We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM ON A HILL”
Review of The Feathers Inn

The Feathers Inn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A GEM ON A HILL”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister and I had lunch here last week, it was recommended by a friend, and we were not disappointed, we both had the hedgehog mushrooms for starters they were delicious, and for mains I had the meat pie it was very good, and my sister had the fish equally as good. The view from this inn is beautiful and it is obviously very popular as considering it was a Wednesday lunch time on a cold and very windy day we still had to book a table, and the restaurant was full.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ameliaH931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    62
    39
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fluffer1000
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“excellent as ever”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

my wife and i had another excellent meal at the feathers.
as its game bird season we decided on a trip to the feathers. i had a skate and potato terrine for starter which i picked purely as it sounded a bit different. dont think ive seen it on the menu before but it was it was delicious. my wife had parma ham, wild mushrooms and duck egg, i had a little try of it and this was also outstanding.
i was very tempted by the grouse for main but instead plumped for partidge 'casserole' this a partridge in a light broth with ham and roast potatoes on the side (the only thing i could make better, sorry Rhian but my roasties are better than ours). My wife had the grouse which came with the normal game crisps and bread sauce which again i had a little try of, again this was faultless.
we didnt have any room for pudding.

The Feathers once again delivered excellent food, everytime anyone asks me for a restaurant recommendation in the area, The Feathers is always top of the list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inn on the Hill”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Superb food, excellent experience, well worth a return. Well varied range of food, with many different choices to suit all tastes.

Very good range of beer from the North East

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlaantmanSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Puts a lot of gastro pubs to shame”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The beer was excellent, the place was packed, and the food was definitely special. Yes it's cramped, and we had to wait for our table, but we weren't in a hurry - if you are what are you doing in Hedley on the Hill anyway? We just had another round. The waiting staff have a pretty hard task weaving around tables and people, but kept cheerful, and the atmosphere was friendly. The food was excellent and the chef clearly really cares about the quality of the food he prepares. Before we ate I had a look at the notes that had been written for the cider festival and they had put a lot of effort into it. It boded well because the food benefitted from the same care and attention. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank regularcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try the feathers after reading some good reviews on trip adviser. Waitress was pleasant and helpful and starters went well unfortunately it went downhill from then. We ordered steaks one ok two from same cut of meat undercooked and tough. After seeing my elderly father struggle with his first mouthful I tried mine and realised it was just as tough, we did try a piece from the other side and found it to be the same. Had to return steaks to kitchen where further cooking was offered (if steaks rare how would further cooking improve them) I did think the chef would be interested to find out why two of his special steaks had been sent back but that wasn't the case. At £20+ per steak I thought at least he would have been interested. Informed by young waiter when querying bill £100+ That chef thought meat was fine and we had eaten most of it then why did we send the majority of it back. So disappointed I did not take photo as proof. Customer service nil points, go back never. Underwhelmed and overpriced as said by other trip advisors. Should have taken note of negatives. Sorry to pleasant young waitress that no tip given.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank RonRange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodesquire, Owner at The Feathers Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the feedback it is very important to us. I am very pleased you were happy with your starters. I gather from talking with the staff that evening that you ordered three steaks. They were all from the same beast in fact they were cuts taken next to each other. One rib eye steak was large and so this came as a sharing portion, the other smaller was for an individual. Thus three steaks.
Your waitress came over whilst you were eating your main course and asked you if everything was alright with your meal and you said it was. Later on, you called her over to say that there was a problem.
The waitress was understandably confused when you told her you felt the sharing portion of rib eye was undercooked and that you were unable to get your knife through it. She took it to the kitchen and suggested cooking it further due to it being undercooked for your liking.
I am very surprised that you felt the chef was not interested. In fact the chefs - all three, were in fact very interested. They each sliced the beef and each thought it was perfect. All of the waiting staff then came into the kitchen and they too all cut the steaks and they also thought it was a beautiful piece of meat. This left us confused, as the other steak your guest was eating was the same cut and you thought that one was fine. When your waitress came back from the kitchen, she offered you anything of the menu you wished for on the house. She then also asked again if the steak you had was ok for you. Our steak is indeed very special and yours came from a rare bread beast in the village. Unlike supermarket beef raised on CAFO's (Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations) which are typically slaughtered between 14 and 16 months because they're fed a soy protein/corn mix diet that fattens them rapidly. Our beef comes from small farms that feed beasts on grass only and yours was a from a 36 month old heifer called Buttercup. We choose our beasts in the field then after ageing, do all our own butchery. Its extremely rare that anyone complains about our beef although it has happened that a customer did not know how a rib eye steak differs from, say, a sirloin or fillet. Rib eye is one of the more flavourful cuts of beef. Its marbling of fat makes it very good for roasting and it also goes well on a grill cooked to any degree. At £20 per steak we believe this is very good value and if you look around it is comparable with everywhere else in this region.
Perhaps in hindsight they should have given you a free meal but unfortunately we chose to offer you a replacement which you declined. When we feel we have made a mistake and it does happen that a meal leaves the kitchen not to the standard we would like, we endeavour to rectify the situation as best we possibly can but in this instance there was no one who felt the meat was anything other than perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Feathers Inn also viewed

Anick, Northumberland
Wylam, Northumberland
 
Frosterley, County Durham
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to The Feathers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing