We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Zipolite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is so nice very clean, and organize, the owner is a Italian with 2 big lovely dogs.
the restaurant is very good quality of the food, drinks are very good and the location is ecxelent. was a great choise to stay at this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treko79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 314 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

My partner and I spent last week at El Alquimista as part of a men's yoga retreat. There were a bunch of us from Toronto and Montreal, and I think this was the hotel's first time catering to an on-site retreat. The entire week was fantastic.

Most of the rooms are actually free-standing thatched roof cabanas with bathrooms. Basic amenities but quite lovely. We had cabana #7, which is one of 2 cabanas that actually spill out right onto the beach. Nothing can compare to sleeping with just the screen bi-fold doors between you and the ocean. I was initially worried about the safety of being right on the beach before arriving, but it wasn't an issue, They do have a night security guard who patrols the property, and a number of dogs who bark pretty much at anyone moving around the beach after hours, getting the attention of the guard. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper, as the dogs do bark, and it woke me briefly most nights. It is Mexico, after all.

Restaurant is great. Beautifully located on the beach, with some very good dishes. It's one of the best in Zipolite, and cannot be beat for location and atmosphere.

The yoga studio was exceptionally well-stocked with all the props you'd expect. My studio back here in Toronto has lost some of its appeal, as it can't compare to the ocean views and welcome sea breezes of this room. They have 2 classes a day there for locals, ex-pats and hotel guests, while we used it as a group at other times of the day.

The beach is remarkably clean. El Alquimista is located at the far western end, tucked into a little cove. Believe what you read about the riptides: they're strong and need to be respected. Not great for kids but surfers seemed to love them. We played in the waves a lot, but you had to keep an eye on the rocks to the west and the ever-changing currents. They post green, yellow or red flags all along Zipolite each day - it was only ever red for the full week we were there.

All in all, a great spot for a week. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Cabanas 1 and 7 are right on the beach. The penthouse suite is much more plush with incredible view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were arriving from San Agustinillo, 10 minutes away. We had an idea of the hotel but OMG this was beautiful. We had the room 18 on the top of the hill. We could see a bit from the pool from the balcony. It was a really nice room with AC. The place was great but it come with a price. You don't get that luxe for free and we paid for it. There were plenty of hotels cheaper, but this was the most beautiful.

The design was fabulous, the bed super comfortable. The room was HUGE. And a nice balcony with chairs and hammock. The palappas were a bit too low we didn’t have a great view when having the apero on the terrace ( Wow that’s a big problem hahahah!) But from the room you do have a great view from the ocean. There is a fridge which is always needed to keep the wine and the beer cold.

The Hotel has a great restaurant that is absolutely magical during the night. The food was really good. The hotel is at the far right hand side of the Zipolite Beach. But there is few great restaurant not far from there ( Orales for the best breakfast (we almost had all ours there) and Providential for the best diner) I would say that the service was ok, I had to go at the bar to order sometimes because it was too long. When we had lunch all was perfect.

The pool is very welcome after a day on the beach or when coming back from diner. It is so hot in that country :O)

There is naturalists on the beach but I haven’t seen one coming at the restaurant without shorts. They were really respectful. I wasn't used to it and it didn't really bother me.

David, at the reception, was really helpful and so nice.

If you have less budget, there is small bungalow on the beach and they looked also really good.

Room Tip: The room 18 is on the hill and really nice with a King seize bed. The room 11 look wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a great stay in late February at el Alquimista, with many highlights - a few of those:
The town of Zipolite - while under construction while we visited, local restaurants, stores, and the folks who live there were all helpful and welcoming.
The beach - relatively small & private, with a beautiful view - a wonderful place to relax.
The restaurant - el Alquimista's menu had something for everyone, and meals were very good.
The staff - EVERYONE who we encountered, from cleaning folks to bar/restaurant, to management, went out of their way to make our stay outstanding.
Our room - clean, spacious, clean, beautiful view, clean, and comfortable. All you could ask for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkeyKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel El Alquimista for 5 nights in mid-Feb ($77). The hotel is located at the base and up the side of the rocky headland at the west end of Zipolite beach. It consists of a number of cabañas scattered among the palm trees on the beach, a beachfront restaurant and bar, several 2-story building housing the larger suites on the hill, and a yoga centre fronted by a small pool.

Our beachfront cabaña, with concrete walls and a thatched roof, was sparsely furnished and had a definite south seas vibe. It was fronted by a porch with 2 chairs, a hammock and a great beach view. You entered the cabaña through a set of bifold screen doors that could be folded back, opening almost the entire room to the beach. The bed was centred in the room, with a fixed backboard backed with shelving for clothes storage; a mosquito net roped down from the ceiling. End tables, a couple of shelves in the rear corners of the room, and a table and chair completed the furnishings. There were 2 small, round-topped windows; however, the cabaña seemed quite dark most of the time. In the evenings, mosquitoes were a problem at this end of the beach because of the lush vegetation and the weak winds (they are obstructed by the rock bluffs). This was exacerbated by the extremely poor workmanship on the cabaña's bifold screen doors that allowed mosquitoes unfettered access to the room. This made it impossible to relax in the room without dressing in long sleeves and pants or retreating to the mosquito net.

The bathroom at the back of the room was oval in shape and open in concept, separated from the rest of the cabaña by rounded three-quarter height walls. A nice hot water shower with tiled walls and a river rock floor took up half of the room. There was a tiny vanity and a small, shallow rectangular concrete sink that, while a nice style element, was almost impossible to use to wash dirty clothes.

The room was equipped with a ceiling fan and safe, and was supplied with 2 bottles of water/day (there was also a cooler by the bar for refills); no refrigerator of TV. Beach towels were available at reception, which also had a fairly large book exchange. Credit cards are accepted. The pool by the yoga centre was pleasant, surrounded by multi-coloured bougainvilleas, and had a bit of an ocean view. It had 8 very comfortable, large wooden loungers, and a policy of silence, no children, and no nudity (a nice break from the nudist beach scene).

The restaurant was by far the best in the area, and it charged accordingly - worth it for dinner, but breakfasts were available down the beach or in Zipolite village for about half the price. The tiny village, known as Roca Blanca, was a short walk away. It is located on a 3-4 block long street that drops down from the main highway in a “U”, just back from and paralleling the central-west end of the beach. It is packed with restaurants, mini marts, posadas, hotels and the occasional tourist store; at night, buskers provided entertainment. The food here tended to be a bit higher quality than at the beach restaurants.

The Alquimista's combination of positives (great restaurant, beautiful location, nice pool) and negatives (expensive, mosquito issues, overpriced breakfasts) make it difficult to rate. Ultimately, you need to evaluate the value delivered for the price paid. For the El Alquimista, the over-riding factor is the pool – in Zipolite, you pay a huge premium for a hotel with a pool. If you must have one, then the Alquimista is the place for you. If you don't, then there are attractive mid-range beachfront hotels with more comfortable rooms nearby for less than half the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Spent a week in this real paradise and I cannot wait to go back. From the minute you arrive, you are transported into another world. Time seems to have turned back decades from every other vacation spot we know. And we've always gravitated towards non-touristy places -- spent many years going to tulum. But this is tulum many, many years ago in some ways and also has a vibe tulum never had. You are not amongst yuppies on vacation here. You are amongst Mexicans living, vacationing and the unpretentious, lovely expats who also call it home. El Alquimista seems to know exactly what its visitors want and it delivers, again and again. Yes we wanted the laid back beach vibe but being on a short vacation from demanding jobs we needed a certain amount of comfort. The cabanas at Alquimista gave us just that. We watched the sunrise from our bed and the sunset from our terrace. Because yes, this is one of those beaches where you get both the sunrise and the sunset. The cabana's thatched roof with natural manila rope, the wood panels that you could open or close made you feel like you were in a tree house.... We took our showers with direct sun coming in from one of the two windows in the bathroom. Lounging in our cabana at night, in the hammock or lounge chair and watching the moon rise was magical. Every day the cabana was cleaned and toiletries, fresh towels and water renewed. We also had a small fridge which allowed us to have ice cold water in the mornings and store beers and cookies .....which came in handy late night ;) (as did the tons of movies available on the bedroom satellite tv, which, importantly, is beautifully concealed, not a central feature of the cabana) I took yoga every morning, getting up 5 minutes before class as the large yoga palapa was 3 skips away from the cabana. There are three classes a day at alquimista and the teachers are some of the best in the area. The place is just beautifully laid out - again very well thought out but unpretentious. Straight out of yoga you can take a dip in the infinity pool overlooking the beach. Plenty of beautiful beds to lounge on but the beach always beckons. Nothing hurts your eyes at alquimista. The paths are beautiful, lit up at night as is the restaurant and bar area...tiki torches and candle lit tables....it's the most inviting place on the beach. We spent days lounging on the couches at the front end of the restaurant closest to the beach. Simple but effective all white parasols kept us protected from the sun at midday. The service was impeccable- quick but never intrusive. Our morning waitress and Adriana in the afternoon were delightful. In fact you can feel that the entire team working there is happy to be. Great management style from Marcello on..... The food is great. Most morning I had the best fruit plate with toasted granola, yogurt and honey and the shakes and liquados...addictive. We had a couple more serious eats- the seared tuna and the rib eye. And they were both up to NYC standards! And the music.....best soundtrack for lazing on the beach.... The bar is beautiful, smartly laid out and the bartenders aced the coffees as well as the margaritas. We spent days hanging out at alquimista....steps from our cabana if we felt like rinsing off or taking a nap on the very comfortable queen size bed. If you're in zipolite, you're comfortable with nudity - you even like it. I've been places however where it can be off putting... Not here. First of all, not everyone on the beach is completely naked (most aren't), but many are. Yet not once during the week did I feel anything but joy and love at seeing fellow humans walking naked on the beach and swimming naturally in the ocean. And within the restaurant and the resort we would always cover up as everyone did. The perfect balance. And the ocean water is perfect and made for enjoying as nature intended. What a great feeling! Zipolite has one of the most stunning beaches I've ever seen - all sand, no rocks, and kept very clean - but the alquimista end takes the cake. The rock formations offer protection, privacy and an unparalleled vista, especially when the waves come crashing into the large heart shaped hole at the end of the bay. Anytime we needed anything Daniela or David where there to advise, assist or provide - and they always did it with a smile. Again it seemed that everyone working at Alquimista was really happy to be there. Only one con, which really is more about zipolite then alquimista. Only one con to mention - There is a bit of a street dog problem in zipol - too many untrained dogs and that can lead to barking sessions at night. The guard dog at alquimista got into barking in the middle of the night on a few nights. When we talked about it to David and Daniela they were very receptive and it seemed to help. We were also up high and the noise carried so I expect this is much less of an issue when one is in the beach cabanas where the sounds of the waves crashing is enough to cover up any other sounds..... Regardless, the staff at alquimista is aware and on it so do not let that deter you at all.

Room Tip: The cabanas up the hill offer unparalled views. The ones right on the beach are also beautiful so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halatsurmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This place is absolutely magical! I loved everything about it. Walking in, you are immediately absorbed by the mystical arrangement of discreet bungalows embedded in a jungle of palm trees and Bugambilias. The beach is idillic for both lounging and surfing. The staff feels like family and the food in the restaurant is fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlelilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zipolite
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nude Zipolite
Hotel Nude Zipolite
#2 of 6 in Zipolite
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 6 in Zipolite
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lo Cosmico
Lo Cosmico
#5 of 6 in Zipolite
36 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 7 in Puerto Angel
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Castillo Oasis
Posada Castillo Oasis
#4 of 6 in Zipolite
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Alquimista Yoga & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Alquimista Yoga & Spa

Address: Domicilio Conocido S/N | Fin de Playa, Zipolite 70904, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Zipolite
Price Range: $61 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Alquimista Yoga & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant in Zipolite, Mexico Located in the Oaxacan coast, on the Pacific, 5 minutes from Puerto Angel. Zipolite offers the ideal vacation for the single traveler. In the far north end of the beach, they are the restaurant and cabins The Alchemist. The restaurant has an excellent international food and breakfast, lunch and dinner under the stars in their prime location on the sea is served. The cabins are regarded as the best accommodation on the beach be located a few steps from the sea and finishes and top quality design. The pool is available to guests except for children under 15 years, as it is in the area of the spa and yoga center, making an environment of relaxation and tranquility is maintained. No alcoholic beverages are allowed in the pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your El Alquimista Yoga & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas El Alquimista Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing