We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ladies who lunch.”
Review of Russells Cafe

Russells Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Birdham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ladies who lunch.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very good food , go every week with friends, never disapointed. Good value, Good service. Quite a busy place but lots of room, good menu with a specials board every day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    31
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Looked ok. No Chips, or much of anything not cabbage based”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The cafe is obviously set up for the entertainment of those of an advanced chronology. A combination of the smell of boiled cabbage and lavender (maybe from the patrons?) met us but I was hungry and the menu looked good value and tasty. All I really wanted was something with chips but, alas it was not to be. They'd run out of chips or anything potato based. Harvester beckoned, Harvester won, The "Restaurant" at Russels lost.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Came for lunch with family. Great food, great service! However run out of quiche which is suppose to be amazing! Cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ERees92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Restaurant at Russels.”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very good food and value. We both had the Sunday roast and enjoyed it. Helpful and polite waiting staff. Great furniture in the shop too and again very helpful staff. Everything was clean in the loo and for once I wasn't afraid to change my baby in a public changing station. We will return again in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank avjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very consistent”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We often use the restaurant for breakfast. The food is always to high standard, and the service is first class very friendly and prompt. When eating lunch that has also been to the same standard. Would recommend the homemade soups. I am not a fan of the garden centre, I find things constantly being changed (not for the better) and it appears they have a lot of wood stored and are trying there hardest to use it all up?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russells Cafe also viewed

Bracklesham Bay, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Russells Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing