We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property
South-facing private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South-facing private garden
Lounge with wood-burning stove Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
South-facing private garden
Lounge with wood-burning stove
Fully equipped kitchen
Bathroom/Shower room - Walk-in shower with Mira Excel mixer unit.
Double bedroom - king size divan bed
Twin bedroom
Entrance hall with original exposed stonework
Lounge view to our front paddock
Orchard with BBQ
Cottage is set in lawned open space
The Moors from Gillamoor Surprise View
Cottage view to Gillamoor village green
Famous Farndale daffodills
Springtime in the orchard
Many walks from the doorstep
Welcome to Keepers Cottage
Winter Wonderland at Surprise View
Wide views to Howardian Hills
See the lambs?
In centre of village - 50 yds to Royal Oak inn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gillamoor, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wander648...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, lovely location ”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Highly recommended. We had a family holiday at Keepers Cottage the last week of August. It is very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed - including Wi-Fi and a lovely bathroom with power shower. The owners are very welcoming and happy to provide useful information, for example they mentioned a local agricultural show taking place on the Bank Holiday which we visited and very much enjoyed. There was also lots of books and leaflets in the cottage providing details of the local area. Gillamore is very well situated for exploring the market towns of Helmsley and Pickering and being on the edge of the open moorland there are some really nice walks from the doorstep. Opposite the cottage is a pub serving food. Another gem within the village is 'Barn Books' which is an informal lending library of books and DVDs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you all had an enjoyable holiday with us in Gillamoor and that you were comfortable in Keepers Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
752vandy
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super!”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

At least Fifth stay at this well equipped self catering apartment with everything included in price. Pub over the road! Antics of sheep in field amusing. Weeks break went too quickly. Helpful owners who live next door. Will be back next year! Helmsley village close by interesting shops.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again next year. K&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
603tony
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“keepers cottage”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

gillamoor is a very quite little village 2 miles from kirkbymoorside it has one pub that cater for very good food and good beer ,the cottage was very nice and private has all the things you would need for a holiday ,good walking area through the dales ,a nice peasfull holiday ,pillars in bedrooms not to soft for my liking but ok

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Keepers Cottage.
We are however at a loss to understand how you conclude that the cottage requires 'much needed cosmetic update ' - & in fact are puzzled about what you mean by the term.
The interior walls are done in pastel emulsion taken from the Crown Paint range and are always very well maintained. The kitchen is half tiled and the bathroom was refurbished with walk-in shower just a few years ago.
This year the cottage front windows were all replaced in wood (as opposed to plastic) and are double glazed. The paintwork on them is new & immaculate.
The leather three-piece suite with reclining settee is in excellent condition, having been bought only 2 years ago.
Both living room & double bedroom have new carpets & the entrance hall with original stonework has laminate flooring with carpet runners for comfort.
We dispute your opinion and are extremely disappointed that you have chosen to criticise the cottage publicly rather than to bring it to our attention while we were speaking during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Betty R
Kelowna, British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keeper's Cottage is a keeper”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful stay in Keeper's Cottage. Everything we could have wanted in a home away from home. Our hosts were excellent & caring. The pub right across the road had very good food. We couldn't have bee any handier to the moors and walking paths. Wonderful views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & comfort
Liked least: can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Gillamoor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
752vandy
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super cosy cottage”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Repeat visit of this comfy well equiped cottage with lovely pub over the road. Friendly helpful owners. Will be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peaceful area.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you both! Lovely to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn T
Greenlaw, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in North Yorkshire”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We recently stayed in Keepers Cottage, it was perfectly situated for everything we as a family wanted to do. It was exceptionally clean and very well equipped. The tea tray and fresh flowers on arrival were very much appreciated. Our hosts Keri and Joan were really helpful and welcoming, their local knowledge was also appreciated. The glorious weather just completed a perfect holiday.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing