We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house”
other travelers have booked this property
Front elevation & driveway with parking for 6 + cars
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front elevation & driveway with parking for 6 + cars
Patio doors opening onto terrace and garden  sitting room open plan into kitchen & doors leading into garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front elevation & driveway with parking for 6 + cars
Patio doors opening onto terrace and garden
sitting room open plan into kitchen & doors leading into garden
Another view of family room with comfortable seating &  double doors into garden
view from 2nd sitting room overlooking driveway
2nd sitting room, open fireplace TV and doors to patio and walkway through to 2nd staircase
another view of sitting room
hallway from kitchen through to sitting room and 2nd staircase
kitchen with ample utensils and all you will need for catering for 12 + Dishwasher and 2 fridges
view over garden from kitchen window
2 door AGA  There is an electric cooker and ceramic hob on the opposite side.
large Utility with ample worktops,  Large fridge, microwave,washing & drying machines . cloakroom
large dining room. Ample seating for 12+ Door leading to front garden.
Dining room. Perfect for all meals. Place mats or plastic tablecloth for less formal family meals.
Main bedroom with walkway to bathroom  Luxury king sized bed.  White co cotton sheets, down duvet
Another view of main bedroom.  overlooking the garden
main bedroom
bathroom 1  off main bedroom with separate shower cubicle
Bath & hand towels provided
twin bedroom overlooking front garden
another view of the twin room decorated in light colours.
en suite bathroom with shower over bath
bathroom looking through to the twin bedroom
twin downstairs bedroom. Can be jointed to make king bed.
another view of downstairs bedroom.  Ideal for children or those not wishing to use the stairs.
double bedroom with luxury king sized bed. White Co. bed linen and down duvet
another view of bedroom next to family bathroom
twin bedroom (can be king)
Views over the garden. White Co cotton sheets & luxury beds
small cosy double bedroom. Very comfortable double bed & White Co Duvet .
Family bathroom with power shower over bath
small terrace next to back door in the front garden. Perfect for capturing the evening sun
Flower bed. Full of colour in the summer months.
Patio approached by both the sitting room and family room doors. Large space perfect for BBQs
another seating area
patio (outside sitting room) seating for 12
view of the garden from the paddock where    Lots of wild life & deer can be seen
West Wittering beach 5 miles away or a 45 mins walk from  the house
The marina at the end of the lane
me fishing? never
the harbour estuary with lots of activity
Goodwood  known for the annual Revival Meetings and Festival of Speed
Horse racing at Goodwood & Fontwell
Our local eatery about 10 mins walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Birdham, Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was a truly beautiful house. The pictures do not do it justice. The only negative is that we did not stay long enough.
The house was big enough for 13 visitors. Garden is well kept and secure so kids could play outside and we did not have to worry. The weather was lovely so when sitting in the main living room the sun came through the window and it was just an amazing view of the back garden. Ample parking and very comfortable beds.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable house in a perfect location”
Reviewed November 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kinderhook for a 60th birthday celebration. There were 9 of us altogether. The house was clean, comfortable well-equiped and with a very socialable layout, ideal for large groups.

Excellent location, very quiet and just a few minutes walk to the marina for breakfast or coffee at The Boat House cafe. Excellent walking in the area right from the door.

The owners recommended a chef for a special birthday meal, who turned out to be the next door neighbour Vicky. She produced a fabulous 4 course meal for us including 2 gluten-free and 1 vegetarian. We would thoroughly recommend her to anyone staying at Kinderhook for a celebration or family get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the master bedroom suite.
Liked least: Central heating not very controllable and was either too hot or cold
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara L
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kinderhook for a 30th birthday celebration and had an amazing time. The house was in an ideal location, we enjoyed a run along the Marina on the Saturday morning and walked along West Witterings sea front before lunch. The house was well equipped for throwing a murder mystery dinner party in the evening. The AGA was great and the kitchen had a very sociable feel. We would definitely look to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and size of the house
Liked least: There were lots of blue bottle flies inside the house
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steph2520...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent house and location, lovely and spacious, would thoroughly recommend to large groups or two families sharing”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We travelled as a group of 7 girls. House was clean and spacious, ideal for large groups of friends or two families sharing. Kitchen was excellent – fully equipped with everything we needed. Beautiful garden – lovely to sit outside and eat dinner together. Owners were very helpful and always on hand to answer any queries.

Excellent location – just a few minutes’ walk to the harbour (lovely sunsets across the water). Excellent for walkers and cyclists to explore the area around Chichester. Only about 10-15 minute drive into Chichester city centre – would recommend a car. Easy location for day trips to Portsmouth, Arundel, Wittering beaches ect.

We would thoroughly recommend and look forward to visiting again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views, property layout and space
Liked least: Some furniture/carpets would not be suitable for children or pets
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hetinkent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location, beautiful house, superb break”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this house for myself and my friends for a much needed break, and we were not disappointed when we arrived to see such a great house in a beautiful location.
The house is well equipped with everything you could need, and the two large cosy rooms for entertaining are perfect. The kitchen, which has a wonderful AGA acts as a 'hub' and is a central location which allows whomever is cooking to still be in on the action.
The bedrooms are clean and comfortable, in particular the impressive master bedroom which is huge, along with an equally large ensuite bathroom. All rooms boast impressive views, especially those that over look the pretty and well maintained garden. This was a great treasure and my friends and I were able to enjoy outside dining with plenty of tables to accommodate 10 people very comfortably.
The location of Birdham is a beautiful tranquil village within minutes from a pretty Marina, and local amenities. Birdham is certainly a place that would suit walkers, as it is such an attractive village with impressive views.
The owner, John was very friendly and helpful on arrival and was there to give us a tour and answer any questions.
This is a charming home, and a wonderful location. We had a great break with relaxation, food, and fun and would definitely recommend Kinderhook to anyone- we could not have asked for more :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, kitchen, living rooms
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire...
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family gathering”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have stayed at a few large houses for our family gathering and this is another favourite. We were welcomed by John the owner, who was very informative and gave us a good tour round. The house is a little unusual as the 1st floor is in two separate halves, but we soon sorted ourselves out, and it wasn' t a problem. The house was very clean and well equipped. It is situated in a quiet lane, and we had a pleasant walk to the local marina. The children loved the cows at the bottom of the garden, and we had plenty of fun and games in the garden too. To us it was a perfect place to meet up and hopefully we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the gas aga which was permanently left on. ( there is also an electric cooker)
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing