We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tyn Rhos Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Certificate of Excellence
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Having read some of the recent reviews about this hotel, we were slightly apprehensive about staying there. However, we had nothing to worry about. The room was very spacious and clean, with plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities, as well as yummy biscuits. The bathroom could probably do with a bit of updating, but everything worked and there was plenty of hot water.

The food was excellent, being perfectly cooked and presented. The plates were hot, which is why the staff wear white gloves. There was a wide choice of cooked food at breakfast, as well as a good selection of pastries, fruit and cereals.

All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice55England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    77
    17
    7
    20
See reviews for
41
273
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Just returned from another memorable stay at Tyn-Rhos Country House, North Wales. Nothing is too much trouble for the Owners and Staff. We stayed in the large family room, which is perfect it you have young children and all want to stay together. The highlight of the visit was once again the wonderful food experience. We had a lovely family day out, less than five miles away at Greenwood Adventure Country Park, which is well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cr1tch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

This hotel looked good from it's web site, with a good location for visiting Snowdon, and the promise of a really good restaurant.
Our welcome was good, even though we had arrived very early for check in (agreed in advance, so we could watch The Wedding in the lounge).
Our room had also been upgraded because we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, which was a nice bonus. We were in the Garden room, which is large, and has a recently fitted bathroom. The bathroom is large, but does not have a bath - only a shower, but a nice large walk in shower, with double sinks. There is a dressing area outside the bathroom, and plenty of wardrobe space.
The bed is large - two singles bolted together. Room also has a sofa, and a very large LCD TV. There is also a private garden, which was nice.
We wandered around the grounds while we were waiting for our room to be ready - the main garden is nice and had been maintained. There was also a large kitchen garden, but this was neglected and looked unused, which was disappointing, as it would have been good for them to be using their own produce in the restaurant.
We had booked a dinner, bed and breakfast stay, so had the table d'hôte menu for dinner. There were four or five choices for each course along with an amuse bouche and a pre-dessert. Restaurant was run in a very formal way - which seemed out of character with the place (staff wore white gloves for serving food). In particular, the maître d’ seemed to be the one setting the tone here, and he was very impersonal.
The meal, overall, was very disappointing. The food was either unseasoned, or over seasoned, and was not very interesting - no better than home cooking. It could have been that Martin, the chef, was off that night, but, according to the web site, he has a team of talented chefs!
Breakfast the following morning was a fairly well cooked full breakfast, along with fresh fruits, cereals, pastries etc.

Overall, I think this place is trying to be much more than it is, charging higher prices than it should. Rooms are good, but not great, food is OK. Staff (of which there seems to be many - more than you would expect for a hotel this size) are mainly pleasant and friendly, with two exceptions - the maître d’, and a waitress that served our toast at breakfast who did not speak to us, even though we had said good morning to her.

Would stay here again if the prices were more in keeping with the quality of accomodation and food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank delapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsEveritt, Owner at Tyn Rhos Country House, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments and your appreciation for the FREE ROOM UPGRADE to our Garden Suite with private Garden and NEW LUXURY BATHROOM plus the FREE BUFFET AND COMPLIMENTARY CHAMPAGNE to celebrate the Royal Wedding. We are also pleased that you appreciated the large ratio of staff to customers, giving additional customer service. We are very surprised given all the lovely comments and the fact that you are looking forward to returning again, that you only put a low rating, but this must have been a oversight on your behalf and we look forward to welcoming you back for another lovely experience on your next Wedding Anniversay - or perhaps sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

We were welcomed warmly by Niki, a lovely girl and shown around, then straight to our room which was one of the outbuildings. A really stunning room, very large which gave all of us room to move around. Comfy beds, large flat screen tv, tea and coffee etc.

I asked which rooms our dog could go into at the hotel and it pretty much was a no go for all of them. No worries really as there is plenty of room for our dog to go out exploring and have a run around.

I'm not blowing trumpets here, but we frequent 5 star hotels quite regularly and this is more of a 4 star in our opinion. I say this because the food was classed as, "fine dining" I have to completely disagree. We had a table booked for 7pm for dinner but the menu didn't look all that appealing to the children aged 15, 14 & 9. So we were given another menu which wasn't much better but we chose our meals. 5 star attendance at the table was basically missing. We had 3 problems with our food, which we didn't have to pay for but the food was appalling. Stewed meat, a table spoon of frozen peas and raw potatoes = £15 ! I could go on ...

The room we were in was more of a 4 star with comfy beds and plenty of room, but it lacked the 5 star with grubby carpets and dusty curtains and cobwebs. The bathroom facilities were basic, no bath? Yes we had 2 wc's but it was tiled like a Travelodge, not luxurious at all.

Dining here again only this time for breakfast was terrible. As it was paid for, we used it feeling uncomfortable about the food we had the previous evening. Breakfast was stuffy and pompus as we are a youngish family and most of the guests were older looking at the children as though they had no right to be there.

The girl serving not once said good morning, threw our toast on the table then asked the table next to us if everything was alright! Talk about being made to feel unwelcome. Breakfast also took 25 minutes and it was ok, that's all. The manager from the previous evening did not acknowledg us on our way out after breakfast. We were served by an elderly lady who was lovely and very welcoming so I suppose it was other peoples, "off day"

We had booked a Mothers day lunch but because of the treatment from some of the staff and the lack of 5 star food, we couldn't wait to get out, cancel lunch and head back home.

Wifi wouldn't work at all.

Now this sounds a contradiction, but we would stay here again only if the price came down to around £110 per night including breakfast instead of the extortionate £165 we paid, not worth it I'm afraid.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amanda-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsEveritt, Manager at Tyn Rhos Country House, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments we are very pleased that you would be glad to stay with us again.
On the weekend that you were with us we had a problem with two of our kitchen team not being able to work due to illness but all the other guests were very complimentary.
We look forward to showing you are usual high standards on your return visit.

Robert Henderson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We arrived late to a smiling host, and sandwiches brought up to our room - fantastic after a long drive! The room was gorgeous with comfy bed and very nice bathroom! The breakfast and evening meal were both amazing - the resturant was busy for valentines weekend but the service and food was still top class! We will most certainly be returning - in fact we can't wait! Thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katebandalexf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

I stayed at Ty'n Rhos for the 'new years sparkler', a 2 night package. I found this property on 'offpeakluxury.com' and took a risk with the high price. Well we weren't dissapointed, it was very well signposted, so easy to locate, then upon arrival first impressions were of a very beautiful house, there was more than enough parking space for the size of the place. We recieved a very warm welcome from all the staff. Dinner was amazing we were both extremely satisfied with the food and service. There was a live pianist playing an electronic piano who was excellent (a real piano would have been nice but you can't have everything can you!!), we had a champagne toast at midnight and a firework display. In the morning breakfast was fine I only had the cereal so no complaints there! Then again the second night dinner was amazing. All in all a very nice place, the room was great, good size, everything we needed was there, the staff were very welcoming and we had a lovely break from home by going there. Have recommended to many friends already. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINDSOR,UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Overpriced and very disappointing stay - tired property that is in dire need of a total uplift. Awful damp smell in the courtyard deluxe room.
No TV channels available on the relic of a tv
The shower was so scaled up and old the best you had was a trickle of water
1 shampoo/ 1 shower gel provided for double occupancy
Very uncomfortable mattress
No napkins for dinner ; food very mediocre and over priced
Our strong recommendation is stay away

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank CBB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanddeiniolen
4.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.6 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn Rhos Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn Rhos Country House

Property: Tyn Rhos Country House
Address: Seion, Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon LL55 3AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Llanddeiniolen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyn Rhos Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tyn Rhos Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyn Rhos Country House Hotel Llanddeiniolen
Tyn Rhos Country Hotel
Tyn Rhos Country Llanddeiniolen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing