We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
114
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red tree house short walk main beach mexico city happy hour stone cottage view of the ocean create an atmosphere cliff overlooking camaron dipping pool dirt path laid back private beach a wonderful stay spectacular views small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 114 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2018

Casa Sol rests on the peaceful cliffs with private direct beach access to the idyllic Playa Camarone. An easy walk to town down the rustic trail this haven is an ideal place to escape and enjoy the spectacular views, multiple pools and meet other interesting travelers from around the world during their popular evening "happy hour". The design is stunning with lush tropical plants and winding stone stairways leading to multiple cabanas. At night the atmosphere is like walking into a magical world with dramatic lighting, soft music playing and the sound of the waves crashing below. Service was excellent and attentive which also includes breakfast and an incredibly inexpensive lunch option. An honor bar makes grabbing drinks easy and simple. Overall cannot image a more thoughtful and perfect place to forget about the outside world and yet be a simple 5 minute walk down to all the action in Ziplolite.

Room tip: Stayed in the room "Playa Camarone" which is the closest to the beach
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChristianNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto d, General Manager at Casa Sol Zipolite, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2018

Greetings from Zipolite. Thanks for sharing your experience at Casa Sol. I hope you liked your room, Playa Camaron. As you know, that room was a bit of an afterthought. We planned to have a bodega below the ocean pool but when we saw the view from our storeroom we decided that it needed to be another guest room. Soon we will be adding more deck space and additional shade cover to better enjoy the fantastic view of the beach and the rocks out in the ocean. Had you been here today you could have watched the whales from your room.

Jorge continues to add to the landscaping and he appreciates that you mentioned his lush tropical plants.

saludos,

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2017

Our party of four recently completed a wonderful stay at Casa Sol. We were warmly welcomed by Jorge ,Craig, and Rodrigo , and were fortunate to be the first guests in the newly finished Stone Cottage. The property's setting is simply spectacular, and the Stone Cottage finishes are both elegant and comfortable. It also has an element of privacy as a standalone unit, and the vista from the private eternity pool is nothing short of mesmerizing. We can't say enough about the attentive hospitality extended by our hosts, and a return visit is a "given"......con muchas gracias, amigos, y hasta la proxima !

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jubiladoplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto d, General Manager at Casa Sol Zipolite, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2018

We really enjoyed your visit and it was for us a great kickoff for the new season. All summer during construction of the Stone Cottage we keep December 7th in mind, the day you were scheduled to arrive. Remarkably the paint had been dry for days when you got here.

Your are the kind of great guests that people mention in their reviews. Thank you for adding to the congenial environment of Casa Sol.

your good friends in Mexico,

Craig and Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

Full disclosure, I visited Casa Sol Zipolite but was not able to stay - I had tried to make reservations months in advance, but at the time the lodge was undergoing construction and did not re-open until a couple weeks before my visit, and after I had made alternate plans.

I have stayed at their Red Tree House in Mexico City many times - an amazing place - and it is clear that Craig and Jorge were able to recreate the welcoming atmosphere, warm touches, and beautiful environment of the Red Tree House in the magical setting of Playa Zipolite.

Even though I did not have a reservation, we were invited to stop in to visit, and we might have well been guests - the hospitality of Rodrigo was so welcoming and amazing. This is a really beautifully appointed property, up on a hill overlooking a small beach. Zipolite is not for everyone - it's a laid back, hippy vibe beach town, which is thankfully absent the resorts and development of many Mexico beach destinations - but Casa Sol Zipolite has taken the best of Playa Ziplotie, and made it even better.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto d, General Manager at Casa Sol Zipolite, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2018

It was great to see you when you stopped by. You are absolutely correct, we've set out to create the same welcoming atmosphere that people enjoy at The Red Tree House. This year more than ever we see that happening, guests meeting other friendly, interesting fellow guests and making friends.

You are right to mention that Zipolite is not for everyone, a point we make on our web site. There are many devoted fans but anyone looking for a polished resort experience would do better in Cancun. I like to say that Zipolite is "unspoiled".

saludos,

Craig and Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile

What a pleasure to spend 9 days at Zipolite's finest hotel. We felt immediately at home with Ernesto and staff and were amazed at the luxury and views, views, views! The rooms and grounds are kept immaculately clean each day and the continental breakfasts are a treat with freshly baked breads and fresh juice and coffee. It was our first trip to Zipolite and we have already planned next years' stay. We can't recommend Casa Sol highly enough.

Date of stay: March 2017
1  Thank kurtkurtesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

Ernesto, our host was amazing, made our stay so pleasant. It felt as we had known each other for ever. Mago and German, who both work there, so nice and friendly, and those smiles... They are always coming up with ways to pamper their guests. Mago with her guacamole and Ernesto with his Ginger Margarita, which we've decide to name Neto's Margarita. Casa Sol is such a beautiful place, the views, the rooms, so comfortable, the place is just WOW!!!! Thank you Casa Sol for making our Wedding Anniversary unforgettable.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cynthia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews