We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it is a great place, but...”
Review of Beleza da Serra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beleza da Serra
Ranked #9 of 21 Geres B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This has been my most complicated review so far, as it is made up of mixed feelings. 1st of all, I could have easily rated my entire stay with 5 stars. BUT this would not be directly linked to my hotel, but rather to the whole surroundings / landscape, and friendliness of the hotel staff. However, if we««one would like the owners to invest in this hotel (and I most certainly would), then one would have to try to separate the surroundings from the actual hotel / B&B. The hotel itself is a typical "Gerês" mansion, made up of around 12 rooms. Some of these rooms face the lake (front of the house), others face the mountains (don't expect a whole lot of view from these ones, 'though, as the mountaines are about 5 feet away from your window, and there's nothing to see really, apart from tree branches). The rooms with lake.view are smaller than the other ones, but they have a nice balcony. The bathrooms is really small, and most of the times the smell in the bathroom was not nice (a lot of humidity mixed with poor airflow makes for a bad smell), and this smell sometimes would "leak" into the entire room. The furniture is old, but nevertheless it is in tune with the hotel spirit. If the bathroom was nicer and "better smelling", the room could have a 4 star rating. Rooms are NOT well isolated soundwise, and we could hear people talking in the room next to us as if they were IN OUR room, as well as people in the breakfast room / restaurant. Breakfast was really poor. You could only have coffe + milk, orange juice (the "concentrated" kind, not fresh), some fresh juice which I could not identify from which fruit it came from, 2 kinds of cereals, bread, cheese and ham. There were 4 kinds of "jam" also, but I am not into those. The local bread was very good, nontheless. Expresso coffe was only available as a side order (0,70 EUR per expresso). Now for the good part. The hotel IS situated in a magnificent site. The lake is right across the road, and you can rent canoes or small boats in the restaurant next to the hotel. Also, staff was REALLY friendly and helpfull. The restaurant is really good, but a bit pricey (actually, I can say that I could not find ONE bad restaurant in the neighbourhood, and most were less expensive - but still, the food in the hotel's restaurant was very good). Take the time to read the hotel's "manual". It is well built, with sugestions of nearby places to visit, and with excellent tips. They offer some discounts too, so make sure you read it.
Overall, once again, I COULD have rated this hotel at a higher rate, BUT, the turn-off's were, for my taste, severe turn-off's. Hopefully, they will take care of those problems in the nearby future.

Room Tip: Although the mountain-view rooms are bigger, I still prefer the lake-view rooms. If you go with nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergioNamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We loved this place so much, we prolonged our stay and still regretted having to leave this cosy hotel and the lovely environment. The owners are super-friendly and very helpful - do get some tipps from them on what to do in the area! It helps that their English is perfect. We would have for sure missed lovely cascades, hot rivers, and walks. We are seriously considering now coming back for a week or 10 days during another season.
The room was spotlessly clean, simple but comfortable and everything was in working order. A major plus is the big breakfast buffet where everyone will find something to their taste. The food served in the restaurant ranks with the best served in the area - and considering that Geres is a magnet for (mainly Portugese) holidaymakers, the prices were not high at all. Local families come here for their Sunday lunch, too. For two people, including coffees, dessert, water, vinho verde & drinks like beer, portwine and whiskey, we usually payed around 30-35 Euro a night, depending on how long we stayed after dinner (managed 2 o'clock in the morning one night). The main road right in front of the hotel is busy on weekends - but as soon as it get dark, there is hardly any traffic anymore. At nighttime, it was quiet.
If you are young travellers, however, I would NOT recommend this accomodation unless you are a couple not interested in partying. Try finding accomodating in Rio Caldo (watersports including banana boating, tubing, water skiing etc.) which has a few bars or in Geres which has at least one nightclub.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have room 109 also known as "the big room" - unless 3 people have booked it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyMaryMontagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were so impressed by our stay at this hotel.

Great accommodation and the most friendly and efficient people looked after us. It was cosy and spotlessly clean. The breakfast included was excellent. We had such a good evening meal there, and a really nice lunch.

Fantastic value for money and you really wouldn't need to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the building and that was very nice. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Beleza offers good, simple rooms, extremely clean, small but with a full bathroom and a nice balcony overlooking the lovely lake. As it was a special weekend while we were there, it was a bit noisy through the day (the main/only road runs in front of the property) but it was quite good at night. The restaurant on the premises was quite good, although not very cheap considering Portugals prices. The breakfast was very good and quite complete for Portugal, where it seems to be quite a simple affair. Overall, a great place to stay and enjoy this lovely area. Staff (owners) speak English as they used to live in London.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This place, in front of the lake is a 3 day geteway that anyone visiting portugal must do. The location, the food and the whole experience is out of this world. North of portugal is a beautiful place and especially the area of Geres. The owners are the best people and the experience of dinner with a bottle of Vinho Verde is unforgettable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lela#1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

This B&B is ideally located by the lakes near Geres.

The staff spoke English and their service was second to none.

Extremely clean & well maintained.

I'd recommend this place to everyone!

[-]

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SarahdaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: os quartos com sacada são imperdíveis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geres hotels
2.7 mi away
Moderna do Geres Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#3 of 3 in Geres
69 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Vale de Azereiros Apartamentos
2.7 mi away
Adelaide Hotel
Adelaide Hotel
#2 of 21 in Geres
57 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Carvalho Araujo
Hotel Carvalho Araujo
#5 of 21 in Geres
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beleza da Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beleza da Serra

Address: Lugar do Bairro no 25 | Vilar da Veiga, Geres 4845-065, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Geres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Geres
Hotel Class:2 star — Beleza da Serra 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beleza da Serra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing