We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Between Heaven and Earth !”
other travelers have booked this property
Porte Royale, the main entrance to the walled, medieval village of Entrevaux.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porte Royale, the main entrance to the walled, medieval village of Entrevaux.
Entrevaux nestled safely in the mountains as viewed from the walking path through the olive groves. Entrance to Maison Charvin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Porte Royale, the main entrance to the walled, medieval village of Entrevaux.
Entrevaux nestled safely in the mountains as viewed from the walking path through the olive groves.
Entrance to Maison Charvin
Our comfortable sitting/dining room.
Spacious bedroom on first floor has its own large sitting room.
Large, light-filled twin bedroom on the second floor with views over the ancient rooftops.
Our well-equipped kitchen with everything you need to cook up a storm using produce from the market
View from the dining room into the kitchen
Stairwell leading you upwards to the 4 floors above.
View from the top floor where we have a BBQ, fridge and outdoor setting where many an hour is spent.
Le Musée de Moto
Our grocery shop Chez Rizo has everything you need.
A typical street scene.
Main square inside the walls.
Restaurant L'Ambassade for great dining.
Entrevaux from the Citadel above.
The path through the olive groves.
Amazing situation of the Vauban fortifications of Entrevaux.
Along the walking track.
Entrevaux by the river Var
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Entrevaux, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim B
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Between Heaven and Earth !”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2012

Entrevaux is the ultimate experience for those wishing to savour the atmosphere of living in a medieval fortified town. We hiked to the citadel, wandered the narrow streets, and marveled at the stunning celestial ceiling under the dome of the Cathedrale Notre-Dame.
But the treat that can only be savoured by those staying at Maison Charvin is its fifth floor roof top balcony room, equipped with BBQ, wet bar and mini-fridge.
Ah the serenity ! Choose whatever libation you like, your favourite reading material - and you are between heaven and earth. Gazing down the valley, taking in the jagged mountain range, the surging river, the ramparts, and the blossoms floating as if snowflakes in the afternoon sun. Sounds from the cobbled streets below waft up occassionally to remind you of times past - and the present.
Truly a unique experience limited to a lucky few !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
althea b
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Historic, picturesque villa in stunning holoiday location”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2012

We spent a magic fortnight at Maison Charvin with 2 other couples. The accommodation was perfect for our group of 6, with each couple occupying a separate floor.
There is much to explore in Entrevaux itself and by train we discovered the neighbouring towns of Annot and Puget-Theniers, each provided a fascinating day's wandering and leisurely lunch. Annot on market day is especially not to be missed !
Maison Charvin has such a well equipped kitchen, and Entrevaux provides such a wide variety of locally sourced and reasonably priced produce that we found ourselves eating at home each evening, and enjoyed a mouth watering array of vegetables, meats, breads, cheeses and wine.
Maison Charvin was perfect for a group of 6 as it provided a private retreat area for each couple as well as the spacious first floor living/dining/kitchen which was well furnished for both group entertaining and comfortable relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Small intimate village made it easy to get to know the local shop keepers and feel part of the village
Liked least: A little isolated without a car
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VicBeache...
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tranquil, comfortable and very beautiful villa in an amazing town and location.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

This was the perfect place to spend some time in early summer in Haute Provence. We found the house very comfortable - a great combination of old and new. Living for a time in a stone villa that is centuries older than any building in Australia was a wonderful experience, and one our children still marvel over. The house is, typically for this walled medieval fortress town, surprisingly tall. It has plenty to offer in the way of bedrooms, bathrooms and living space. The climb to the tower up the spiral staircase from the elegant ground floor kitchen and living area through the bedroom levels is well worth it. The tower gives an unsurpassable view of the hills and vales of the Var valley to the south and east of Entrevaux, as well as to taking in the cathedral and terracotta roofs of the clustered houses of the town, and its ramparts and the river below. We had many of our meals up there. The tower is the perfect place to linger over the local produce and fresh bread and pastries from the boulangerie just outside the nearby town portcullis. The region has many attractions, but we recommend ensuring that you factor in some time for the town itself. Wander through the maze of walkways between the elegant stone houses inside the town walls, visit the cathedral and the park beneath the ramparts, go on a tour of the tunnels along the ramparts, climb to the Vauban fortress above the town, ramble on the hillsides of the valley, dine at one of the charming eateries in town. This is a wonderful place. It turned out to be the highlight of our trip.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin B
Queenscliff
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable History In Deep France.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2012

Maison Charvin had been bought by our eldest daughter and another couple in 2004, and we yearned to see it. My husband and I stayed there with our son, his wife and two young grandsons. We came up from Nice on the Train des Pignes on April 21 and left by the same means 6th May. Our first impression was of the wildness of the location: a rugged valley surrounded by mountains; a citadel on a mountain top, the town perched on a clifftop overlooking the river Var. The town consists of multi-storey buildings separated by walkways; cars cannot negotiate the maze of passages among the buildings.
I waited with the luggage while my husband found the house; there are frequent turnings and dead ends because the town was originally laid out so as to baffle invading forces.
The house consists of five levels above a (private) cellar. The fifth level is a sort of verandah once used to dry produce, now housing the washing lines and facilities including a barbecue enjoyed by many visitors on a balmy evening while taking in the impressive view. The first three levels are of two rooms each, the ground floor containing sitting room, kitchen and laundry; level two and three have spacious bedrooms each with sitting room, shower and toilet. Level four houses a single bedroom, and a double bedroom with its own small balcony.The levels are joined by a narrow staircase which I climbed many times from the laundry to the drying area at the top of the house.
While staying in Entrevaux we amused ourselves by walking to the high Citadel and exploring the mountain paths above the town, shopping - using our execrable French to bemuse the inhabitants - ; eating in the excellent local restaurants and picnicking in the extensive park with children's playground. We also made train trips to nearby towns and to the Train des Pignes terminus at Digne Les Bains.
In conclusion, we found this historical house comfortable and it coped well with six people of three generations. The town and environs were interesting from an historical point of view and the location was good for outdoor activities like bushwalking and climbing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic memories”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful week in Entrevaux at Maison Charvin with our daughter and son-in-law for a 'catch-up' whilst independently travelling overseas. Entrevaux is a delightful walled village surrounded by beautiful scenery and an experience not to be missed if you enjoy 'getting off the beaten track'. We travelled by train, the greatest challenge - finding the local train station in Nice to take us to Entrevaux. The 1 1/2 hour trip from Nice to Entrevaux is very picturesque and you can also stop at other villages on the way if you have the time. Visit the Citadel, eat alfresco at the local cafes, buy from the local grocers and cook in the well equipped old style kitchen; get fit going up and down the spiral stairs, sit on the covered balcony while it rains, play table tennis in the park, explore the river, count the number of cats in the narrow streets. Maison Charvin is an experience holiday - if you are after 5 star hotel luxury it's not for you but if you would like to spend time in an authentic French village it was magic in the middle of a hot Summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernA...
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous town house in one of France's most picturesque areas”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a fantastic time we had, loved every minute. The house was perfect and provided everything we needed. We especially enjoyed sitting on the roof terrace in the evening with some tasty local cheeses and a glass of wine. The rooms were all very clean and comfortable and I really don't have anything negative to report. There was plenty to do in the local area to keep everyone busy and the village also made a great base from which we could explore the rest of Haute Provence. I will definitely stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing