We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & disappointing restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tyn Rhos Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This hotel looked good from it's web site, with a good location for visiting Snowdon, and the promise of a really good restaurant.
Our welcome was good, even though we had arrived very early for check in (agreed in advance, so we could watch The Wedding in the lounge).
Our room had also been upgraded because we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, which was a nice bonus. We were in the Garden room, which is large, and has a recently fitted bathroom. The bathroom is large, but does not have a bath - only a shower, but a nice large walk in shower, with double sinks. There is a dressing area outside the bathroom, and plenty of wardrobe space.
The bed is large - two singles bolted together. Room also has a sofa, and a very large LCD TV. There is also a private garden, which was nice.
We wandered around the grounds while we were waiting for our room to be ready - the main garden is nice and had been maintained. There was also a large kitchen garden, but this was neglected and looked unused, which was disappointing, as it would have been good for them to be using their own produce in the restaurant.
We had booked a dinner, bed and breakfast stay, so had the table d'hôte menu for dinner. There were four or five choices for each course along with an amuse bouche and a pre-dessert. Restaurant was run in a very formal way - which seemed out of character with the place (staff wore white gloves for serving food). In particular, the maître d’ seemed to be the one setting the tone here, and he was very impersonal.
The meal, overall, was very disappointing. The food was either unseasoned, or over seasoned, and was not very interesting - no better than home cooking. It could have been that Martin, the chef, was off that night, but, according to the web site, he has a team of talented chefs!
Breakfast the following morning was a fairly well cooked full breakfast, along with fresh fruits, cereals, pastries etc.

Overall, I think this place is trying to be much more than it is, charging higher prices than it should. Rooms are good, but not great, food is OK. Staff (of which there seems to be many - more than you would expect for a hotel this size) are mainly pleasant and friendly, with two exceptions - the maître d’, and a waitress that served our toast at breakfast who did not speak to us, even though we had said good morning to her.

Would stay here again if the prices were more in keeping with the quality of accomodation and food.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank delapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsEveritt, Owner at Tyn Rhos Country House, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments and your appreciation for the FREE ROOM UPGRADE to our Garden Suite with private Garden and NEW LUXURY BATHROOM plus the FREE BUFFET AND COMPLIMENTARY CHAMPAGNE to celebrate the Royal Wedding. We are also pleased that you appreciated the large ratio of staff to customers, giving additional customer service. We are very surprised given all the lovely comments and the fact that you are looking forward to returning again, that you only put a low rating, but this must have been a oversight on your behalf and we look forward to welcoming you back for another lovely experience on your next Wedding Anniversay - or perhaps sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 448 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

We were welcomed warmly by Niki, a lovely girl and shown around, then straight to our room which was one of the outbuildings. A really stunning room, very large which gave all of us room to move around. Comfy beds, large flat screen tv, tea and coffee etc.

I asked which rooms our dog could go into at the hotel and it pretty much was a no go for all of them. No worries really as there is plenty of room for our dog to go out exploring and have a run around.

I'm not blowing trumpets here, but we frequent 5 star hotels quite regularly and this is more of a 4 star in our opinion. I say this because the food was classed as, "fine dining" I have to completely disagree. We had a table booked for 7pm for dinner but the menu didn't look all that appealing to the children aged 15, 14 & 9. So we were given another menu which wasn't much better but we chose our meals. 5 star attendance at the table was basically missing. We had 3 problems with our food, which we didn't have to pay for but the food was appalling. Stewed meat, a table spoon of frozen peas and raw potatoes = £15 ! I could go on ...

The room we were in was more of a 4 star with comfy beds and plenty of room, but it lacked the 5 star with grubby carpets and dusty curtains and cobwebs. The bathroom facilities were basic, no bath? Yes we had 2 wc's but it was tiled like a Travelodge, not luxurious at all.

Dining here again only this time for breakfast was terrible. As it was paid for, we used it feeling uncomfortable about the food we had the previous evening. Breakfast was stuffy and pompus as we are a youngish family and most of the guests were older looking at the children as though they had no right to be there.

The girl serving not once said good morning, threw our toast on the table then asked the table next to us if everything was alright! Talk about being made to feel unwelcome. Breakfast also took 25 minutes and it was ok, that's all. The manager from the previous evening did not acknowledg us on our way out after breakfast. We were served by an elderly lady who was lovely and very welcoming so I suppose it was other peoples, "off day"

We had booked a Mothers day lunch but because of the treatment from some of the staff and the lack of 5 star food, we couldn't wait to get out, cancel lunch and head back home.

Wifi wouldn't work at all.

Now this sounds a contradiction, but we would stay here again only if the price came down to around £110 per night including breakfast instead of the extortionate £165 we paid, not worth it I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amanda-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsEveritt, Manager at Tyn Rhos Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments we are very pleased that you would be glad to stay with us again.
On the weekend that you were with us we had a problem with two of our kitchen team not being able to work due to illness but all the other guests were very complimentary.
We look forward to showing you are usual high standards on your return visit.

Robert Henderson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We arrived late to a smiling host, and sandwiches brought up to our room - fantastic after a long drive! The room was gorgeous with comfy bed and very nice bathroom! The breakfast and evening meal were both amazing - the resturant was busy for valentines weekend but the service and food was still top class! We will most certainly be returning - in fact we can't wait! Thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katebandalexf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I stayed at Ty'n Rhos for the 'new years sparkler', a 2 night package. I found this property on 'offpeakluxury.com' and took a risk with the high price. Well we weren't dissapointed, it was very well signposted, so easy to locate, then upon arrival first impressions were of a very beautiful house, there was more than enough parking space for the size of the place. We recieved a very warm welcome from all the staff. Dinner was amazing we were both extremely satisfied with the food and service. There was a live pianist playing an electronic piano who was excellent (a real piano would have been nice but you can't have everything can you!!), we had a champagne toast at midnight and a firework display. In the morning breakfast was fine I only had the cereal so no complaints there! Then again the second night dinner was amazing. All in all a very nice place, the room was great, good size, everything we needed was there, the staff were very welcoming and we had a lovely break from home by going there. Have recommended to many friends already. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Overpriced and very disappointing stay - tired property that is in dire need of a total uplift. Awful damp smell in the courtyard deluxe room.
No TV channels available on the relic of a tv
The shower was so scaled up and old the best you had was a trickle of water
1 shampoo/ 1 shower gel provided for double occupancy
Very uncomfortable mattress
No napkins for dinner ; food very mediocre and over priced
Our strong recommendation is stay away

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank CBB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We arrived with some trepidation - especially about the bed - having read the reviews after we had booked. However it was all absolutely fine, in fact it could not have been bettered really. Plenty of parking, and a beautiful location, very quiet. A large comfortable room with all the facilities. Service was good throughout.
We ate in for both the nights we were there. Table d'hote the first night - that food was indifferent really and that menu remained the same the following night; we changed to the a la carte on the second night and had a delicious lamb dish beautifully cooked. Restaurant service was excellent on both occasions.
Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and well presented and served - a positive pleasure.
Overall we would thoroughly recommend this hotel which is well run and well managed in a lovely part of north Wales.
A few minor niggles like the lavatory seat kept falling down and the double bed was two singles and they really should improve the table d'hote menu/food somewhat. But these are minor points.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teaselshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Hotel exterior is lovely, and grounds well kept. We we placed in the Ragged Robin standard double overlooking the car park at the front of the hotel - decor was an odd colour mix (blue and terracotta??) and a bit old fashioned for my taste but it was clean and comfortable. Fairly spacious. No issues with the bed as in previous reviews - maybe they have changed the mattresses?

Staff throughout our stay were ok - nothing particularly good or bad, but having to wait around for someone to come to reception to drop keys off whenever we went out or finding someone to serve at the bar was a bit of a pain.

Was disappointed not to have a fridge in the room, but tea making facilities were good. Breakfast was excellent every morning (except the croissants - they were stale), and we did eat in the restaurant on the Sunday night of our stay - food was well cooked and delicious; the menu was very limited however and we would have struggled to eat in every night as it did seem overpriced.

No wi-fi access in upstairs guest rooms which I was disappointed in - only available in the bar or lounge downstairs which is a tad inconvenient as there are no dedicated areas and we ended up scrounging around for somewhere to plug the laptop in.

The fishing lake at the bottom of the garden is lovely, and is currently inhabited by a family of swans and their 5 cygnets which are well worth the walk if you are a nature buff - they even posed for photos! It's a bit wild and I don't know if there are actually any fish in it, there was no literature around the hotel even acknowledging it was there so I don't know how much use it gets.

There were only a few older children around which made it nice and quiet, but I don't think it is the kind of place I would want to bring under 10's anyway as there is not really anything to keep them entertained. General residents we saw around the hotel seemed to be over 50 - we (at 30 and 40) seemed to be among the younger guests.

Overall I felt the hotel was a bit overpriced for what we got, and my partner and I felt a bit uncomfortable walking around in jeans, particularly in the restaurant. The location however was perfect - very isolated and quiet, but close enough to all the tourist attractions in North Wales to make it an ideal touring base.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlondishRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanddeiniolen
4.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,372 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
764 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
10.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn Rhos Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn Rhos Country House

Address: Seion, Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon LL55 3AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Llanddeiniolen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanddeiniolen
Price Range: $129 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyn Rhos Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tyn Rhos Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyn Rhos Country House Hotel Llanddeiniolen
Tyn Rhos Country Hotel
Tyn Rhos Country Llanddeiniolen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing