We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Casa Sol Zipolite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zipolite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Sol Zipolite
Ranked #2 of 15 Zipolite B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to travel to Zipolite for a laid-back vacation, and picked Casa Sol because of the great reviews. I was expecting a rustic and hands-off lodgings, what we found was a contemporary, pristine little piece of paradise.
We stayed in room #2, and found it clean and wonderfully decorated. The view was absolutely stunning, and our hosts, Joe and Martin were informative and gracious.
We borrowed the house bikes, snorkeling gear, and boogie boards - all for free - and had a great time exploring the town.
Like the other reviewers say, Casa Sol was a highlight of the trip. I can't imagine it going half as well without this great home base!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
65
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have you ever dreamed of a private, secluded spot overlooking the ocean, a hammock or two to relax in, where you can be natural, comfortable and secure? THIS is the place. Martin and Joe are such gracious yet unobtrusive hosts, from the welcoming letter and chocolates in your room, breakfast discretely left on you patio each morning, and suggestions for activities and nearby beach restaurants, they make your stay with them an amazing experience! There's a private beach directly below the casa where you can snorkel and enjoy the sun, or a more public beach, accessed via a dirt path, where a variety of small, inexpensive restaurants await you (try the seafood at Sal y Pimienta)

Room Tip: Room 1 has a glass wall overlooking your outdoor kitchen/patio with a view of the ocean beyond. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetEdmondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Part of me wants to write a bad review because this place and these guys are so great you will want to keep it a secret to yourselves… but that would be doing them a disservice and show my selfish desire to keep this place available whenever I want to go there.
I have done a fair bit of travel in my days ...but rarely have I found a place so accommodating all the while being reasonably priced. The West End may offer other small, unique, private accommodations. But you would be smart to book Casa Sol early.
Martin and Joe have the unique intuitive nature of knowing when you want to be left alone and when you might want company. They have created a warm and welcoming environment. Pack light, they seem to have thought of everything.
Buen Camino
Sincerely,
John and Erik
johngarcia@cox.net

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erik4john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at Casa Sol in April 2012. One year has passed and I am still reminiscing over how AMAZING it was - 100% the highlight of our holiday. Everything about it was perfect in every way. The place is clean, comfortable and picturesque. Joe and Martin are absolute legends. Zipolite was a super cool place and Casa Sol is the ideal place to stay - wouldn't have it any other way and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbox Island, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Casa Sol has to be one of the top notch destinations in the Zipolite/Pto. Angel corridor.Our two day stay there a week or so ago was one of excellent customer service,relaxing comfortable surroundings with an international array of guests. From the fresh squeezed orange juice/fresh date muffins to start your morning off,to the mid-day antics of the resident Rotweiller pups(Thelma & Louise), to the day-ending cool refreshing dip in the pool or just spending time in the upstairs lounge area you'll not be disappointed with your choice to spend some time here.This little piece of paradise is removed from the local activity of Zipolite Beach by a path that takes a wee bit of navigating but for the average light-footed folks it is not aproblem. The actual Zipolite Beach is a mixture of different folks and places to stay-----am sure there'e something for everyone there. Having said that,there doesn't appear to much infastructure there so staying at Casa Sol is really refreshing-it's clean,orderly and very accomodating. Would I revisit this establishment again? In a heartbeat....no questions asked!

Room Tip: room # 1-you'll see why when you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.F. (Ciudad de Mexico), México
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Jon and Martin have the priviledge of mixing the best of the Anglo-Saxon-Quebecois cultures with the best of Mexican culture: You get the privacy that an American or Canadian likes better with the warm, atentive Mexican care!!!!!!
The location can´t be better, the facilities can´t be better. I specially missed the dogs, Thelma and Louise!!!!!
Si eres mexicano, la pasaras de poca!!!! Lugar perfecto para gente que, como nosotros, un grupo mixto de gays y bugas, busca convivir preparando el desayuno o la cena con la vista del mar, oyendo música y platicando de la vida. Conozco la zona de Zipolite desde 1982!!! y creéme cuando te afirmo que es el mejor lugar de la zona.
Hey, guys, I lived in the States for a while and I can assure you that is the best deal you can get in Zipolite. The hosts are incredible nice, warm and yet let you at your own peace!
GREAT PLACE!!!!!!!!
Thanks a lot Martin and Jon
Best whises
Humberto Guerra

Room Tip: All rooms have incredible ocean view! However, there have only three rooms so book in advance!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Humberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

As a solo traveler, I am always a little worried about my accommodations prior to arrival. From the time I hit the gate, any reservations I had were eliminated. This place is outstanding! The attention to detail is apparent from the "welcome" letter placed in your room, the basket of fresh fruit, maps, chocolates, and anything else you might "need" or want. The rooms are clean and spacious and even come with kitchenettes in the unlikely event that you do not want to leave your room. The Zipolite beaches, as well as the neighboring towns are wonderful to explore. Joseph and Martin are excellent and gracious hosts who should be really proud of their establishment. Everything is top notch and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zipolite
0.5 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nude Zipolite
Hotel Nude Zipolite
#2 of 5 in Zipolite
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Loma Linda: Bungalows, Yoga and Feldenkrais
0.0 mi away
Heven
Heven
#1 of 18 in Zipolite
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sol Zipolite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sol Zipolite

Property: Casa Sol Zipolite
Address: Arcoiris 6 | Arroyo Tres, Zipolite 70904, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Zipolite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, tranquil, guesthouse with spacious, comfortable rooms; a lush natural setting; and dramatic ocean views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing