We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WE COULD NOT HAVE WISHED FOR BETTER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Maison de Julie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de Julie
Ranked #1 of 3 Entrevaux B&B and Inns
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“WE COULD NOT HAVE WISHED FOR BETTER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I had booked for 7 nights and as time was approaching, I was anxious about staying there for so long.

We stayed in “Julie’s room” from May 28th to June 3rd.

The room itself was spacious and decorated with taste, in a typical Provençal way.
The bedding was very good and everywhere was very clean.
The bathroom was a bit small, but adequate. Soap, shampoo and shower gel were provided.

We had a nice little balcony overlooking the garden, the henhouse, the fields and the mountains.

Adjacent to our bedroom was a big lounge, again well decorated.
We had some of our breakfasts there (when the weather was bad) and it is also where we sometimes spent a few hours in the afternoon. This room was also very pleasant, mainly because of the French windows all around.

Going via outside stairs, a kitchen was available to guests. This was a nice room, complete with fridge, microwave, hobs, sink, kettle, coffee machine and cupboards. There were plenty of plates, dishes, cutlery, cups, glasses, etc.

Weather permitting, Carole would serve us on the terrace with breakfast, which was plentiful, varied and healthy.
There was fresh bread, freshly baked pâtisseries, home-made jams, yogurts, fruit salad, orange juice, coffee or tea.
One morning, we even had the nice surprise to be presented with some “choux” (pastries) from the cake they had at one of their children’s communion. What a nice gesture it was!

As the lounge is contiguous to the owners’ habitation, at first I did not feel very comfortable about it, especially knowing they had two young teenage sons (their daughter is only there at weekends).
We soon realised our “fears” were unfounded.

For several days, we almost doubted they had two children. We never ever heard them, never saw them, let alone being disturbed!

In the morning, we would see Carole when she served us breakfast. She was never intrusive, had a great sense of humour and we had some really good laughs with her! She also gave us some good advice about the area. The only thing I reproached her with (tongue in cheek) is that one day she said that going up to the citadel would take us 20 minutes. We did go, but OMG! Not only was it very tiring, but it must have taken us just under one hour to get to the top!
Having said that, it was worth going. The view was magnificient!

We had a few chats with her husband, Christian. He was a very pleasant and interesting man too.

I do not want to forget the gorgeous dogs. The male Bernese mountain dog and the female Beauceron are absolutely lovely and so friendly! And, more to the point, so well behaved and obedient! Once I tried to entice the Beauceron in the kitchen. She would not have it because she knew she was not allowed in!

Just like for the children, this is all to the owners’ merit.

It is a place I would definitely recommend. Charming hosts, very pretty B&B, so peaceful and relaxing!

Room Tip: Each bedroom has a lounge. I believe "Julie's room" is better as far as the lounge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Orchid99GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind contribution ... and for all my family ( children and dogs ) !

All my friendship to you and your husband.
And see you soon.
Christian.

PS : I persist : the access to the Citadel, is made in 20-25 minutes normally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

A quiet spot out among small farms a few KM from Entreveaux. Rooms nicely redone from old farm buildings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DundeeVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Very nice advice for Carole's work ( decoration, cleanliness and service ).
Thank you very much !
Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We found this through TripAdvisor when looking for accommodation for Entrevaux. They're actually at the next stop when travelling from Nice by the Train des Pignes - La Plan, which is a discretionary / request stop.

Regardless, Carole and Christian will almost insist on giving you lifts to or from their Chambres d'Hote residence to and from Entrevaux, even waiting up late if you want an evening meal before returning. If you want to make your own way, avoid walking the stretc of road immediately after Entrevaux as it's a fast blind corner - better take the train to La Plan or, after 8pm ( the last train ), walk there along the railtracks.

Both Carole and Christian are hugely welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had the upper room, which was a lovely rustic double with a separate low-ceilinged mezzanine floor containing two more single beds ( great for kids ). There is a two-seater settee at the top of the enclosed external stairs, and one evening we just sat out there watching the sunset as the fireflies came to life.

We cannot compliment the room or our hosts enough. We fully intend to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UnCitoyen_DuMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thanks a lot !
We're aren't doing that for this kind of nice advice on the web ... but finally we're very happy if you loved Entrevaux ( and also our house ).
Looking forward to receiving you again.
Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Phantastic calm, beautyful, clean and cosy place. This little pension has two rooms, wich are furnished with old, traditional stuff, has a modern, nice and very clean bathroom.
Carole serves breakfast with self-made jam and bread. There is a terrasse with a phantastic view to the valley and the mountains.

Just beautyful!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank macfly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, January 9, 2011
A very kind opinion.
Thanks a lot !

We wish you a happy new year.
Carole and Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

We've now stayed here for two years in a row and had a fantastic time on both occasions. The rooms are spacious, super clean, comfortable and so quiet all you can hear are the crickets. Staying here makes us wonder why on earth everyone crowds to the beach. Lovely and varied walks, empty medieval towns, good food ... and to top it off hosts who are prepared to really put themselves out on your behalf. We travelled by train and they drove us into town (about 2 miles away) and picked us up with no bother at all. In short, if you're going to visit Entrevaux, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lando76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thanks a lot : you are very nice persons !
See you soon.
Carole and Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Due to a change in plans, it was a last minute decision to stay at La Maison de Julie, and we were delighted to find that they had a vacancy for one night. We were already in the midst of our trip in France, without easy access to a computer, but we saw on their website that the train stop at Plan Entrevaux would be nearest. Getting off at that stop was a somewhat surreal experience: there was NO road to follow! We finally found a path through the grass and a tunnel, leading up to a real road. Lugging our luggage (so THAT's why it's called "luggage"), we dragged ourselves up to the road, thinking, "This B&B had better be outstanding!" By asking nice people along the way, we finally made our way to La Maison de Julie - and, yes, it was outstanding enough to make up for all of our efforts to get there. (We only found out, once we were there, that if they had known we wouldn't have a car, they would have been glad to pick us up at the station in Entrevaux. So if you will be in France without a car, don't let that keep you from this wonderful B&B - just arrange in advance to be picked up at the station.)
Our room (which my husband describes as being like the luxury suite of a 5-star hotel) was immense and beautiful, with a balcony to go out onto, to view the glorious, surrounding mountains of Entrevaux; a separate, large sunroom, a fully equipped bathroom plus a second sink and dressing table in the room.
Before we had a chance to wonder how we would get to the village of Entrevaux, our hostess, Carole, offered to drive us. She both drove us there and arranged to meet us in the evening to drive us back to the B&B - and then once again drove us back to Entrevaux the next day, to catch our train.
The breakfast, on an outdoor table, in the midst of that wonderful view, was delightful, including a baguette, croissants, freshly baked cake, home-made preserves and butter, as well as orange juice and our hot drinks.
We are left feeling as though we had spent the night at the wonderful, old house of a very lucky and generous friend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Hello Annie,
we're very glad you enjoyed your stay in Entrevaux and we would be very pleased to see you again.
Carole and Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

This B and B is located a couple of kms out of Entrevaux in a beautiful rural setting. We did not have a car, so walked the distance - not really advisable as the road is busy. However our hosts had offered (by email) to pick us up from Entrevaux town. We were also given a lift back into town later in the evening to get dinner. Very welcoming hosts who went beyond the call of duty. Could speak a little English (better than our French). Our room was exquisite - spacious, clean, lovely personal touches to make it very homely/boutique. Modern bathroom attached. Swimming pool (shared by guests and host's family). Also had a kitchen for guests to share. Breakfast was laid out on an outdoor table overlooking the valley. Delicious!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2kiwitrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonJulie, Propriétaire at La Maison de Julie, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Carole and I are very touched by your compliment.

Best regards.
Christian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entrevaux
5.8 mi away
Hotel De l'Avenue
Hotel De l'Avenue
#1 of 1 in Annot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.6 mi away
Auberge Du Riou
Auberge Du Riou
#1 of 1 in Puget-Rostang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.7 mi away
LA Siberie
LA Siberie
#1 of 2 in Entrevaux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Guerite
La Guerite
#1 of 1 in Sausses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Alize
Hotel Alize
#1 of 1 in Puget Theniers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gite St Pierre
Gite St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Le Fugeret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Julie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Julie

Property: La Maison de Julie
Address: Place Sainte Marguerite | Le Plan, 04320 Entrevaux, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Entrevaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Entrevaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Build near the medieval city of Entrevaux during the 18th century, La Maison de Julie continues the local tradition of hospitality : with charming rooms as well as gourmet breakfasts, that reflect the scents and flavours of the Haute-Provence South Alps. We hope to see you very soon.Carole, Christian and the children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your La Maison de Julie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing