We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinnitty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We were on our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The night bar tender (/grounds tender?), Ray, was very nice and accommodating. Talked to us about the area and gave us information on its history and such. Very friendly staff.

The dinner was wicked good and the wine was amazing. We had our first candlelit dinner.

The rooms were huge and so were the bathrooms. Very nicely decorated and even included some books for visitors to read about history and such. The bar was open late, which was nice. The view is utterly breathtaking.

Bike riding is free, which we took advantage of in the morning. The ponies are very friendly and licked my hand and let us pet them. ^_^

They helped us get to where we were going next and even went as far as to try and contact the place for us. ^_^

Thanks so much! We really enjoyed our stay! You made our honeymoon really special.

~*Todd & Melissa Miller*~

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelmelsweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCManager1209, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments, i will pass them on to Ray & all the team. I hope you are enjoying your stay in Ireland & look forward to welcoming you both back to Kinnitty Castle.
regards,
Steven Linehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 820 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2010

Staff, Food etc were second to none I would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Stayed at castle for one night with friends, sorry now that we did not stay for longer.
Castle is in a beautiful location; Slieve Bloom mountains and fantastic woodlands in area. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable and the food was excellent.
Staff wey very helpful, and we were made to feel very welcome. Special mention to Steven who manages this wonderful castle, and makes a tasty Bloody Mary.
Only one complaint we did not meet the ghost [ maybe next time]

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominolimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCManager1209, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

thank-you for your comments, hopefully we can arrange the ghost on your next trip.
regards,
Steven Linehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

went to Kinnitty for a night out with a group of 8 friends. got a good deal on B&B and evening meal. Staff very friendly, food second to none and great value for money. Had a brilliant night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berryLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCManager1209, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Thank you for your kind words on trip advisor, glad you enjoyed your stay in Kinnitty Castle.
regards,
Steven Linehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Had my 40th here in January. It was excellent. This was my second stay at the Hotel and it won't be my last. I love the place. This was also the view shared by my friends and family
afterwards. Staff, food and rooms excellent. Stephen (the manager) was a gent.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotshotsphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCManager1209, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments on trip advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Had a great night in the castle, great food,wine and service very good. Bedrooms beautiful and hot showers. Were made to feel very welcome by the manager.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Had a truly wonderful Easter weekend with family in this most unique setting. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful dinner the first night in the Dining Room which was realistically priced and enjoyed relaxing afterwards in the Drawing Room in front of a nice fire. After a very generous breakfast the next day some of the party went horse riding nearby while others went walking on various planned routes with maps supplied, The second night we ate in the Monks Restaurant which was a carvery style (you need to be down early for full selection) and food was very tasty and hot served by friendly staff. We enjoyed the background traditional live music coming from the Dungeon Bar.

After another good nights sleep in comfortable beds we organised clay pidgeon shooting competition among ourselves. Afterwards we had a light snack from the bar before reluctantly departing for our journey home.Overall a great experience and am already booked in for a return visit!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCManager1209, General Manager. at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2010

Thank-you for your posting. I'll pass on your comments to all the team. I'm glad you enjoyed your family stay & look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
regards,
Steven Linehan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinnitty
14.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
8.7 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.9 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,003 reviews
9 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
107 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinnitty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Address: Kinnitty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinnitty
Price Range: $244 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinnitty Castle, is close to the picturesque village of Kinnitty, Co. Offaly set beautifully against a backdrop of the Slieve Bloom Mountains. The Castle has a long and turbulent history. Dating originally from 1209, Kinnitty was destroyed and rebuilt not once but twice and yet it retains character and oozes charm. Kinnity is in a great location only 90 minutes from Dublin and is a great stop off point for journeys west or southwards. It is an exceptional place for lovers of good food and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing