We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dinner in Esterillos. Our favorite spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Almendros Restaurant Esterillos Oeste

Los Almendros Restaurant Esterillos Oeste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, Caribbean, Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: For over eight years Los Almendros Restaurant has earned an excellent reputation as a favorite dining-out spot for travelers and locals alike. We pride ourselves in always offering up incredibly fresh and tasty treats. Your taste buds will be delighted by the combination of flavors on your plate... Our fresh fish and chicken as well as vegetarian dishes are accompanied with green seasonal salads with homemade balsamic vinaigrette and seasonal fresh sauteed veggies as well as our famous Rice and Beans which is cooked with homemade coconut milk. We are committed to food sustainability and pride ourselves in using fresh local ingredients in order to provide world fusion flavors. The daily catch is always a good choice and we have many vegetarian options as well. We have an excellent wine list as well as a cocktail bar and full bar menu offering delights such as fresh-homemade fruit infusions and tropical unique cocktails. The atmosphere at Los Almendros is cozy and laid-back with ambient fairy lighting in an outdoor, covered setting. Call for reservations or just stop in. We guarantee you - whether you choose the fresh catch of the day, a vegetarian option, one of our Thai or Caribbean curries, Caribbean style stewed chicken, our famous Peanut or Jerk Sauces, a typical Costa Rican dish, or anything else on the menu - you will not be disappointed. We are located in the heart of Esterillos Oeste, three doors west of the soccer field on the road between Super Sol and the Soccer Field. We are open from 4 pm - 10 pm and are closed on Sundays. We accept all major credit cards as well as cash in US Dollars or local currency (Colones).
Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Esterillos. Our favorite spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Consistently delicious. Reasonable prices. Friendly staff. Try the peanut chicken!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beaujm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    28
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and prices !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I have eaten at Los Almendros atleast 2 dozen times, and can honestly say
every meal was incredibly tasty! This is 5 star dining on an average joe's budget.
A must stop.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every week...Always a great meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I have to stop in the Los Almendros at least once a week for my fix of Pad Thai. Only place in Costa Rica that I have been able to get a good one. Karen, the owner, always make you feel welcome. My favorites are the ceviche, patacones, Pad Thai and Chicken and Peanut sauce. Dont forget the rice and bean and the brownie sundae for desert.

One tip...go before 7pm or after 8pm on the weekends because they are always full.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrashforCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice little beach town restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We visited this cute little restaurant during the week and because we like to go early (around 5:00) we were the only ones there. We all had seafood. The service was good--only complaint was that two people ordered yellow fin tuna steak (a special that night). They were asked how they wanted it cooked and both said medium--we all felt that it was too well done and a little dried out (maybe because it was such a thin cut of tuna).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karencarlet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the carribean rice yummmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This little bohemian style restaurant is wonderful. Karen the owner is always there to serve and make sure you are never disatified. I always get the carribean rice and patacones(sp) they are my favorite. If you are on the west coast make sure to check this little gem out.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slim64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Almendros Restaurant Esterillos Oeste also viewed

Esterillos Este, Province of Puntarenas
Esterillos Este, Province of Puntarenas
 
Esterillos Este, Province of Puntarenas
Esterillos Oeste, Province of Puntarenas
 
Esterillos Este, Province of Puntarenas
Esterillos Oeste, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Los Almendros Restaurant Esterillos Oeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing