We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this pub by another in the area that didn't do lunches in the week ? The local area is lacking in good places to eat and I must say that other pubs and restaurants in the area need to take note. It was a Monday afternoon and usually you find that some places are still recovering from a busy weekend and are slightly rough around the edges. Not the Manor House it was warm welcoming and immaculately clean, the staff were excellent and obviously took pride in their place of work. A good locally sourced menu and reasonably priced.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Goose154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    37
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
55
90
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stumbled across this pub on a rainy, windswept day and were greeted by a warm fire and homely surroundings. We both found the food to be excellent, pork for him and fish and chips for me - cooked and presented in a first rate manner: fresh, home cooked and bursting with flavour! The 2 young staff serving were exceptionally professional and friendly. What a find! Can't wait for our next visit and hopefully we'll get to appreciate the lovely views without the freezing fog.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night while working in the North East, I travelled out from Washington, around 30-40 minutes drive, this was preferable to staying in a Premier Inn 300 yards from the site I was working on.
First impression was quite favourable, a cosy country inn, log fire, real beer and all the trimmings.
I stayed in the Pheasant room, which was spacious with views over the moors, a big screen tv and very comfy bed.
I ate in the lounge, the food and wine were enjoyable and a reasonable price, no complaints at all.
The service was very good, I have to say it was better than some restaurants I have dined at.
I will stay there again, it had everything I require when lodging away from home.
We'll done folks.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dumpstermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Manor House Inn is situated on the busy A68 at Carterway Heads and is a short distance away from Shotley Bridge and Consett. This 18th Century Inn has four bedrooms, some of which have impressive views of the Derwent Reservoir and surrounding Weardale, weather permitting.

We received a warm welcome from Chris the proprietor, who showed us to our room. The room was well appointed, with comfortable bed, wardrobe, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. There was a separate en suite bathroom with toilet, sink and bath with power shower. Perhaps a little excessive with the number of magazines in the room.

There is a well stocked bar with good local real ales, averagely priced. There is also an extensive wine list with some more unusual wines which have been well sourced but a tad on the pricey side for a country inn. Cooked breakfast is good. A full English with toast, jam or marmalade, tea or coffee as well as a choice of cereal and fresh orange juice.

There are two cozy rooms either side of the bar as well as a larger dining room for weekends and when things get really busy. There is a good choice of food on offer all of which is locally sourced. Whilst some things are reasonably priced, others are again slightly overpriced for a country inn in relation to what you get for the money. For example; I had steak pie and received a thin sliver of pie cut from a large pie, rather than an individual pie. At £12.95, I confess to feeling a little bit cheated, having had much better pies for less. To counterbalance this, my wife had a very nice individual fish pie which was excellent.

The Inn is a work in progress. There a quite a few things that need doing to bring it up to top spec and I appreciate that these will take time. Chris has some good ideas and has made steady progress. It is now a year since he bought the Inn. Happy Birthday. It would be nice to see a few photos and a bit more of the history of the place, around the walls.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the reservoir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymanWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent the night here a month ago on the way up to Scotland - a really top place with great views, great food and a really lovely atmosphere. Main man Chris was a perfect host and was well supported by a friendly team of bar staff. Had a great steak pie washed down with some good local ale and a solid bottle of red. A highlight was the morning we left, after a top breakfast when a couple of tough looking locals fresh from a game shoot came in and asked Chris for a 'Latté with some of those little sprinkles on top'........

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Never stopped overnight but usually drop in for food when out walking. Really good at very reasonable price. Choice of good real beer (as well as some of the other stuff that I don't usually drink, but is fine). Try to plan an eat when there is some special stuff on like partridge, etc.. Which is most times to be honest. :-)

Room Tip: Never stayed over night but all rooms look good. Must try when have time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARJ1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off when you first walk in - instead feel the ambience and the rustic surroundings of the lounge and bar. Book a table in the lounge and enjoy the fabulous food, excellent service and the general atmosphere - warm and relaxing. For a more formal meal sit in the restaurant - white tablecloths, low lighting, same food! Easy to find on A68 too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shotley Bridge
2.3 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
2,897 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Burnside
The Burnside
#2 of 11 in Consett
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#1 of 1 in Whittonstall
169 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Dyvels Inn
The Dyvels Inn
#1 of 15 in Corbridge
148 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lord Crewe Arms, Blanchland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Inn

Property: The Manor House Inn
Address: Carterway Heads, Shotley Bridge DH8 9LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Shotley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shotley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Derwent Valley, this traditional country pub is well worth a visit for its fine ales, fine food and if the mood takes you, stay the night! Ideally situated 30 minutes from Newcastle and Durham, it's an easy escape from the city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Manor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing