We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended for wedding stay for out of town guests ...”
Review of Sherkston Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sherkston Shores
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We rented a three bedroom "standard" vacation home from sherkston to attend our son's wedding, which was held at the resort. On confirming the 7 day stay reservation (4 months prior to arrival) we advised that our group would be comprised of 6 adults and one child (my husband and I, our son's three siblings, sister in law and grandchild) all of whom live out of Province. Since Sherkston offered a wedding package (discount), our expectations were that we would be located near either the ceremony site on Elco Beach or near the banquet hall located on the Quarry Beach. Our initial impression on arrival was disappointment. The location was in Evergreen, as far away from either wedding location as possible, on a street that looked like an army barracks. The skirting was missing on our home - making the site look unkempt - an embarrasment for welcoming other out of town wedding guests, including the groomsmen and our son, the groom, who used our "home" as their gathering place on the day of the wedding. The master bedroom had a double bed (even though the description said queen), the second bedroom had a small double and a small single bunk and the third bedroom had two single bunks ... all these beds would have been suitable for children, but were very cramped for adults. The "living" space was large enough to fit a small couch - nothing else. Overall, the unit was clean, however, there were no linens for any of the beds - the online "what to bring list" provided with our confirmation only indicated that we needed to supply linens for "queen" bed so we hadn't brought any more (which would have been difficult to bring anyways, due to flight luggage limitations). There was one pillow and one light cover blanket provided per bed - one was dirty (grass and sand) and unusable. Linens were supplied for the beds once request was made at customer service, however other service requests were ignored - screen for patio door was missing and main door had to be slammed multiple times before it would close. Request to customer service to change location to be nearer the wedding was ignored. Wedding coordinator admitted that home rentals and weddings are two different departments. It is obvious they don't even try to fix issues that overlap. Overall impression of customer service is that they just don't care. Going out of their way to accommodate guests who are not owners is not their priority. We were in the Niagara region for a wedding and were not interested in the pools or other activites. Whole point of entire family staying at Sherkston for wedding was to be near wedding venues to avoid drinking and driving - but we needed to drive due to distance. Glad our out of town wedding guests decided to stay at area hotels rather than at Sherkston. Please note, I have never before posted a negative travel review - this is my first time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have been spending our Victoria Day long weekends in Sherkston for the last 4 years. We thoroughly enjoy it. Great community, great fun for kids, awesome water park area, playdium, beaches, trails. Relaxing and safe community.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannouse24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Excellent weekend of fun for all, accomodations are a wee bit tight ,but we were not there to stay indoors we were there for the activities.. Excellent programs for kids to enjoy, short driving distance to Buffalo and other near by attractions... Bar on site has great pub food and the people in the other cottages were very frendly and un as well.. I recomend this as a quick and easy getaway .. The staff are very friendly and very helpful... golf cart rentals on site to tour the huge property ,over 5000 trailer homes on site and a uge camp ground *****

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiumes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

this was year number 5 for me going to sherkston shores. for the past 4 years i stayed in evergreen village and it was very good the few problems we had were flies everywhere but they were takn care of after a while and the ac was frozen for a little bit we had fun going to sherkston shores i reccommed sherkston to people looking for a fun family getaway or to go with your friends and havee a good time

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tHIS_gUY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Let me just preface this by saying that I have never felt the need to write a negative review before...until now. We are just driving home from our vacation at Sherkston. We paid over 1200 dollars for a weekend in a 3 bedroom home and it was filthy and so small. We had booked a "standard" unit and trust me, the pictures they show online are not anything like the units. Our living area hardly fit a small couch in it. The beds are not queen sized even though they say they are. We had 2 very small double beds and then 3 even smaller "twins." Our home was back in Evergreen Village. It looked like an army barracks. Very bare, boring and unkept. The pool area and splash pad were decent, but the waterslides and the pools there were in desperate need of paint and repair. And to top it off, despite the amount we had already paid, they charge for every little extra activity. I would definitely not return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kellyabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have been taking the family here for the last 15 years. From the long sandy lake beach to the quary men made lake with the pools and the activity center all keep the kids (now teens) busy.
We use tents but trailers motor homes and cottages are a big thing as well.
Night life & weekend fireworks shows are the cherry on top.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at a 2 br deluxe on the beach. We loved the views and it was quiet and reasonably priced because it was right before peak season. Trailer was brand new, and loved the screen porch. If it did not have the screen porch it would definatly be cramped if you have kids. You need a screened area because the sand flies are a little crazy. They don't bite, but they sure are annoying. Instead of renting a golf cart from birdie try to find a "local owner". We rented on from someone we befriended on the beach. We saved a total of $150 this way. Pool and new splash pad were nice. If you want to swim in the lake.....don't there is high levels of bacteria.....opt for the spring fed quarry which has a nice beach. Loved the location. Went to niagara falls. Port colbourne about 10 minutes away is cute. No frills grocery store is right on Rt. 3 and is reasonably priced. There is a beer store and wine and spirits there to. If you are coming from the states, bring as much beer and wine as you can. It is extreemly expensive in Canada.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joy4unsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sherkston Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherkston Shores

Address: 490 Empire Road, Sherkston, Port Colborne, Ontario L0S 1R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Colborne > Sherkston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sherkston
Price Range: $448 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherkston Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sherkston Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherkston Shores Hotel Sherkston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing