We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent and beautiful stay”
other traveler has booked this property
Santa Caterina  - stunning position and swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Santa Caterina  - stunning position and swimming pool
View through to the living from the patio Spacious and well equipped kitchen and dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Santa Caterina  - stunning position and swimming pool
View through to the living from the patio
Spacious and well equipped kitchen and dining room
Main Terrace - perfect spot for evening drink watching the sunset
Stunning views throughout the property
Light and Spacious living room
Master Bedroom
First floor guests double bedroom
Ground floor twin bedroom
Cosy upstairs sitting room / TV room
Kitchen Terrace
Shi's Cottage
Lavendar in bloom and the cottage terrance
Shi's Cottage living room and kitchen
Cottage double bedroom
Stunning views from the swimming pool to Antognolla Castle
Beautiful gardens
Approaching view of Santa Caterina
Relaxing in the shade
Swimming pool Terrace
Pizza Oven
Marga and Vic Santa Caterina Caretaker
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Giovanni del Pantano, Perugia, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MartijnEl...
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent and beautiful stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Wow, what an amazing stay we had in Santa Catarina. We needed a week of total relaxation and we got it.
We stayed in the smaller cottage and we loved it. We were welcomed by Marga, our host, and her 3 lovely dogs. She showed us the place.
Views are impressive and unsurpassed. You can’t stop making pictures.
Our cottage was gorgeous. A great fireplace for the colder evenings, a fully outillaged kitchen and I personally love it, a great shower.
Marga gave us various tips of places to go, places to eat and things to do.
Our time here was in one word incredible. Luckily the weather is good in Holland too, but we are sad to be leaving this beautiful place. But we will most definitely be back here.

Thanks for everything!
Ellen and Martijn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danhers1
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“A hidden paradise in the heart of Umbria”
Reviewed February 11, 2018 for a stay in June 2017

Fabulous hilltop villa beautifully restored with modern but timeless ambiance and great attention to details.
The villa has breathtaking views and we very much enjoyed lounging around the pool, as well as drinking lovely Umbrian wines and sampling local cuisine around the patio while absorbing the magnificent scenery. We also took many beautiful walks around the countryside.
The villa is perfectly located for touring Umbria and is close to many beautiful medieval towns and tourist attractions. Nearby Umbertida is a convenient place to stock up with local produce.
The house is beautifully furnished with great attention to details and comfort. It had all the facilities we needed and the house keeper Marga was wonderful and attended to all our needs. This included picking us up from the train station and doing some shopping for us before our arrival.She had also vast knowledge about the area and gave us very good recommendations for local restaurants and events.
We stayed in the villa with two friends for a week, and were very sad to say goodbye to this paradise, however we will definitely return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
713philip...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The views go on forever”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Amazing restoration of the hilltop farmhouse was just the start of a wonderful stay. Marja, the caretaker, literally took care of everything including cooking a couple of great meals for us. Perfectly located for touring Umbria, it is close to everything, it was great to come back in the afternoon , sip an Aperol Spritz, and gaze at the distant snow capped Apennine Mountains. It would sleep 6 comfortably and there is also a separate 2 person cottage available apparently. Bit cool for the pool but may have to come back in the summer to try it. We actually got to help with the olive picking which was great fun and even went down to the olive mill to see the olive crop turned into oil!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet252038
1 review
“PIECE OF PARADISE”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our stay in Umbria was the highlight of our vacation, Marga the caretaker was very informative and knew of sites to see and food to eat. The main house is absolutely beautiful , marvelous kitchen, patio's and a wonderful pool overlooking magnificent mountains and scenic vineyards that are close by. By far the best vacation we had and it ended too soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob4321_1...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Breathtaking views and incredible accommodations...The Villa is the perfect spot for an amazing vacation for family and friends. Perched on a beautiful hilltop in Umbria with close proximity to many lovely towns and places for day trips. The caretaker is most helpful and an amazing cook...helped us feel at home and not like tourists. The villa is impeccable with luxury touches, beautifully furnished but authentic Italian. The pool and landscape grounds are spectacular!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“We came back to Paradise”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very relaxing 2 weeks in this magnificent house on the hill that has superb vistas.
We loved it in 2014 and now back again to soak up the atmosphere, the ambience, the food, the surrounding country villages, only to return to the welcoming house with the magnificent pool overlooking the Umbrian mountains.
It doesn't get better than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the property in its detail for comfort, its outdoor areas and views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thank you for your very kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take me back....”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is seriously the most gorgeous villa I could imagine...you truly feel like you are in a picture. Even the food tastes better there...

The villa is immaculately kept, and the grounds are so lovely. There are incredible views from every angle and literally sage, rosemary and lavender bushes sweeping down the sides of the mountain, not to mention the olive trees.

The pool is so beautiful too- the perfect way to spend the afternoon after a morning trip to a local town. Location-wise it's great too- close to Perugia, Deruta, Assisi, Gubbio, Lake Trasimeno ...

The house itself is both stately and cozy (the couches are so comfortable!), and just so rustic Italian. I could sit on the porches and sip coffee/drink wine all day. The caretaker is so lovely too- and the BEST cook!!

The bedrooms are really nicely kept and the little cottage is super cute for a couple. It would be a perfect spot for a group of friends (we want to take a few couples with us next time!) or, as we did, it's a perfect family vacation - something for everyone.

Highly, highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank for your very kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing