We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Manse Chatton
Ranked #1 of 4 Chatton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Mary and Ian make you feel special and cannot do enough to make your stay really comfortable. House is beautiful. Our room called the college room was warm and elegant with good quality linens and towels. Food is great,beautifully cooked. Highly commend this up market B and B. Would use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBoysBreakfast, Owner at The Old Manse Chatton, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed the food and surroundings, but you didn't mention sitting by the cosy log fire watching the rugby on the TV in the Morning Room (great game) - but that was your husband I recall - so many different ways to relax in Chatton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
117
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

A wonderful stay throughout. A warm drink and snack was presented on arrival, which went down very well!

We booked the Harthope room which resonated a wonderful feel of rustic luxury. Small touches like the strategically placed sweet bowls and snacks within the minibar did not go unnoticed.

For breakfast, I challenge anyone to not find the right meal for any morning - the choice is diverse and of extremely high quality. I even recall an entirely gluten-free selection of products!

We had a wonderful weekend break and, though I like to always stay in different places when I travel, have promised myself to return!

Thank you Ian & Mary for all your efforts - it was fully appreciated!

Room Tip: The website has accurate descriptions of the rooms and associated views - our room had a four-poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheikh_Well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBoysBreakfast, Owner at The Old Manse Chatton, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for your review Sheikh Well (love that handle). We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that Chatton is a convenient half way point for you to meet up - we look forward to seeing you again.
We try hard to have a diverse breakfast menu that suits the majority of folks whilst they stay here - but I'm not sure I would throw down the gauntlet to defy anyone not to find something they like - I'm currently working on a kedgeree recipe at the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Old Manse for 2 nights starting on 31st December 2013. On arrival we were warmly greeted by our host Ian who immediately produced tea and home made Bannock, what a welcome!! Ian's wife Mary arrived a little later and after a good long chat we were made to feel right at home. We stayed in the College room, lovely and comfortable with every amenity you could ask for, even a fridge for cold drinks. The breakfast menu was extensive with lots of locally produced products and beautifully cooked by Ian. A wonderful, relaxed stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms were terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winetaster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBoysBreakfast, Manager at The Old Manse Chatton, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
It was a pleasure seeing in the New Year altogether. I hope this was the start of a wonderful year for you both and you will come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this impressive B and B. Very high quality accommodation, comfortable room, large bed, luxurious feel but with warm, welcoming and homely atmosphere. Lots of attention to detail (drinks fridge, fresh fruit, lovely soaps, fluffy towels and bathrobes). The Christmas Tree was stunning. The breakfast was excellent - the homemade sausages come highly recommended, but the choice of fruit, cereals, local preserves and good coffee was also great. Mary and Ian were the perfect hosts, welcoming and helpful whilst giving us space to relax and chill out. We would highly recommend The Old Manse.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBoysBreakfast, Owner at The Old Manse Chatton, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Alas, the Christmas Tree has gone now (the hall seems huge without it) but we still have all the nice touches you mentioned as well as our range of homemade and locally sourced food. I'm glad we were able to give you a nice start to the New Year and hope the rest of the year is as good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped here for 3 nights at the end of December & have a lovely time, the room was really clean & comfortable & the hosts Ian & Mary were very nice & welcoming. I would recommend this place & found the little touches such as tea & toast in the afternoon really kind. Breakfast was really good too :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lb3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBoysBreakfast, Owner at The Old Manse Chatton, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
What better way to round off the year than a 3 night stay in wonderful Northumberland. We're pleased that we were able to make your stay welcoming & comfortable - the afternoon toast is not just toast, it's our own homemade Selkirk Bannock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had the absolute delight of stumbling onto this great B&B through a random internet search. Hosts Ian and Mary were warm, welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. Our suite on the ground floor was roomy, pristine clean, had a wealth of personal touches and a large very comfortable bed.

The breakfast was outstanding and included such treats as home made sausage, home made baked beans and home made floddies. More than enough to set you up for a long country walk.

The property is dog friendly and our room even had its own outside door which meant we didn't have to disturb the house for our short walks.

Over all it was so good I must confess that we booked our next stay before we left, catch a vacancy if you can! I have stayed in many B&Bs in Northumberland over the years and can safely say that this is the best.

Room Tip: Ground floor suite has its own access with parking next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBoysBreakfast, Owner at The Old Manse Chatton, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both, and Lilly (the dog), back in just over a month's time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The clue is in the title. Mary & Ian were the most genial hosts. We were met at the door, Ian carried the bags, Mary prepared tea and some delightful Selkirk Bannock. The bedroom was spotless, nice touches of fruit and biscuits. We had a very pleasant two days in rural Northumberland. Breakfast was a real treat, try the Floddies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert1961000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBoysBreakfast, Owner at The Old Manse Chatton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that our hospitality added to your time with us and your stay was a restful one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatton
8.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
11.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chatton Park House
Chatton Park House
#3 of 4 in Chatton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Percy Arms Hotel
Percy Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chatton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Chatton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Chatton

Property: The Old Manse Chatton
Address: The Old Manse New Road, Chatton NE66 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chatton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Manse Chatton 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Manse is one of England's finest five star quality bed and breakfasts. Three en-suite rooms, including a ground floor suite which is suitable for guests with reduced mobility, with TVs, fridges and many complimentary extras in all rooms. Country house traditionally styled, luxuriously appointed with fabulous home cooked food and an air of peace and tranquility. Centrally located for Northumberland's beaches, hills and castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Manse Chatton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing