We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opportunity missed!”

Musee de la Batterie de Merville
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.85*
and up
Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries...
More Info
$118.64*
and up
Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector
More Info
$110.32*
and up
Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ludlow, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Opportunity missed!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have never been to this site before so I was totally open to what I might see, although I am aware of the history of the attack on the battery on D-Day. The site itself is very sympathetically landscaped and kept in very good order. My main thoughts however are what is this site trying to convey to its visitors? Is it trying to recreate the story of the assault on the battery? Is it trying to recreate life as a German soldier working here? Is it a monument to the people who died here both defending and attacking. I feel it is a real opportunity missed as it doesn't really tick any of these boxes and could have done through more interactive displays like at the Memorial Pegasus. The story of the attack on the battery is only recalled through the commentary of Col. Ottaway and the lack of model/maps makes it very difficult for the visitor to visualise how events occurred and what the site looked like when intact. Many of the bunkers remain closed off and effectively boarded up. The one bunker that was restored was well laid out but failed in its attempt to purvey life as a german soldier. This is important as I feel history will demonise all german soldiers as evil Nazis when in fact most fought and thought in the same way as our own honoured troops. Is this because that is how the site will be or is it because the museum hopes to carry out more restorative work in the future? I was hoping to be similarly informed and enthused like I was at the Pegasus Memorial but sadly I would have to say I was disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    156
    31
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This whole site was painstakingly well-kept and easy to navigate. Each separate bunker was a different exhibit with a different film. I'm sorry to say we didn't have time to actually see each of them and take time in each exhibit, but there was a great deal to see. The main bunker included a very realistic light & sound reenactment of the taking of the bunker by the paratroopers. It might be a good idea to keep kids out of this one as the gunfire sounds were really very loud. There was also quite a bit there about the paratroopers and their incursion in Europe as a whole. Besides the bunkers there is a C 47 on the site that is in very good condition.
The site has a very small shop, not much parking and very small, shoddy toilets. It's not super easy to get to, but the admission fee was well worth the visit to this site that brings you a lot closer to the emotional experience the d-day operation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenJenMcMostard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting and atmospheric”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Interesting displays and tried to describe wartime life for both sides. Interactive display a little disappointing but certainly work a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mediclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A clean and well presented site...”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited the site ahead of our return ferry home and passed an interesting morning learning about the history of the battery and the battles around it during the war.

The site is mainly based around the bunkers, which are filled with various presentations and information, with a few other exhibits - including a Dakota aircraft of the period (but not the battle).

We enjoyed our stay browsing the site, which is relatively close to the Pegasus Bridge Memorial, and would recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZakZapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Second visit here and this time the Dakota was open which was great. First time there was in October 2011 and quite quiet, very busy this time in July 2013. Very interesting and well worth the visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Batterie de Merville also viewed

 

Been to Musee de la Batterie de Merville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing