We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a second trip!”

Los Almendros Restaurant Esterillos Oeste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: For over nine years Los Almendros Restaurant has earned an excellent reputation as a favorite dining-out spot for travelers and locals alike. We pride ourselves in always offering up incredibly fresh and tasty treats. Your taste buds will be delighted by the combination of flavors on your plate... Our fresh fish and chicken as well as vegetarian dishes are accompanied with green seasonal salads with homemade balsamic vinaigrette and seasonal fresh sauteed veggies as well as our famous Caribbean Rice and Beans which is cooked with homemade organic coconut milk. We are committed to food sustainability and pride ourselves in using fresh local ingredients in order to provide world fusion flavors. The daily catch is always a good choice and we have many vegetarian options as well. We have an excellent wine list as well as a cocktail bar and full bar menu offering unique and house-created and crafted cocktails. We also have a wide selection of local craft beer on tap and bottled. The atmosphere at Los Almendros is cozy and laid-back with ambient fairy lighting in an outdoor, covered setting. Call for reservations or just stop in. We guarantee you - whether you choose the fresh catch of the day, a vegetarian option, one of our Thai or Caribbean curries, Caribbean style stewed chicken, our famous Peanut or Jerk Sauces, a typical Costa Rican dish, or anything else on the menu - you will not be disappointed. We are located in the heart of Esterillos Oeste, three doors west of the soccer field on the road between Super Sol and the Soccer Field. We are open from 4 pm - 10 pm and are closed on Sundays. We accept all major credit cards as well as cash in US Dollars or local currency (Colones).
Hammond, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a second trip!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved it so much we made a second visit. They are closed on Sundays. Check out their specials and don't forget the desserts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 42Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    29
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
“Incredible :) !!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in Esterillos Oeste for a month last fall. We went to Los Alemendros a couple of times, and each time we were completely taken by the atmosphere and the food. The outside open concept made for a perfect night, the waiters and owner of the restaurant were so friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic! Nice blend of Caribbean and local. Their black bean soup is to die for, great sea food, and of course the classic Tico fave, rice n' beans!

Will definitely go back to Los Alemendros!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydneyerinbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estrelleros Oeste, Costa Rica
1 review
“Terrific and original food, great for vegetarians”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were staying close to this restaurant and the locals gave it great reviews so we went to try it out and kept going back to sample other dishes on the Menu. Tofu can regularly be substituted for meat in most dishes, the seasoning is savory and fresh and the service terrific. We highly recommend this unique restaurant.

Carol and Wayne

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolwayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great food! I had delicious Pad Thai and everyone else loved their food as well! Would highly recommend for anyone visiting Esterillos Oeste.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Que Rico! Food that is deliciously home spun with a fine dining finish and presentation!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Everytime I go to Costa Rica (at least once a year) I find myself dining at Los Almendros at least a couple of times during my visit. I'm sure I've experienced the entire menu at this point, with my all time favorite being the Snapper dish! Can you say dee-lish-us!
The service is great the ambiance is awesome and the prices are easy on the pocket book!
An added bonus is the little gift shop suppoorting local artisans! Nice touch!
A must for anyone looking for authentic cuisine and amazing flavor.

Helpful?
Thank Morena65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Almendros Restaurant Esterillos Oeste also viewed

Esterillos Este, Province of Puntarenas
Esterillos Este, Province of Puntarenas
 
Esterillos Este, Province of Puntarenas
Esterillos Este, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Los Almendros Restaurant Esterillos Oeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing