We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Get-together” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyn Rhos Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tyn Rhos Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Certificate of Excellence
chester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Annual Get-together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Mid November a group of friends had their annual get together at this wonderful country house. We were made most welcome by all the staff and nothing was too much trouble . We sat in front of a fire to have pre dinner drinks and canopies . Then into the dinning room for the most amazing meal. The menu was so good it was difficult to chose. After a good night sleep we had a great breckie with lots to chose from. Well fuled we set off for a days walking. We returned to a lovely warm house with Lots of hot water to bath and great fluffy white towels . Then we were ready to start the routine all over again. We were sad to leave after three nights , we hope to visit next again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank moonshadow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    77
    17
    7
    20
See reviews for
41
271
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed three nights at This lovely country house. Yes the room was a litle tight bit it is a country house not a chain hotel. It was nicely decorated, comfortable and cosy for these winter nights. We ate in the restaurant each night as we had booked the special three nights for two which included dinner each night. The food is of a very high standard and a little experimental.
The cornflake pannacota, with fried jam buttie and nutella sauce was a first for me and I would recommend. The staff and the family are extremely attentive, we wanted for nothing all my husbands whims catered for. (Robert and Caryl will understand this comment)The bar is appropriately priced for a hotel and has a good wine cellar. The location is beautiful and convenient for visiting the suurounding coastlines as well as Snowdonia. If you want a break but not in a large impersonal hotel this is the place. We booked through the hotel after viewing thier website for special deals and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a reburbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hallij2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed during the weekend of the Snowdonia Marathon (which I ran) for two nights....

After a 5 hour car journey we received the most charming welcome, and were shown around the bar, restaurant, lounge and conservatory (which were all decorated to the highest quality) before being shown to our room. The bed was huge and very comfy... the room had everything you'd expect in a quality country house hotel, with good quality toiletries, a bath with shower etc. and was spotlessly clean.

After settling in we dined in the restaurant and had a pre-dinner drink and pre-starters in the conservatory. I stuck with the carbohydrate rich food... and was quite thankful for the options including a delicious risotto (too much potato and pasta in the previous weeks!!!). All courses were beautifully prepared, cooked and presented.

On the morning of the marathon I noticed a couple of sachets of porridge in the cereals, and when I inquired whether I could have one made up I was told that there was already a pan full in the kitchen!... which I hasten to add was delicious and provided ample fuel for the day. Its the attention to detail at Ty'n Rhos that we noticed, for example the quality of the freshly prepared fruit at breakfast with individual jars of honey and jam.

Following the marathon we went back to the hotel and asked regarding the possibility of a sandwich (I couldn't wait until dinner) and within 10 minutes there was a knock on the door with a freshly made sandwich with a side salad and dressing. Dinner that evening was again superb, with a very good white to accompany it! It was great being able to chat at ease with the fellow runners staying in the hotel, getting stories of their day (after all that's what we were there for!) - after all those weeks of training its reassuring to know it wasn't only you who found the last hill painful!!!

After reading previous reviews I can only state that we were made very welcome - Hiliary and her team were extremely courteous to us, and - as I'd expect for this level of hotel - most helpful.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a weekend away - If you like the other hotels in the Welsh rarebits then you'll love this, especially if your're a foody! (we'd dine here again without any hesitation!). We've stayed in many hotels at this cost level and this ranks comfortably alongside them. We definitely hope to be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningSnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The care given by the staff and the comfortable surroundings made us feel at home. We appreciated the good food and our clean, cozy room after a day of strenuous hiking. The property's location, situated between Snowdonia and Anglesey, is convenient and quiet. The restaurant appears to be a special occasion place for local residents, who were friendly and engaging. I'd happily return to this hotel and will recommend it to friends.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkfisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKHAMSTED
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our second visit to Tyn Rhos using NatWest " Your points " for 2 nights plus 1 evening meal via buy a gift; cost to me nothing; just use the charge card. I was more than happy to pay for £80 ish for the two of us to eat in second night. Everything about it was even better than last time. Breakfast huge and well cooked and from 7.30am. Attention to the fine dining is top notch as is the service which is attentive but not overpowering. It was I think full even on a wet,very wet last week in September. Wi-Fi even workings in bedroom now but a bit slow. I will come again even if I have to pay full amount and, I have a holiday home in Wales. Keep up the fine work

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordonberkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed with four guests in five rooms in May. All the rooms were different with rear character but the main attraction was the gardens and the restaurant - food was superb. Fresh milk for tea from a fridge in reception +ve . Don't worry worry about small TVs and other quirks - enjoy the beautiful surroundings and excellent hosting form the owners - we will be returning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HyddaMedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was very impressed with the staff, location and style of this country house and I would defiantly return. Excellent location for Snowdon. My main emphasis would be upon the restaurant. The food was fantastic, I would like to say that this restaurant is worth a visit to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanddeiniolen
4.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
5.5 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn Rhos Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn Rhos Country House

Property: Tyn Rhos Country House
Address: Seion, Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon LL55 3AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Llanddeiniolen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyn Rhos Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tyn Rhos Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyn Rhos Country House Hotel Llanddeiniolen
Tyn Rhos Country Hotel
Tyn Rhos Country Llanddeiniolen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing