We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and welcoming owners”

Running Bear Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paulding
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Running Bear Resort
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Running Bear Resort for five nights and had the best time ever! The place is clean, cozy and well-kept.

Its central location to many of the area’s great nature sites makes the resort the perfect base for people who like to do day trips but still want the luxury of a proper bed to sleep in and a roof over their head at night.

With wildlife in abundance around the resort, we had just about as many great moments sitting outside the cabin enjoying a meal as we did driving to one of the many nearby water falls or hiking trails.
We’ll be forever grateful to Linda for her kindness, help and advice – her knowledge of even quite remote sites provided us with some truly spectacular day trips and fond vacation memories.

If you plan on staying in the Ottawa National Forest area, Running Bear Resort is definitely the place to consider.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrBoggild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

i stayed there as part of my UP round trip, the cabins are are kind of clustered together so the UP North cabin experience is gone, but it was clean and reasonably priced and nicely located right in the middle of the fishing and exploring that i wanted to do so, i would gladly stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zombytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Arrived looked ok (cabins were pressure washed and not painted so looked non appealing). Arrived Friday was greeted for payment, Saturday no one around as we nor did any of the RV sites have picnic tables (as they advertised). Finally Saturday late afternoon found the owners and was told "we dont have tables for you's" I explained we had a gathering the next day so they said they would bring us one (maybe 1.5' wide x 2.5 ' long no benches looked like a kiddie table). Had a family member show up on Sunday (as was explained when we asked for the picnic table) and they put up a tent (as we rented the "site") and within 5 minutes the owners were down wanting another $15 (the rent for a "site") I questioned and got attitude and the woman down right lied. We were told we could not have camp fire due to fire hazard (understandable) then woman when collecting $15 (the cost of a "site") was there said we could burn in the pit as long as it was in our portable grill well thats what we did and the husband came down swearing (yes profanity) and yelling and called us liers and said his wife was never by us to tell us anything (apparently a stranger must have charged the $15) and was so baligerant and rude and then apologized for profanity (after being told..,real classy). As for the "level" ground they advertise there is not one level piece of ground on the property so why advertise falsely. There fire "rings" are a few "little" rocks in a circle no work into putting that together. We will NEVER be recommending this so called resort (nicer at a wayside) nor staying there again!! Completely rediculous and the impression given when asked for a simple picnic table was that cabins take presidence over rv sites....extremely poor hospitality and they should be embarrassed

Room Tip: Dont Stay Here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Have stayed multiple times at Running Bear. Clean, comfortable, great location. Perfect for the money. No its not a spa but a far cry from just camping for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katianna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

The prior reviewer is "spot on" with their review. The Running Bear is spotless and well maintained, and provides an excellent value in an out of the way location. Mike and Linda have owned the Running Bear for two years and have put a lot of work into it. Our cabin had all new carpentry, new furniture and carpet, great mattress, and new appliances in the kitchen. And it had satellite TV and high speed internet, which is a good thing in Paulding 'cause there ain't much else to do! We stayed 3 nights for a snowmobiling trip, the location is great with easy trail access. Mike drives the groomer so he knows the area and can help with trips to take. He is also good at getting a reluctant Polaris to start!
So often these small resorts are old and dumpy, or you have to spend a fortune to go to a place with a lot of things you don't need. The Running Bear is a perfect value property...clean, comfortable, friendly, great location, good amenities. We will return!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sailingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I rated this place on the value. This is not a ritzy spa. Its just a great deal. So for the money, it is 5 stars. It has “Vintage” cabins in the center of the UP Michigan between Watersmeet and Bruce Crossing, right up against the Ottawa National Forest. The owners have done a nice job of maintaining the property. The cabins are THE cleanest I have ever stayed in. All the furnishings are new and there is evidence that all the cabins have a fresh coat of paint, inside and out. For the price, it was a steal. We spent the week here with our dogs, hiking and sight seeing. Very comfortable and quiet to use as a home base. The owners helped us find great places to eat (the cabins have kitchens, but I didn’t want to cook every meal) and sights to see in the area. Some sights were not on any tourist map we had and were well worth the trip. We will be going back next year, maybe to try snowmobiling. We will also be telling our friends and family that enjoy hunting and fishing about this place. It’s in the perfect, central location for a ton of stuff.
http://runningbearresort.com

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmandaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Running Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Running Bear Resort

Address: 4593 Old US Highway 45, Paulding, MI 49912-9343
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paulding
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Paulding
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing