We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (875)
Filter reviews
875 results
Traveler rating
484
209
93
49
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
209
93
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdungeon barfour poster bedhorse ridingold worldnooks and crannieslovely walkafternoon teaold stylered carpetstone wallsslieve bloom mountainsfood was amazingfree standing bathdrawing roomlive musicrelaxing weekendstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
805 - 810 of 875 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We injoyed our stay at Kinnitty Castle and could not have asked for more. The room we stayed un The Bernard suite was full of character and we or I should say I hoped for a sighting of one of the in house ghosts. Be cafeful what you wish for as I did experience some sort of encounter in the driveway on the second night of our stay. We went for a walk down ate driveway and it was very dark with all the trees that cover over it, and on the way back, well lets just say that I now know what its like to get frozen to the spot as they say. I would love to stay here again the staff were lovely and the bar staff not afraid to work late into the night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gabrielleCo_louth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and couldn't wait to leave. On arrival we were left waiting in the entrance with no one on the desk to receive us and check us in.. it was mid afternoon, so not as if we were late, and without a bell to attract anyone's attention we were left standing around uncomfortable and getting gradually more irritated. When we were eventually shown to our room, the wooden head board on the bed had face prints on it from presumably a previous amorous couple who were obviously quite enthusiastic with each other.. how anyone cleaning the room could have failed to notice them and at least take a bit of furniture polish to it I do not know. The bed itself was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept on and seemed to slope in at least 3 different directions with a ridge down the middle. Dinner was awful, service was terrible, the bar downstairs was filthy, and the upstairs bar was left all night and well into the next day covered in dirty glasses and with an unattended bar from early evening. The alleged mountain bikes which are advertised on the website are nothing short of a disgrace, we attempted to go for a bike ride in the morning and had to discard the first 2 bikes, one because the saddle was broken and one because the brakes were literally hanging off... we eventually got going and got about 10 minutes away before my chain came off, and the gears jammed, the tires also deflated. No joke it was truly pathetic, when we returned I stood around at reception for an age to let someone know that the bikes were unusable, this information was received without apology, and when we went out later the tires had been pumped up but the brakes and saddle as mentioned above were in the same state. I could go on but the list is virtuously endless. The gorgeous countryside and location simply makes this experience an even greater shame...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank puntopowerrangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Just had the most relaxing two night break in kinnitty castle. What a pleasure. This hotel is nothing like your run of the mill hotels where every room is the same. We stayed in the Butler Suite which had the most amazing views. The bathroom was to die for with an amazing old style freestanding bath. The bedroom was equally impressive with a mixture of chez lounges and Queen Ann chairs. The food was beautiful and very reasonably priced. The staff were wonderful and always willing to help. Kinnity Castle is a hidden jewel in Co.Offally.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank orlafos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Steven and the team made our family stay special. The food was excellent, the staff could not do enough for us, the team made our daughter feel like she was at home and the tradition music and song in the bar was second to none. The rooms were proper castle. If you are looking for a spider or creeky door to write a complaint about go and stay in a sterile environment. If you want history, tradition, culture and a satistied feeling you can do no wrong here. This is a hidden gem.

Ps: Thank you soo much to the lovely ladies who updated out room each day and recognised that our 20 month old would need her midday sleep.

Enda.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LISNAKILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed with friends last weekend at Kinnitty. Staff very friendly. got a massive room for littlle.this place is Irelands hidden gems. Food in Sl dala was very good with plenty of choice. will defintely be back. thanls to all the staff for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilloutDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews