We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many things gone wrong...”
Review of Tenuta di Murlo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Giovanni del Pantano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tenuta di Murlo
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So many things gone wrong...”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here on may 2013, San Savino villa.

What looks perfect in the pictures, most definitely is not that. It's about 2km from the golf course & the main road so the place is really quiet. However the gravel road to there is in a very terrible condition. In so terrible, that I would definitely not recommend taking your own car there nor would I take a walk there.

Rooms are nice, but when we arrived, all the beds were moist and therefore not very nice to sleep on. The temperature was roughly 16-17C when we arrived and they charged us 1€/m3 for that as additional charge. A total rip-off! I do not think anyone with 6 days in this place has any other chance but to heat it up with their heating system since there is only one fireplace and logs are not easy to find here :) Well, this is Italy and you have to live with that I guess.

Additional our downstairs shower room does not have any ventilation. Due to this there is some damage & mold on the roof in that room. also in the wall close to connection to the floor.

The pool has some dirt in it and the water at this time of the year is so cold that you really cannot swim in it (trust me, I am from Finland).

Kitchen is nice and has all the amenities needed for cooking. Closest grocery shop is about 10 km away and also there is no services close except for some small place in the small village about 4 km away. It is so small that there really is nothing to see.

The Castle that you can see in all the marketing material is closed. It might be build as a hotel in a few years, but for now it is empty. Most likely the project here has some financing difficulties.

Golf course looks great on pics, but is rather average. Greens are shaped nicely and there are a couple of nice holes but otherwise you get bored with it easily. There is a small practice area and a range.

Service personel was very helpful. A Srilankan guy helped as much he could and the cleaning lady kept places tidy.

WIFI in this villa is poor. It cuts off all the time and its also very slow.

Surrounding areas. Assisi is really nice, so was Perugia. I recommend checking them out if you are ever coming to this area.

I unfortunately cannot recommend this place to anyone. Maybe the other villas are better but this one just is not worth the high price.

Room Tip: Avoid San Savino villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleFox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlifra, Proprietario at Tenuta di Murlo, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am the owner of the estate.
I feel very sorry for what you have written because we always try to do our best for our guests and we generally succeed and people come back year after year.
I will answer step by step to your points.
The strongest point of our place is the fact that is secluded and private. If you wished to stay closer to a town you should have chosen another location. The road is graveled and the agency should have informed you about it. If not I am sorry but it is their fault. The villa is in a 6000 hectares estate and the golf is only at 3 minutes driving.
The housekeeper told you that the villa could be heated if needed at your arrival and the heating is extra it is written in the contract, you should have known this, maybe another fault of the agency.
The total cost of your stay, that you haven't paid, was 50 Euros for the 6 days so really cheap in my opinion.
If there were problems in the downstairs room you could have chosen one of the other 3 bedrooms because there were only 2 of you in a villa for 8 people. You could then have told it to our guy who would have made everything to try to make your stray more comfortable if needed.
In Italy the season for pool begins the end of May. There is no heating in the pool in this villa, we have it in the other ones,you should have known before coming, so if the weather is bad, I guess this cannot be our fault.
In the estate we provide many services through the staff of our golf course and restaurant and you could have asked and we could have done shopping for you and all kind of services, but you haven't asked for that.
The castle is beautiful and it is beauty for the view, that is what we use it for marketing, we are not saying there is a hotel but there will be a hotel in the near future, so I don't understand what you expected.
Then, if the wifi had problems you could have asked and complained when on site and we would have resolved immediately.
I a very sorry because writing all these bad commentaries, some of them are quite not reasonable, is trying to damage other works where people try to do their best, you should have called me when on site because I would have tried to make your stay more comfortable.
Best regards,
Carlotta Carabba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in Caminata and had a wonderful week. As many others have highlighted the pictures really dont do the villa justice, the garden is simply stunning and the interior is of a very high standard. The villa is extremely spacious with a well equipped kitchen. The pool area is also stunning and we loved night swimming with the wonderful pool lights.

Carlotta is excellent, she was extremely responsive whilst booking and was able to deal with any problem - we had a small issue with lots of people turning up one day to do work on the property, cleaners/multiple gardeners/work men etc and she quickly and efficiently dealt with it and ensured we weren't disturbed. Wonderful service from the other members of her team also.

Worth highlighting the road up to the villa is a little rugged, its fun to drive but probably isn't great if you want to arrive in a sports car!

We did not drag ourselves away from the pool often but if we had any complaint it would be that whilst the villa and estate is gorgeous we found the surrounding area to be a little dull. We spent the previous week in Pienza in Tuscany where there was a wide array of lovely villages with gorgeous views and wonderful restaurants/gelateria. Whilst still very pleasant we wouldn't say that this area of Umbria is anywhere near as beautiful nor does it have the quaint towns and restaurant options (certainly not that we could find!). We ate a couple of times in the golf club, the food was ok but there was no atmosphere - in fact, it felt like eating in a golf club.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend it, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broome57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed 9 days at the Murlo property in October. Carlotta and her team were outstanding and the property is amazing. The villas are quiet, relaxing, and have great views of the hills, golf course, and castle. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Subtilia Villa is great - swimming pool, putting green, nice yard, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
198 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Much has been written about Murlo's villas so just a few pointers:
The resort is essentially a large valley next to the golf course with a number of villas scattered around most of which are run by the Murlo people (read: the delightful Carlotta).
We stayed at Caminata - only 5 of us so huge room and no use of the annex.
This is the fifth villa rental in the Summer in the last ten years or so...and Caminata wins by a mile. The interior is fresh and new and really quite high spec throughout. A/C was a definite plus (works really well) as was the TV and the wi-fi which was strong enough for use on one side of the pool too.
Superb swimming pool with views a very short walk from the house - and the views from the pergola (lunch/dinner) were even better.
I would also mention the very clever planting of plants and flowers around the villa and garden...not only was it a joy to see but it ensured virtually no wasps/bees etc at breakfast and lunchtime...very well thought out.
Be aware there is a 7-8 minute drive to get to the house from the main road and most of it is on the wild side...not an issue at all (all villas are essentially the same except for Subtilia) but it means you should prepare when you leave as the quick return back if you leave something behind is tricky.
There is a villa next door but we hardly heard any noise during our stay and it's to the side not at the front so you hardly notice.
The Caldaro restaurant is really good too - certainly compares to some of the best in the area and we would recommend it as reasonably priced too with excellent service.
I would also mention Cesarino in Perugia's main square and La Fattoria in the lovely little town of Castel Rigone. Avoid at all costs Luciano in Passignano.
We were amazed to see that another family from our same town had recently stayed - it's a small world.
We will be back - as long as you don't mind being far from the Sea I cannot think of a better place to stay, superbly managed and in pristine condition. If the castle does eventually become a Four Seasons resort then this area will be on the map a lot more so...go now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastronauta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Here we are again!

This time we came back to Murlo for a long week-end with some friends.

We stayed at the villa Caminata, one of the wonderful houses of the property.

We were 12 adults plus 4 babies. Have to say it was the perfect week-end.

The house is perfectly suitable for a stay with kids; rooms and bathrooms are big, very comfortable and fully equipped. The big living room, which has a beautiful view of the mountains, in addition to being furnished in luxury, also has a lot of space for playing and a direct access to the garden. 

Some times travelling with kids can be rough hard, especially when some friends that are travelling with you do not have kids, but here  everyone has plenty of privacy and life in common becomes really pleasant.

A beautiful pool on top of a small hill, completes the property.

Mums had fun walking around and giving their children a chance to breathe some pure and fresh air whilst their husbands spent most of the time playing golf at the Antognolla Golf course which is just a 10 minutes car drive from the house.

The staff that works here is so kind and helpful. We had the option, which we obviously took advantage of, to have a chef to cook for us.

So while the dads were playing golf, we ladies had a delicious, relaxing and chattery lunch together. 

It was my first trip with my little son and I was a bit frightened about it. After this? I want to live here!! He was happy all the time and slept the whole night trough...just amazing!

So what can I say more, this property offers everything you may need and desire, at any age.

Loved it.

 

Lavinia, Filippo and Pietro

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevenoaks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at The Caminata villa at the end of March as a base to explore the surrounding area and to look at the university in Perugia for my eldest son for a gap year in 2013.
Carlotta could not have been more helpful in arranging everything and we were absolutely delighted wtih the villa and the staggeringly beautiful views!
The villa has been designed with such care and attention both inside and out and every need has been catered for. Namal was so polite and informative and made sure everything was ok for our entire stay....he is worth his weight in gold!
My husband and sons enjoyed the golf and I enjoyed reading my books in total quiet and insolation....a rare treat to escape from everyday life. We were incredibly lucky with the weather which was warm and sunny for the whole of our stay.
We visited Perugia and Assisi which were both beautiful and I have no doubt that my son will enjoy his time here.
We ate at Il Caldaro at the golf centre twice and had wonderful food with fantastic service, and it was a pleasure to meet with Carlotta and her husband who were so gracious and entertaining, they really have made 'Murlo Resort' a special place to come to......so don't hesitate in making that booking,you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Keep coming back to this great place. We were twice in this house, for two weeks each time. It is one of our favorites places in Italy. It's a very relaxing family house, beautiful renovated, simple but stylish. Great for a family gathering. Great service of the owner and the team around.  It is close to the main roads. The view and the pool worth everything. Superb vacation!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni del Pantano
9.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
812 reviews
10.5 mi away
Agriturismo Il Melograno
8.1 mi away
Agriturismo il Geranio
Agriturismo il Geranio
#1 of 3 in Piccione
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Castello Valenzino
Castello Valenzino
#10 of 26 in Umbertide
299 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Murlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Murlo

Property: Tenuta di Murlo
Address: Str. San Giovanni Del Pantano | Loc. Antognolla, 06133 San Giovanni del Pantano, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > San Giovanni del Pantano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Giovanni del Pantano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At just 2 minutes from the Antognolla Golf course and at 20 minutes from Perugia, the Murlo Estate is one of the most exclusive private country estates in Italy, owned by the same family for generations. Renowned for its thousands of hectares of immaculate woods and olive groves, and for its superb valleys, lakes and rivers, it is the perfect place for a relaxing and private holiday, offering impressive levels of comfort and elegance. The Estate offers a wide selection of possibilities for its guests: five luxury villas with private pools, three charming apartments with shared pools and two romantic cottages with shared pool all elegantly furnished and offering superior levels of comfort and a wide range of activities and high quality services, like a five star hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Murlo Italy/San Giovanni Del Pantano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing