We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DISAPPOINTED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend the week after Valentines. The food was good and the staff were helpful but the room was dirty as was the bathroom. The room was also noisy. I was really let down with the whole experience. Simple things like bed side lights missing shades and having to walk half way around the room to change the channel or turn off the tv! The bed was also extremely uncomfortable. Shower was also poor. We had intended to use a One for all voucher which on checkout we were told they did not accept. (Stated on the one for all voucher site they accepted same) Very disappointed, hotel is in need of a good clean!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Ruth P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we value all comments that we receive in relation to the Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and that you found the staff friendly. In relation to the House keeping items that you mentioned, if this was brought to our attention during your stay we would have been able to address your concerns immediately.

In relation to your comments about the One4all voucher, we have not been part of this scheme for some time and they have been contacted again and our details are removed from their site. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We do hope to welcome you to the Castle again in the future.

Kind regards,
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    186
    79
    44
    32
See reviews for
164
419
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hello,
my partner and I recently stayed for one night in this hotel and first of all it was a lovely experience. It was really different from your average hotel.
The food - we sampled all - breakfast dinner and mostly afternoon tea were excellent - we really really enjoyed the food AND the friendly service.
We had booked the middle category suite as a treat and were allocated the Slieve Bloom Room - it was a nice room but for the price we paid I would have expected aking size bed. The bath and decor were lovely but as stated not great value for money.
All in all, a great trip but I would ask for and expect a different room the next time we will stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyandpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Holly and Polly,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Castle, we are delighted that you enjoyed the food that the Castle offers and that you enjoyed the level of service you experienced from our staff. We are disappointed that you thought the bed was small in your room, each guest room in the Hotel is completely different and unique with different size beds and decor in rooms. When you come to visit again please let us know of your requirements and we will be happy to accommodate you.

Kind regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Kinnitty really is an authentic old world castle rich in history and atmosphere. However I did feel slightly let down on some aspects of our stay.
We stayed in the Brian Boru suite which is located in the attic section of the castle. Note the extremely squeaky stair case may disturb light sleepers. This section of the castle was freezing! There were gaps in the windows meaning the wind swirled around the corridors and there seemed to be a few leaks.
The room itself was great, spacious even with the unusual giant four poster bed, which is actually two double beds pushed together! Lovely stone walls, fireplace, leather armchairs, ornate wardrobe and nice bathroom. First impressions were all very impressive. Although on closer inspection we began to notice a few things.. Firstly there was no safe, mini bar or iron. There was quite a lot of dust and more worryingly, cobwebs. The back was missing off the remote control and it had been sellotaped together. There were electrical points hanging off the wall. There seemed to be leaks, when my partner touched parts of stone walls they disintegrated and fell all over the floor. Light bulbs weren't working and there were some curtain hooks missing. When we arrived the radiators weren't working and the room was like ice. This took two phone calls to be rectified. None of this particularly bothered us, we just felt a bit more attention should be paid to the little things.
We were told the room would be serviced between 4 and 5pm. We found this to be quite strange as this is the usual time people would be getting ready in their room for drinks and dinner etc. 5.15pm passed and still no sign of the cleaners so my partner actually had to go looking for them.
The food was quite good. We sampled the lunch, dinner and afternoon tea menu. Have to say the service was excellent throughout.The library bar was lovely to relax in and have a drink by the fire. We didn't get to try the Dungeon Bar as it didn't open until 10pm which seemed a bit late.
To the rear of the castle there are two vast scenic walking/hiking routes-one mountainous and for Kinnitty forest which was lovely. The standing stone circle was very interesting and a must see.
The wifi connection is non existent, even getting a phone signal was tough. Kinnitty town is a 5 minute drive away, the only thing worth seeing there is the creepy pyramid crypt. Birr town is a 20 minute drive away and is a nice little town, we visited Birr castle which was pretty enjoyable. This is also where the closed ATM machine is located.
Kinnitty Castle is what it is.Sure its old and a bit rough around the edges but that's part of its charm. Staying here is an experience and we quite enjoyed ours!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toyotacarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Toyotacarina
Many thanks for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay despite some of the issues you encountered; we take pride in the level of customer service and the high quality food that we offer here at Kinnitty Castle Hotel.
In reference to some of the points you made in relation to the cleanliness and condition of the room you stayed in, this is something that we have taken on board and these issues have been rectified.
We do not provide a mini bar service, but a safe is available on request per room as are ironing facilities. Unfortunately due to the type of building (thick stone walls) WIFI is only available in the public areas of the Castle, i.e. Library Bar, Reception and Drawing Room. The Castle’s location within the Slieve Bloom Mountains does not lend its self to mobile phone signal coverage.
Thank you for taking the time to review our services as it is only with guest’s comments and critique that we can improve on the standard of service we offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Kinnitty Castle Hotel in the future

Warmest regards
Cavan Dunne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had lunch on Mothers day and it was really super, We then went for the bar menu and that was really nice and quite reasonable. My Daughter choose to have her wedding and now that was really something else, with the function room on the lower ground floor and a fab garden adjacent "completely private " we had a super two nights there.

Room Tip: Ist floor up the rooms are super also the bath room Four poster beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Eliza S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your recent experience at the Castle. We are delighted that you enjoyed your daughters wedding and we do hope to welcome you back in the future with family and friends.

Kind regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We decided to treat ourselves to a castle break after Christmas and we were not disappointed with kinnity it's a real castle experience,bed room and bathroom were huge, food at breakfast and in the restaurant was top notch. Lovely walks out the back of the property and really friendly helpfull staff

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jft96ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Jft96ire,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on trip advisor we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Castle and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had our magical, fairy tale wedding here in October 2013. It is a stunning venue with excellent service and amazing food. From start to finish the 3 days the majority of our guest spent here were what they describe as 'the best holiday wedding they were ever at.' The staff did everything they could to make our special day one of the most memorable and happy days of our lives. I will always return and would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff from the bottom of my heart for such a wonderful and stress free experience. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: The Seret Suite is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review in relation to your wedding that took place last October. We are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed their time spent with us and will pass on your comments to all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Castle in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

had a prechristmas break. Unfortunatly the weather was terrible and confound us to the hotel but it was full of real character so we were able to soak up the atmosphere. The only down side was there was no lift to the top floor and there was no wi-fi. the staff went out of there way to accomodate us with our plain eating requirements

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celafarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Celfarm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment of your recent stay at the Castle. We are pleased that you experienced the full character of the Castle and all that it offers. Unfortunately due to the nature of the building we are unable to put a lift in the Castle, but rooms can be requested nearer to Reception and the Reception Team are happy to assist when required.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinnitty
11.5 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
265 reviews
8.7 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
17.1 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,816 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
24.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinnitty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Property: Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Address: Kinnitty, Kinnitty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kinnitty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinnitty Castle, is close to the picturesque village of Kinnitty, Co. Offaly set beautifully against a backdrop of the Slieve Bloom Mountains. The Castle has a long and turbulent history. Dating originally from 1209, Kinnitty was destroyed and rebuilt not once but twice and yet it retains character and oozes charm. Kinnity is in a great location only 90 minutes from Dublin and is a great stop off point for journeys west or southwards. It is an exceptional place for lovers of good food and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing