We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful ,clean ,comfortable and great surfing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rancho Coral

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esterillos Oeste
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rancho Coral
North Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful ,clean ,comfortable and great surfing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

Traveling can sometimes an adventure ,this is an adventure but only good . the place is
clean comfortable and a place to experience the real Costa Rica.It is in the middle of Jaco
and Manuel Antonio so it is great for day trips.English is spoken so it is easy to find things to do.Another great point is that they are animal friendly

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancyb4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north potomac
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

If your considering a surf trip with your bros or family, nothing compares to Hotel Rancho Coral. The waves are literally right outside the front door. This location is supreme!! Our typical day at Rancho Coral consisted of great surf, delicious food, and fantastic service.
We would wake up around 6am, look out the window to a insane view of peeling waves, and be in the water in moments. Its that close!! After the morning session, we would walk back to the cabana, boards in hand, to find a huge breakfast waiting for us. It's as if the staff could read our minds. There was an array of breakfast foods to dig into with incredible service.
It's only 9:30am now. Next, we would chill for 30 minutes or so and head to town or discover waterfalls in the rainforest to jump from. Life's good!! Time for lunch, Costa RIca
is known for it's seafood. We couldn't get enough.
1:00pm, we all have the fever to get back to surfing. The afternoon surf sessions were just as fun. The staff took us to different breaks too. Some were so isolated that the view was only the beach and palm trees for miles with an occasional fishing boat. The waves were all ours.
By 3:30pm we were spent, time to recover. We headed back to Rancho Coral for a power nap.
4:50pm, ahh...waking up for round three, more surfing until the sun was gone.
7:45pm..time for more food and whatever else you your into. As for me, I would hit the sac only to repeat the adventure for the next 7 days.
Any regrets, yes..I wish I never left Rancho Coral
Pura Vida bra !!
Brian Lewis

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briansgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed at Rancho Coral in December. I heard this place was a surf camp on a beautiful beach. But, when I arrived I was pleased to see it not only catered to surfers but, had a friendly atmosphere, great food and a beach that is great for taking long walks. The rooms were clean, and comfortable with nice kitchen facilities steps away from the ocean. It is not a high rise or full of buildings and I really felt at home. The Rancho was perfect for sitting around, talking, eating and computing. The WiFi was free and worked great. I am not a surfer but really enjoyed the white sand beach for walking, coral reefs for snorkeling, the nature and wildlife.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillDadmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

From the waves to the staff, Rancho Coral is one of the best spots to vacation in Costa Rica. The rooms are great and the food is fantastic. I went to surf and wife went to relax and she loved it too, beach is steps away from your room and the staff does everything to accommodate whatever you need. Been there twice and I can't wait to get back down there again. A+

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raygogsli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Came down with the wife and kids and did not know what to expect, this was our first time to Costa Rica so we did have a back up plan; but there was no need once we got there. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners who speak fluent English and Spanish. That made things so much easier.

Our rooms were spotless, way nice, comfortable with AC , and kitchen accommodations were outstanding. I went to surf and teach the kids how to as well. Rancho Coral had all of the surfing equipment not to mention they took us to the best surf breaks because of their local knowledge of all the breaks, swell direction, wind conditions etc. This was exactly what I was looking for on my trip; no guessing and help from the locals so I could maximize time in the water- they were far beyond great fulfilling this! The nightlife was a blast, their restaurant was always fun and when we wanted to venture out, they also told us where to go for everything; food, waterfall tours, canopy tours, wildlife and more...they have connections to so many activities it was hard to decide.

Breakfast after surf sessions were unreal and the coffee was to die for. They have the costa rica experience nailed. The wife and kids loved it and can’t stop talking about it. The kids had so much fun surfing they are keeping their grades high in school to ensure they get a return trip this summer! They are very close to Jaco which is great for shopping, nightlife, etc…

Can’t wait to go back, by far the best surf trip ever. I could type all day long, without a doubt Rancho Coral is the best Hotel and surf camp down there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler201100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Rancho Coral was fantastic. We stayed in one of the garden view rooms I thought the pictures on the website were great but they did not do it justice! It was just like the pictures only soooo much better. We were able so see macaws, butterflies, sloths, geckos, bats, toucans, vultures, iguanas and several friendly cats and dogs while having access to the internet the sunsets are magnificent the hospitality can't be beat, it is a family managed small hotel right on the beach Eva and her Family were great. We weren't sure exactly what we wanted to do in Costa Rica before we arrived and they were very helpful in orienting us on the various activities that the area has to offer. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthartavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Once you visit the Rancho once I guarantee you will return every chance you get... The rooms are awesome, the staff is very friendly and attentive to the guests needs. Wake up with some of Costa Ricas funnest waves literally at your front window. I recommend the Rancho Coral to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudywaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Oeste
0.2 mi away
La Dolce Vita
La Dolce Vita
#1 of 2 in Esterillos Oeste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.3 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 44 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.8 mi away
Delfin Beachfront Resort
Delfin Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Bejuco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Coral

Property: Hotel Rancho Coral
Address: Beachfront | 100 mts Este de Oficinas Acueductos y Alcantarillados (light blue building), Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Oeste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Esterillos Oeste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not a bed and breakfast. We are a Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing