We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice traditional pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slieve Bloom Bar

Slieve Bloom Bar
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Kinnitty
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Homemade soup, gourmet beef sandwiches and traditional ham, cheese, tomato and onion toasted sandwiches are our main staples. To be drank with piping hot tea/coffee or a pint!
Newport, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice traditional pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Other owner was the best ,very helpful And friendly.great looking tradional pub that the locals hangout at.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzy1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Dinner the night before Kiva & Brian's Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Owner Kieran & Lorraine were great hosts. We had a Lamb Stew for about 30 people and they were able to accommodate me with my Gluten free meal :) Then there was live traditional Irish Music later in the evening a great night was had by all. We even met the Lady Chris from the Ardmore Country House that a large group ofus were staying in and the other large group were staying at Slieve Bloom above the Bar lucky them :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre201407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Quintessentially Irish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Love, love, love this place. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the food is delicious, the entertainment is great (the craic is mighty) and the location is breathtaking. I can't imagine a more perfectly Irish experience.

Helpful?
Thank Eamon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Still a pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Last year we spent five nights in Kinnitty and visited Keiran nightly. What a pleasure it was to get back again this year!! This is truly a fantastic local pub---not a touristy place at all. Keiran obviously loves his job! He is always on the go when he isn't chatting up the patrons. Very relaxing to just sit with a pint and watch the goings on. If you are ever in Kinnitty, or just passing through, this is a must stop!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gourmet Walk with Slieve Bloom Walking group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just back from the Slieve Bloom walking groups first Gourmet Walk which was held in this pub.

I was never in it before but the service and co-operation of the owners was second to none. Excellent rapport with the customers and so obliging.

I would recommend a visit - lovely to sit outside with a dink in hand and enjoy the Summer sunshine and watch the world go by!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A1observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slieve Bloom Bar also viewed

Kinnitty, County Offaly
Kinnitty, County Offaly
 
Birr, County Offaly

Been to Slieve Bloom Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing