We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hostellerie de la baie
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a very very small town in a beautiful setting. The hotel is directly on a bay, although at low tide you couldn't ever see the water. It's was the strangest and most beautiful place on our trip. We were greeted on arrival and since our room wasn't yet finished we were treated to a drink in their garden area.

The room is very, very basic. I was glad I had my own hair dryer, this was the only hotel of many we stayed at in France that didn't provide one in the bathroom. Sadly my husband and I speak only the very basic French so we struggled communicating, but that is not the fault of the hotel. Whenever possible they asked the cook to come out and speak with us. But if you're going to this hotel be aware there is less English spoken here. It's possible there would be a hair dryer to borrow. Also the bathtub/shower wand was not great. If we stayed more than one night we would have needed help. We were in room #6. We also needed more than one extra pillow due to the sparse bed linens.

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was magnificent. I am not sure if there is another place for dinner in town and since we were on bicycles we didn't have any other option anyway. I have a fantasy that the young man who was preparing food was working in this remote place on his way up in the culinary world and we'd see him in the best restaurants on our next trip. While almost every morsel of food we ate in France was delicious and special, this was the best and most clearly using formal techniques.

Our only problem, due to our lack of French, was understand when the restaurant was open and when breakfast would be served. If there is any interest by the hotel to have an international audience, I would recommend they create a sheet of instructions in English for the room with basic information. We were up and ready for breakfast a few minutes before 8, which was actually late for us on this trip. My husband went down to investigate and the door to the restaurant was locked. It was finally opened at 8:30.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. The language barrier was the cause of the "problems" and the man running the hotel (owner?) was enthusiastic in trying to help us. The breakfast was lovely and I felt terrible that the morning started out rocky. I wouldn't hesitate to visit again, this time after learning more French.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodLovrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have family connections in Regneville but needed somewhere to spend 5 nights for a family event and L'Hostellerie had to be the place although all that was going on meant that we only Bed & Breakfasted there. We asked for a Sea View en suite and were given Room 9 at the top of the Building looking directly over the Maree and the Sienne River Estuary. Very comfortable room and en suite Shower Room. The room was well looked after by the staff always managing to get in and "do" the Room while we breakfasted. Bedding changed after 3 nights and towels changed whenever required. Breakfast we think conducted by mien host Didier was a pleasure everyday - Toasted Brioche and other breads, fresh Croissants and Pain au Raisins/du chocolat and a really good cup of Black Coffee - heaven afer days of apparently never ending family celebratory meals - enjoyable but energy consuming. The restaurant LOOKED good but as recorded above we did not have the opportunity to try it.
In summary nice local hotel, comfortable and excellent value - will go there again and trty the Restaurant next time perhaps - Regneville is a very quiet nice place.

Room Tip: Ideally get someone local to go in and CONFIRM what you need!!!!! While e mails do get responded to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwetherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank bud1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre Prestige au 2ème étage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lefilleurghislaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shortygeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galoue2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: évitez l'endroit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank denis v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Hostellerie de la baie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hostellerie de la baie

Address: 4 rue du Port, 50590 Regneville-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Regneville-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Regneville-sur-Mer
Price Range: $70 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Hostellerie de la baie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing