We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our guest are still saying it was the best wedding venue they were ever at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinnitty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had our magical, fairy tale wedding here in October 2013. It is a stunning venue with excellent service and amazing food. From start to finish the 3 days the majority of our guest spent here were what they describe as 'the best holiday wedding they were ever at.' The staff did everything they could to make our special day one of the most memorable and happy days of our lives. I will always return and would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff from the bottom of my heart for such a wonderful and stress free experience. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: The Seret Suite is stunning!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review in relation to your wedding that took place last October. We are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed their time spent with us and will pass on your comments to all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Castle in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Kinnitty Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 793 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

had a prechristmas break. Unfortunatly the weather was terrible and confound us to the hotel but it was full of real character so we were able to soak up the atmosphere. The only down side was there was no lift to the top floor and there was no wi-fi. the staff went out of there way to accomodate us with our plain eating requirements

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celafarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Celfarm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment of your recent stay at the Castle. We are pleased that you experienced the full character of the Castle and all that it offers. Unfortunately due to the nature of the building we are unable to put a lift in the Castle, but rooms can be requested nearer to Reception and the Reception Team are happy to assist when required.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here lately with my boyfriend having attended a wedding. The wedding was a great one and the food was fabulous. The staff were lovely and we had a great night BUT after that things went downhill swiftly. We were staying in the Cormac room. The biggest problem I had was there was a hole in the window which was stuffed with tissue. It was stormy outside and the noise through the window was so loud, kind of like a really loud shredder going on sporadically all night. It was so bad I called reception at about 4am and nobody answered. I called again at 5 because I wanted a member of staff to hear how loud it was but again nobody answered. I got no sleep that night and the following morning there was no hot water. Our room was €130 and that was the wedding rate. I was seriously tired and annoyed the following morning but the bride and groom were at reception so I didn't get an opportunity to tell the staff. Won't be going back here and lots of friends have asked me about it and I told them in a nutshell.....nice staff, nice food but completely sleepless nite and no hot water.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear DeeBrad,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Castle. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Wedding that you attended and that the food and staff met your expectations.

Please accept my apologies about the noise in your room, the weather has been extremely blustery in the last ten days and due to the nature of the building sounds do travel. Maintenance are looking at the the window and this will be rectified.

We do hope that you will reconsider and come and stay in the Castle in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

While we were staying in the local area we decided to go to Kinnitty Castle for some bar food one evening . The entrance thru the castle doors was magical with beautiful Christmas decorations & candles glowing. There were only two other customers in the bar area but there was a lovely cozy festive atmosphere with Christmas carols playing softly in the background. The service & staff were friendly & efficient but we did feel that the price of the bar food was very expensive for what we ate !!!!!. A nice place to visit but we won't be having bar food there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Procus,

Thank you for comments in relation to your visit to the Hotel, we are delighted that you got to experience the Hotel full of its Christmas Cheer. We are disappointed that you felt our Bar Food was to expensive but can assure you that these prices are competitive.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Kinnitty Castle looks like a castle but the staff make you feel like you're in your own home. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone has a pleasant word and a nice smile. The food is very good as well. The general feeling is of old world charm. But make no mistake this is an old buliding with many creaks, groans and drafts. It also reputedly has a ghost or two but we didn't meet them. I imagine they're pleasant and friendly in keeping with the rest of the place.
The castle has great grounds and some excellent walks in nearby forests.
And at weekends there's often a bit of Irish music in the Dungeon Bar

Room Tip: The rooms in the main Castle building have more character than those in the courtyard. If you can ri...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you experienced the charm and warmth that Kinnitty Castle Hotel offers its guests, we will pass on your feedback to all staff who will be delighted with your view.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

attended a wedding here a couple of weeks back and it was a fantastic day and night... food was amazing; atmosphere cozy and inviting and staff efficient and friendly. couldnt ask for more.. would love to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Fiona,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended and you got to experience all that Kinnitty Castle Hotel has to offer.

We do hope to welcome you to the Castle again in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had our wedding here in August, and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. All of our guests commented on the fantastic atmosphere, amazing food, but most of all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. A special mention must go to Cavan, Simon and Connor. What a great team. We had nothing to worry about and we enjoyed a fabulous day along with our family and friends. Anybody considering Kinnitty for their wedding should book it without hesitation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Liz H,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we are pleased that we could be part of your special day. Your comments will be passed onto all the staff as they take pride in the level of service and the attention to detail that they provide to each individual guest.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Castle again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinnitty
8.7 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
14.4 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
687 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
230 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,850 reviews
10.5 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinnitty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Address: Kinnitty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinnitty
Price Range: $235 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinnitty Castle, is close to the picturesque village of Kinnitty, Co. Offaly set beautifully against a backdrop of the Slieve Bloom Mountains. The Castle has a long and turbulent history. Dating originally from 1209, Kinnitty was destroyed and rebuilt not once but twice and yet it retains character and oozes charm. Kinnity is in a great location only 90 minutes from Dublin and is a great stop off point for journeys west or southwards. It is an exceptional place for lovers of good food and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing