. Definitely would stay there again if we make it back to Wales.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PackedNReady2GoAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We booked an overnight stay having previously enjoyed an excellent dinner some weeks before. The service encountered was well below our expectations. There was no hot water in our room the following morning (not even warm) and there was no phone in the room to allow us to contact management. Our room was above the kitchens and while we would not normally like this arrangement, breakfast did smell good! However, this was also well below expectations. All the croissants were gone -just crumbs on display and the cooked breakfast consisted of just one warm rasher of bacon, one sausage, an overdone tomato, fried egg and a dollop of baked beans. When we requested toast, we were provided with one white and one brown slice of warm toast.
When my husband advised management about there being no hot water, the lady disappeared into an office calling behind her that she would 'go and check' and that this was 'very strange' and that she couldn't believe it. On her return she advised him that we would 'have hot water instantly'. We waited some fifteen minutes but the water remained cold. When my husband went to advise management, the lady disappeared again into the office with no comment and left him standing in reception. After several minutes, he gave up and returned to our room. After another twenty or so minutes (it was 10.30 am by this time) and still no hot water (stone cold by now) we decided to leave.
As we waited in reception for a relative to collect us, a member of staff approached us advising that she would bring hot water to our room (presumably in some sort of vessel) - a bit antiquated considering this is 2008!
When we advised that we thought a refund might be more appropriate due to the lack of this basic facility, we were told that they were not the proprietors (just staff) and were not in a position to authorise this. The lady merely kept repeating that the situation was 'not normal'. We told her we thought her comments were completely irrelevant and totally unhelpful.
Her parting comments were that the proprietors would be told and doubtless they would be in touch with us.
We're still waiting.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — poor service - no hot water - rubbish breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dontusuallycomplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We have just returned from a 4 night Christmas break and loved every minute of it. We regularly visit a 2 rosette restaurant and the food at this hotel was almost of the same standard but costs considerably less. Unlike a lot of hotels we stay in, the drinks and wine were reasonably priced too. The Christmas package was considerably cheaper than any of the similar standard country houses and, we thought, provided excellent value for money.

The staff were incredibly helpful, even bringing afternoon tea to our bedroom one afternoon when I was not well enough to make it downstairs. The package included mouth watering afternoon teas, wonderful dinners, packed lunches and evening entertainment.

We stayed in a superior room and although the rooms are not quite as big as they look on the website, they were still spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable (and I suffer from a bad back and have never said that about a hotel bed before). The public rooms were well decorated, very festive and the blazing log fires were a nice touch.

The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring North Wales and Snowdonia and the grounds were lovely to walk round after a fabulous Christmas lunch. My husband fell in love with the hotel dog (Suzie), especially when she appeared one day in her Santa Suit.

We'll definately be back next year and hopefully can persuade our parents to tag along too. Would be nice to visit this hotel in the Summer too.

  • Liked — The staff, food and location
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twiggyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2007

We first stayed here in April 2007 a few days before the renovations. The location and food ensured we remembered it. When we decided on a pre-Christmas break I was delighted to find 'there was room at the inn'! We stayed in Honeysuckle(room 1) as before but the furnishings had been upgraded with designer padded headboard, heavy brocade curtains and a flatscreen tv. Lots of little special touches such as the home made biscuits on the tea tray (great selection including herbal teas, chocolate and even horlicks as well as the usual tea/coffee/milk). The bathroom had a heated towel rail covered in hand towels and bath sheets (no skimpy bath towels here). Thick bathrobes embellished with the hotel crest were also provided. The evening meals will not be bettered even at a four star hotel - not only are you spoilt for choice but you will have three canapes to nibble on while you decide. The chef sends out a 'taster' before the starter and a small sorbet after the main course. You could have a full Welsh breakfast but when you have alternatives such as smoked haddock topped with poached egg why would you? The setting provides a peaceful, relaxing ambiance, the staff are friendly and the hotel is an ideal base to explore the surrounding area. Alternatively when you have spent the morning sightseeing or shopping, a quiet afternoon reading in the lounge before a pre dinner drink (in the conservatory or in front of the log fire in the bar) could be just the thing. Did we have a great time, yes. Was the food really that good, definitely. Would we go again - unfortunately not until spring. We stay at hotels in UK, Europe and North America and gems like this one are hard to find. The fact that it only has fourteen individual rooms is an added bonus but don't take my word for it, if you are travelling to this area try it for yourself.

  • Liked — location and dinners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene7720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanddeiniolen
4.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,253 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
731 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
4.6 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
989 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn Rhos Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn Rhos Country House

Property: Tyn Rhos Country House
Address: Seion, Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon LL55 3AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Llanddeiniolen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyn Rhos Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Tyn Rhos Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyn Rhos Country House Hotel Llanddeiniolen
Tyn Rhos Country Hotel
Tyn Rhos Country Llanddeiniolen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing